We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Claire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St Claire Hotel to your Saves list
St Claire Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Place Nicolas Bachelier, 31000 Toulouse, France (Gabriel Péri)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here for one night. Excellent location near to the old town. The rooms were basic but clean and roomy. Sufficient for my needs. Great service from the staff too. OK the lift is tiny and the corridors aren't very well lit but it's a budget hotel. The only complaint was the lackof a shower curtain in the bathroom.

If I come to Toulouse again I would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    164
    34
    12
    2
See reviews for
43
174
78
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Within walking distance of all the interesting sights downtown, with very polite and helpful service, a huge bed (in Europe!) and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Lovely hotel, nicely decorated room, enormous bed, very friendly staff and the breakfast was good. The recetionist was very helpful and suggested we parked the car in the street outside the hotel - much cheaper than a car park. She also suggested a walking route through the city. We would completely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos, NM
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The hotel is a few blocks from the Jean-Jaures airport shuttle stop, an easy walk even lugging a suitcase. Our room was very comfortable, attractively decorated in keeping with the hotel's all-white decor, and so quiet that we wondered if we were the only guests (we weren't; in fact the hotel was full at least part of the time we were there). The bathroom was also a comfortable size and very clean. Every member of the staff we interacted with was knowledgeable about the city and seemed genuinely committed to making us feel welcome. The breakfast (not included) offered fresh fruit and yogurt in addition to the usual croissants, juice, and coffee or tea. The hotel is a short walk from Place Wilson, a flower-filled park with a gorgeous two-story carousel, surrounded by several restaurants offering excellent fare at reasonable prices. A metro stop is also close by, and though we understood that the metro system is one of the best in France, we never used it since all the sites we wanted to see were in the old part of the city within easy walking distance of the hotel. All in all, it's hard to imagine a better value. It was a lucky find.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I have stayed in Hotel Sainte Claire during the school holidays in February when myself and my three kids went for a break in Toulouse. Since then I wanted to write about them as it is certainly a hotel worth recommending but I also wanted to include some photo but can't upload anything on this computer. So any way I just wanted to say that it is a great place to stay if you want to have the best of Toulouse on a medium/ low budget. As previously mentionned the hotel is ideally located just on the outskirts of the historic and pedestrian centre, so if you want to do some shopping or explore the narrow streets of Toulouse it is round the corner but also sufficiently far away to do not get the noise of people going out in the centre. I must say at the weekend all the town seems to party and probably dus to a large student population it can be quite nosy everywhere.
I do not find the area seedy as one fellow traveller said . It isjust located in a typical nonposh, non popular part of the city with the usual cafes, restaurants, shops , business and residential accomodation. A typical part of a French town. My only disapiont ment was the outside of the hotel It look bland and bit run down. But what a contrast inside . All the staff are here to help in a nice way. They are always very polite and happy to answer your questions/requests. The room are large enough . NoFrench hotels in that price range offer extra large romms and in many case room are even too small to fit your suitcase but at Hotel Sainte Claire there is space for everyone and everything. And we were 4 in the room. The bathroom feels comfy and spacious . The bedroom is decorated in light colour with painted furniture . All in all we felt at home in hotel sainte claire

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

we stayed at St. Claire twice in April; each time for one night. The hotel staff is very welcoming and courteous and the location can't be beat. We were quite early for check-in and the receptionist offered us coffee and apologized for the room not being ready and made sure the room was ready in a short time. It was a pleasant stay all around.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Hotel St. Claire is a typical high occupancy French hotel. Nothing wrong with that, but they tend to be worn and over priced. The location is good, near the train station.

All in all, its an okay place. But I would probably select some of the nearby competition before staying again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Claire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Claire Hotel

Address: 29 Place Nicolas Bachelier, 31000 Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Claire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivier Couraud and his team look forward to welcoming you to the quiet and comfortable St Claire Hotel. They propose a personal and refined base for your stay in Toulouse. With a warm welcome, harmonious colours and soft furnishings, the hotel has everything you need ti ensure that your stay in Toulouse is a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Claire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Claire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.