We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amadour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amadour Hotel to your Saves list
Amadour Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de L'Europe, 46500 Rocamadour, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rocamadour
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasure to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is 2mins lovely walk from the village of Rocamadour itself, it is very clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom, toiletries and towels.The owner of the hotel was very helpful and informative about the area and spoke very good Englishand helped us bring in our luggage(its those little personal touches that count).Breakfast was good and plenty of it as much tea and coffee as you wanted and a good choice of cheese bread fruit yogurts cereal etc.We sat out on the terrace at night enjoying the peace of the area, watching the world go by drinking a bottle or two of wine , which when the owner saw us bring in asked if we would like to borrow a corkscrew or bottle opener, As i have visited Rocamadour on several occasions i would reccomend you stay here above the village avoiding the hustle and bustle noise and crowds of the village itself.It is a few mins walking distance of all Rocamadors attractions (Eagle sanctuary well worth a visit)There are various routes down to the village including short trip on a little train if prefered to walking.Very enjoyable but short stay.We had no trouble finding the hotel its well signposted and reception has door bell and after hours pass code but do agree great price.We definately had a most enjoyable stay. Thanks

Room Tip: Book a room with a terrace table and chairs and sit outside your room with a bottle and watch the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadourhotel, Propriétaire at Amadour Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We are very pleased to know that you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
We look forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Matthieu GIETHLEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    70
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a little trouble finding this hotel as it is not in Rocamadour, but very close. Be sure to have a good map as well as instructions before you go. You will need a car to get here because there is no train station. That being said, it is very close to Rocamadour, and this town has a nice overlook of the city that is beautiful by night.

Hotel Amadour is a basic, no frills hotel, but it is a great price and in a great area. Pay attention to reception hours when booking as they are only open a limited number of hours. They can make special exceptions if you let them know ahead of time. The receptionist was very polite and had several good suggestions for visiting the area. We stayed on the top floor (no elevator) in a minimal, but spacious four-bed room. The shower was very small. Internet is free, but you must get a new code every few hours. There is a nice balcony area on the second floor with tables and chairs. Breakfast is not included, but available for a price. Restaurants in the area have unusual operating times, but there is a grocery store which was a life saver.

If you are just looking for a clean, quiet place to stay in the Dordogne, this will be a perfect place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Without a reservation, we were able to stay at this lovely hotel. The owners couldn't help us enough, with our needs and made us feel very welcomed. The room was very clean and comfortable. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Amadour Hotel was lovely. We had a 3 person room with a terrace and it really added to our trip. At night we would sit out, look at the myriad of stars and drink a bottle of local wine. The staff was incredible...what a friendly and attentive couple. We didn't have a car and so they drove us to the train station in theirs! Every morning they had great advice about things to do in the area that we could do without a vehicle. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the terrace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

room very basic, small shower, reception does not open until 7.45 and so an early getaway is not possible

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amadourhotel, Propriétaire at Amadour Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Mr Graham,
Thank you for staying at Amadour hotel and for having taken the time to share your remarks with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

It is with great regret we read that your stay was not to your expectations. We were very concerned regarding your comments about the opened times, reception is opening from 7:45 AM to 8 PM but when I have a guest request for an early breakfast I’m coming when he wants.
I'm entirely at guest disposal, and I try to find the best solution for offering a nice stay in my hotel.
About our room the showers have a standard size and since last month we have new queen size bed in the balcony room and new duvet in all the rooms.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Amadour hotel and to show you that the hotel has the services you have been missing.
We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Matthieu Giethlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very well situated in "upper" Rocamadour (the town is on a hill so there are two areas). Extremely clean, comfortable, friendly and quiet. I loved the balcony. A very short downhill walk from "lower" Rocamadour where you will find shops, restaurants etc. Then walk up 216 steps to the abbey (info and map provided by the hotelier). In upper Rocamadour, you will also find shops and restaurants. The hotel is just a step or two from the tourist office.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We extended our stay to 2 nights because we really enjoyed our stay. Our hosts were so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very friendly. The hotel is well located and has a very good restaurant nearby which was convenient. It is well priced.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have access to a big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amadour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadour Hotel

Address: Place de L'Europe, 46500 Rocamadour, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Rocamadour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Rocamadour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amadour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Amadour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amadour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.