We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Day of Rest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albert 1er to your Saves list
Hotel Albert 1er
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 rue Rivals, 31000 Toulouse, France (Taur)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Toulouse
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“2 Day of Rest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sep 2012-Toulouse was one of our stops on route across France. My husband and I cycled from Bordeaux across to Narbonne then to Montpelier to fly home. This covered 403 miles in total with 12 stops and we decided on the Hotel Albert 1er after searching many hotels. We also had a reccomendation from another cyclist.
What a pleasant surprise very central , friendly staff on the day of arrival as there was a conference booked at the hotel they couldn't store bike in the area they had agreed however they stored the bike in a lock up office which was even better!
An old hotel but has been refurbished somewhat , we had a a nice clean room, very spacious , quiet, and a fab bathroom lots of nice white fluffy towels and great shower.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we prefer to eat at small cafes but it looked very nice and there appeared to be lots of choice. Would Recommend this good value especially for a city centre hotel!

Room Tip: The room we had had a small balcony with shutters and faced out on to a quiet street and was opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    202
    58
    11
    5
See reviews for
47
193
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very friendly, helpful and efficient. Great central location for access to sights and restaurants yet very quiet away from main roads. Clean, new, modern inside. Modern en suite. Room cleaned and straightened to very high standard daily. Nice to come back for a lie-down during the day to rest the feet from pavements. Ideal for a city break.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor at the rear facing the old Post et Telecommunications building across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbert1er, Responsable réception at Hotel Albert 1er, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share them with the entire team and we hope to have the pleasure to see you again / Hanna, reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

In the hearth of Toulouse, the Hotel Albert 1er is the perfect starting point for any visit for pleasure or for business. Personnel is very gentle (Hanna, Sophie) and the rooms are spacious and clean. After my third stay at Albert 1er, I can confirm that I would consider the hotel my reference in Toulouse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbert1er, Responsable réception at Hotel Albert 1er, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice commentary, we hope to welcome you here soon again / Hanna reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location; quiet street near the center of town; roomy, comfortable rooms; huge French windows with balconies; home-baked croissants for breakfast; friendly, helpful staff; a lovely home away from home!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street have huge French windows with balconies and plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruffec, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in December. It is in a great location close to the shops and a short walk to the Capitol. We had a double and a triple room. The triple was great - a large room on the front with a bath, however the double was really disappointing being very small and at the back of the hotel with no view at all. The bathrooms were very clean but the shower was little more than a dribble. The communal areas and corridors were a bit tired. The bedrooms were quite noisy as the walls were thin but there wasn't any traffic noise. The breakfast was 11 euros a head but we must have got there late as there was very little left, no milk, very little bread, tiny croissants. The waitress was very grumpy. She cleaned the orange pressing machine but didnt seem happy about it! Parking was in the underground car park a few streets away, call at the hotel first to get a ticket.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip, and have booked to stay again next week! The location is perfect, a two minute walk to the Place du Capitole where there are lots of Cafes and the Christmas Market. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful (booking taxis for me) and the room and bathroom were fine. Breakfast was very good- nice selection of food including freshly squeezed orange juice. The only slight negatives were that the beds are quite hard and the only English channel on the TV was BBC news. It would also have been nice to have a kettle in the room.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room (2nd floor, away from elevator) and the only noise that I heard past bedtim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend, when we came over to watch the rugby.
The check in/check out and the staff were first rate, very helpful at all times, and more than happy to give advice/hand out maps etc.
The breakfast overall was a very nice continental selection, readily replenished with fresh croissants, delicious pancakes and large slices of brie. The coffee machine did have a slight mind of its own though - it took me until the second day to figure out how to make a simple coffee with it. The breakfast was entirely self-service, which did mean that you could have as much or as little food/juice/coffee as required.
We booked a superior room, and whilst the overall cleanliness and comfort/size of the bed cannot be faulted, it did not have tea/coffee facilities, and the real disappointment was the shower (over bath) it was not easily adjusted and lacked power, which meant that other than being hand-held, it was pretty useless. It also lacked a screen/curtain, so the entire bathroom got soaked.
The location itself is spot on, being close to the main bus route that will take you to the airport and the Stade Ernest Wallon if you are here for rugby. It is also conveniently placed for the Capitole and the wonderful Christmas market that they have in the square at this time of year.
Their aim to be more environmentally friendly, with lights on sensors in the communal areas and soap dispensers in the rooms is to be applauded.
Overall, I would probably stay here again, as it was well located and quiet, but I would be sure to check out the shower as soon as I entered the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 8 rue Rivals, 31000 Toulouse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Taur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toulouse
#4 Business Hotel in Toulouse
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1er is a three-star, family-owned hotel ideally located a hundred metres off Capitole Square right in the historical centre of Toulouse. Hotel Albert 1er is the perfect starting point to discover or rediscover the charms of the "Ville Rose" (pink city) and the Midi-Pyrenees region.For several years now, Hotel Albert 1er has decidedly opted for an eco-friendly approach. It is the sole Hotel in Toulouse that can boast the award of a European Ecolabel: for instance our breakfast products are produced locally or/and come from organic farming."The independent hotel industry at its best..." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Hotel
Albert 1er Toulouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albert 1er, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.