We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin

Benjamin
7 Rue des Gestes, 31000 Toulouse, France (Saint Rome)
+33 05 61 22 92 66
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Benjamin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #775 of 1,372 Restaurants in Toulouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint Rome
Toulouse, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A really good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This restaurant is kind of unnoticeable, as its door is closed and windows covered by curtains.
For only 14€ you can have a 3 courses lunch, which I had. Everything was really good!

The few things that I did not like: the staff was cold (not rude, just cold) and the room was quite dark (there are just 3 windows, all with curtains down on them!).

  • Visited February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    32
    27
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Saw this in the Rough Guide as low cost dinner option. It was low cost but wow it was a fantastic dinner experience. Great food , great wine and lovely service and ambience in the restaurant. Would go again and again? If in Toulouse do give it a go.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I went to have dinner here recently. Though we did not reserved and arrived a little late already (around 21h00), they still accepted us. It was a saturday night and the restaurant was already full. The guy told us that we will have to wait to be served (at least he was honest). The food's great. The only thing is that when we finished our entree I guess they forgot about us because we had to wait for 45 minutes for the main course. We had to signal the guy so we can be served. We had this feeling of being hurried because we were the only one left and they started cleaning everything! I was just thinking that it is not our fault that we were the last one because they forgot to serve us. Sad because I really appreciated the food.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Eating locally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Had dinner here twice on a recent visit to Toulouse.

Ate well both times on local specialities (foie gras, duck etc). Well cooked, and fairly priced (it may not appeal to the sort of person who likes their duck cooked well-done, but that is hardly the restaurant's fault). Reasonably priced wine list, with interesting local choices - eg Irouleguy. Staff were all sympathetic and helpful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“the waiters do not know best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Went here with family group. Seemed to be run by two your girl waitresses with poor English.
The starters of prawns was fine. The problem came with main of duck - this was slices and very pink. Three of us had asked for well done. Quite a argument by the girl who refused to accept that I wanted it cooked. Eventuelly got it cooked as ordered. Would I reccomend this definitely not they are in a street of local restaurants and both the others we visited were far superior.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin also viewed

Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 
Toulouse, Haute-Garonne
 

Been to Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.