We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough, no complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castellane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Castellane to your Saves list
Hotel Castellane
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue de Castellane, 31000 Toulouse, France (Gabriel Péri)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good enough, no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Me and my 3 girlfriends stayed here for a weekend and were pleased with our stay. We had a little duplex with a big bathroom and managed pretty well. The room was clean, the staff were ok and it is very well located, only a 5 min walk from the Place de Capitol. The best thing was the price, my friend found some offer on the internet and the room turned out to be really cheap. I recommend it for groups of friends or families with kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    33
    14
    2
See reviews for
22
35
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Clean, decent little hotel. We had a "suite"; meaning small room with a double bed and a sofa/cocktail table that left no room to move. The air conditioning didn't work when we arrived; that was fixed but countless efforts to get the wifi to work proved useless. The guy at the front desk was pleasant enough but just shrugged his shoulders and said the wifi worked for everyone else, even though the pass code failed with all three of our computers. Also, we assumed there would be a lift -- there isn't, so be prepared to lug your baggage up the stairs.....alone. No one to help. An extra $50 or so will get you a bigger room with working wifi, lifts, bathroom amenities and a BBC channel or two in the same neighborhood!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is not bad, the staff is very helpful and friendly, however, like all the French, did not know or will not speak English. The rooms are small, the bathrooms have no windows, no shower, just bathtub ... At night the heat is incredible, I recommend you to bring water bottles in the room! The cleanliness leaves much to be desired! In any case the hotel is well placed and although there are many restaurants, pubs, bars nearby, double-glazed windows ensure absolute silence to sleep in peace. Be careful about what you booked and paid for on the web because they charged 2 times the money for the parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located at the heart of the city, which perfect for visiting Toulouse. Though clean, the room was a little too small, but enough for two people.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here when Quins played Toulouse in the HEC in December. The staff were very helpful, spoke English when our faltering French was found wanting and checked in 5 separate rooms/couples/families with ease. The rooms were being cleaned when we arrived, but as we had turned up some 4 hours before check-in time, no one had to wait to get into their room.

Breakfast was a bit pricey compared to what you could get if you wondered around the local environs, but that is to be expected. There were no problems encountered and even though the hotel is adjacent to a nightclub, the sound proofing was good enough to not notice any noise.

Good size room with a balcony (looking nito courtyard) and decent bathroom. If Ihad one slight concern, the latter was a bit cramped and there was no shampoo/soap, but as we carried our own, this was not a problem.

I would go again, and in fact have just booked for another 2 night stay in August.

Well-run, clean, close to the centre of town and very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here overnight during our trip. Good location as it's near the centre of Toulouse and close to plenty of restaurants. We didn't eat at the hotel. Our room was very small, and we had a bath with a shower head but no curtain. We didn't have the air con on, but kept the window open - big mistake - really loud noises from the street so not a great night's sleep. Bed was comfy and the room was clean. Secure parking was good at €10 for the night. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Hotel was good for one night - would have had cabin fever if we'd stayed any longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is practically 2 different hotels. They built an extension in the back which has none of the benefits of the main hotel. This extension has 6 rooms (101-102, 201-202, 301-302). Avoid these rooms at all cost.
The extension has no lift (elevator). Walking up narrow stairs with baggage is not fun.
The bath rooms in the extension rooms are the size, and style, of those in an airplane! All plastic. Tiny shower you can't get out from under the water to put on soap. Tiny toilet just next to sink. The whole room is less than a metre wide and less than a half a metre deep!
They had a problem when they built the extension and the, wonderful triple-glazed, windows do not shut. We travelled in August and not being able to properly use the air-conditioner, as the window would not shut, was unbearable. The noise from the street, the local bars and clubs, was also quite loud because the window would not shut.
Breakfast at 8.50 € is not worth it as there are excellent cafés with coffee and croissants all nearby.

Positive: Excellent location right in the centre of town. Friendly staff. Covered and secure parking across the street (10 € per night).

Probably a relatively nice hotel - if you avoid the extension rooms!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castellane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castellane

Address: 17 rue de Castellane, 31000 Toulouse, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Gabriel Péri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Castellane 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Castellane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castellane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.