We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully presented, creative but classic Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La traviata

La traviata
32 rue Sainte Ursule, 31000 Toulouse, France
05 61 12 33 99
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La traviata is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 1,320 Restaurants in Toulouse
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully presented, creative but classic Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The service was very good and the food was even better. Everything is reasonably priced, especially the daily menus. I had an outrageously good melon gazpacho, perfect for a hot summer day. I'm reluctant to recommend Italian food outside of Italy but this was quite nice and I'd go again in a moment.

It's a very small restaurant, quite casual at lunchtime, on the shady side of a little street. Great bicycle and people watching.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant on a side street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I were lucky to stop and view the lunch menu here: two special platters offering a total of two different mains, two different starters, and two different deserts. Seems like the husband cooks, and the wife serves. A glass of house white wine was inexpensive and surprisingly refreshing -- like a Picpoul de Pinet. We both had a kind of seafood cocktail to start -- it was like a parfait of fish and shellfish, topped with foam, and utterly delicious. The fish was superb, and the desserts and coffee sublime. The other main was a beef brochette, which other patrons seemed to enjoy. If this is the kind of food you like, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good Italian in Toulouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Went there for lunch with a friend. Had the menu: bruchetta and salad with Parmesan cheese, then cannelonis and finally panacota desert. Very good food, very good service. Valpolicella wine was also quite good. Bread was a bit soft..... Coffee was nice, and the lemon digestive drink nice. Value also good. Overall 4,5/5. Looking for an Italian restaurant in Toulouse? La Traviata is a top choice.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The food is good and the one waitress I had saw super friendly. I don't speak any French and she was kind enough to read the entire menu! I went twice on two separate business trips and accidentally ordered the same entrée twice, but it was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Coasy, friendly and delicious !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The most exquisite and delicious Italian food I've had for a very long time ! I'll make sure to come back? The next time I'm in Toulouse :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La traviata also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to La traviata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La traviata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.