We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, price and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pere Leon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pere Leon to your Saves list
Pere Leon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, Place Esquirol, 31000 Toulouse, France (Saint Rome)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Strasbourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, price and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

At 75 euros a night, I could not have been more impressed with the quality and aesthetic of the hotel. The central location and convenience (right beside the Esquirol metro exit) was what drew me to this hotel, but it was the quality that will bring me back. The room was clean, modern, with a boutique hotel feel. The shower was really nice, with a choice between a rain shower and hand held shower head and strong water pressure. The bed was comfortably soft, but firm enough for my bad back. There are fantastic restaurants a few minutes' walk away, and the major sights are mostly within walking distance. I found the wifi just fine for checking email, etc. I would recommend this hotel for singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Directeur général at Pere Leon, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear CarmenGer,
We thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and we are sincerely deligjhted that you appreciated the Hotel le Pere Leon.
thanks too for recommended it and we really hope to welcome you for a future stay in Toulouse.
Regards,
Anne LAZZARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
53
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have read the latest reviews and have a few points to add. We (three adults, two rooms) stayed here for four nights, long enough to want to unpack, which was an issue.

First, yes, the location is superb for tourists. The location is objectively superb and even more outstandingly so for Toulouse, where most of the better hotels are fairly out of the way of the tourist sights. Next, Valentina at reception is wonderful, and was proactively helpful, not just in response to questions we asked. Bravo!

The hotel is new, clean and modern, and we found breakfast to be very good, if not extraordinary. Absolutely no complaints.

The issue I want to focus on is the selection of available rooms. We had one single, which was small but perfectly adequate. We also had one superior double, which we changed as fast as we could (the second night), for a standard double, at the same price. We had been assigned a handicapped room and, while the room was large, the layout -- the storage space, which is only a short bar for a few hangers and a couple of cubbies anyway -- was far away from the only surface area large enough to use to unpack a suitcase. The bathroom was dreadful; huge, but with NO place to put toilet articles, etc. and not even a curtain separating off the shower from the rest of the room. If you don't actually need a handicapped room, you will probably want to mention you don't want one.

The standard double, while small, was far more user friendly, especially for those who have any significant amount of luggage (we travel with only carry-on luggage, so I mean more than a backpack when I say "significant"). The bathroom had a vanity around the sink, for storage, and a door for the shower.

The superior doubles are either handicapped rooms (as above) or rooms that are set up for more than two people, but can be rented for two. Those are the ones that you want, and the one I saw was really nice, but you have to specify not handicapped.

In terms of conveniences, no one that I read mentioned that there is a nice Monoprix supermarket next door, but it was another big plus for us. An excellent restaurant that is open on Sundays and Mondays, (very rare for Toulouse) La Cendrée, is only a short two blocks away. Several other excellent restaurants are within a few blocks, but never on Sunday (or Monday).

Room Tip: see above. "Superior doubles" includes very nice, large rooms and very awkward handicappe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Directeur général at Pere Leon, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear H H,
First we thank you very much for having taken time to write your review on Tripadvisor.
You appreciated our welcome, the cleanliness and modernity of the hotel, also the location. All those points are really positive for us.
Now, the first night you had a double Superior room equipped for disabled people. All the rooms of this category are not hadicapped rooms, on the 4, 2 are. The other 2 Superior double rooms looks like standard rooms. But you are right, we just have to specify it at the reservation.
We woulb be delighted to welcome you for a future journey in Toulouse.
Anne LAZZARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Situated close to the middle of town (and a great town, too) Pere Leon is a gem. A genuine, warm welcome from the lovely Valentina set the tone from the moment we arrived. Spoke perfect English, of course. She seemed to be a permanent fixture behind the reception desk in the day - at night I have no idea... it was a bit of a blur....

Rooms are clean, light and the bathrooms excellent. We faced onto Esquirol two floors up and - with the windows ajar - were not troubled by street noise. Having said that, a herd of elephants could have trampled through the room at night and I would have been none the wiser.

Our room came with a double bed but this easily was split into two singles.

Come out of the hotel and turn left and within moments you are surrounded by bars and nightlife. Turn right and the lovely river La Garonne is a three minute walk away - and before you even get there you will see a fantastic restaurant,Brasserie des Beaux Arts on the right. Well worth a visit in itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Directeur général at Pere Leon, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Nick_Linc,
A big thank you from the Hotel le Leon, we are happy that the hotel pleased you, also Valentina's welcome and her english.
That would be a pleasure for us to receive you for another journey in Toulouse.
kind Regards,
Anne LAZZARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If there were a 3.5 category on TA I would give it to Le Père Leon. Certain basic things that one has come to expect having access are in short order or are simply not available to you. Things like a bottle opener. This is a staple in most hotels the world over, but here one has to ask reception and get it handed to you, or delivered to your room. We also had problems getting an ice bucket ("You can try going next door and ask at the bar"). Yes, it´s cheap ´n cheerful - Yes, it´s better than your standard Ibis Hotel - but not by a lot. The staff is friendly and they endeavour to be helpful. So I think one just has to be clear what it is you´re getting or not getting. We felt slightly mislead by the extremely generous and positive reviews here for Le Père Leon hotel. Basic is fine -- basic with no frills whatsoever is also fine, too - but one should know that at the outset and adjust expectations, accordingly. The very central location nearly makes-up for many of the comparatively minor shortcomings - which are easy to fix - so hopefully, someone in management takes notice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Directeur général at Pere Leon, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Volkolas,
We thank you very much for having taken time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
Some points of the hotel, as the lack of services, were negative during your stay, we are really sorry for that and confirm you having noted yours remarks.
There are no bottle openers in the rooms because we do not have any minibars, and we have one at the reception if necessary.
It was difficult for you to have some ice at the bar, you are right it should not arrive and we informed the brasserie manager about this problem.
We remain at your disposal for any future information you may need.
Regards,
Anne LAZZARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Its in an excellent location, walking distance from all the main attractions in Toulouse, the staff are very friendly, always willing to assist and help.

The rooms are nice, furnished in a modern way, perhaps some would not like the glass enclave of the bathroom which is quite close, almost inside the room and the lack of privacy in that respect.

The breakfast is adequate, with a small selection of cheese, cold meat cuts, honey, cereals and mixed fruits, plus juices, coffee and tea, however nothing is served hot

Still, I will come here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Directeur général at Pere Leon, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Brightsta,
I want to thank you personally for the review you wrote about your stay in the Hotel "Le Père Léon".
All in all, you enjoyed your experience with us, except the breakfast with no hot dishes on the buffet. We are really sorry for that, it is true that we do not have enough place in the breakfast room.
We will be delighted to welcome you for a future stay in Toulouse.
Kind Regards,
Anne LAZZARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have uploaded lots of pictures!

I'll get the negatives out of the way first:
-- As is common in French hotels, the mattress on my bed was VERY firm (i.e. hard), so I spent half of each night tossing and turning and trying to shift my weight from pressure-points.
-- The breakfast was OK, but a bit disappointing: because the website had promised cakes etc. made by the chef, I expected oven-fresh croissants, and found instead the mini ones like you buy in supermarkets. Coffee and fruit-juices both came out of a machine. In France I expect coffee to be made properly and freshly by a person! (The plain coffee was very unpleasant -- I threw it away and had cappuccino instead, which was not as bad).
-- The breakfast room has almost no daylight, and is a bit claustrophobic. They should allow guests to have breakfast in the ground-floor bistro, owned by the same company/person.
-- The piped musak was terrible: e.g. endless 1980s hits by Madonna and Michael Jackson, that you really don't want to hear at breakfast!
-- No English-language channels on the TV (but plenty in Spanish and German, in addition to French). I would have liked one BBC or CNN-type news channel, at least.

OK, now the good points:
-- Very good location
-- Very friendly staff on Reception, especially Valentina, whose English is very good
-- Very recently refurbished, so everything is new and functional
-- Very good shower
-- Very clean, with thorough cleaning every day
-- Good size room (even though I had one of the smallest, a single)
-- Good doubled-glazed windows, which cut out all street noise
-- Good solid doors, and presumably thick walls, as I did not hear noise from neighbours

The back-of-the-door room-rate was €70-100; I paid €80 per night, which is about right; I would not want to pay much more unless I was just staying for one night and had run out of alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

excellent location , friendly and helpful staff, very clean newly renovated average price hotel .We had lunch there one day too..superb duck and house wine .Breakfast quite good .reasonable cost
Recommended

Room Tip: ask for superior room bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne L, Directeur général at Pere Leon, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear David_rB5,

My team and I received your review and we thank you very much for having taken time to write it.
We are delighted that the hotel pleased you and that your stay with us was as you wished.
It seems to be simple but it is our best reward.
We really hope to welcome you for a next stay in Toulouse, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards,

Anne LAZZARI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pere Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pere Leon

Address: 2, Place Esquirol, 31000 Toulouse, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Saint Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pere Leon 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Toulouse, this hotel is just in front of Esquirol Metro Station. It offers free Wi-Fi access and en suite rooms serviced by an elevator.All the air-conditioned rooms at Hôtel Le Père Léon are soundproofed and feature a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. They provide a private bathroom with free toiletries, a hairdryer and a bath or shower. Some are suitable for guests with reduced mobility.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Hôtel Le Père Léon. Restaurants and cafés can be found within 350 metres of the property.This hotel is 180 metres from the Augustins Museum and a 3-minute walk from the Garonne River. Saint-Sernin Basilica is a 15-minute walk away and Capitole Place is at 10-minute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pere Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pere Leon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.