We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Happy Returns ..... !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Abbaye des Capucins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added L'Abbaye des Capucins to your Saves list
L'Abbaye des Capucins
6-8 Quai de Verdun, 82000 Montauban, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Many Happy Returns ..... !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We drive several times a year between the UK and Spain criss-crossing France en route.
When one of our favourite hotels for a stopover changed hands there was a vacancy!

We tried several places ...... and then we found L'Abbaye des Capucins.

What a good find, what a great hotel.

We have stayed here about six or seven times now, sometimes with our teenage son and sometimes as a couple. Always with our dog.

It's a modern hotel in an old building. A good variety of rooms in all price categories but even the smallest rooms are a reasonable size with decent modern bathrooms. We have always found water mineral water in the rooms and bathrobes. Small things that make a weary traveller feel welcome.

As the building is old and solid the soundproofing is good so rooms are quiet.

The hotel is efficiently run by a young team. It has 2 excellent restaurants (see separate reviews) a great courtyard for outside dining in the summer and a swimming pool and a spa and it takes dogs!!! Plus there is plentiful and easy parking at no extra charge. And free wifi :)

Montauban is a great place for a visit and this is THE place to stay.

Looking forward to our next happy return!

Room Tip: Bigger the better but all rooms are comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    104
    35
    20
    8
See reviews for
37
154
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for one night, Well mantained hotel. Good sleep. Well mantained bathroom and good breakfast. Easy car park and the pool looked very inviting although I didn't have time to go for a dip. Close to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Situated just a 5 minute walk from the town centre, this hotel is located in an old abbey which has been thoroughly modernised. The decor is light,bright and contemporary, with many modern works of art adorning the walls. Reception was efficient and friendly, there is a Spa and small swimming pool. Although on a main road, the hotel and garden/ pool area were quiet with no traffic noise. The hotel has a large car park part of which is underground.
Our room was of reasonable size, with a large double bed, adequate storage TV, separate WC, The bathroom had contemporary furniture of good quality with a separate shower area, wash basin and bath. Wifi was free, fast and did not require, login id or passwords.
There are two restaurants, a bistro and La Table Capucins, which offered gourmet dinning. We ate in the latter, service was friendly and efficient, the waitresses gave us a detalied description of each course's components. We had the Gourmet menu, which is served as part of the hotel's demi-pension package, this consisted of an amuse, starter, main course, pre-desert and desert. For wine we chose the option of a different glass wit each course, chosen by the chef. I find that this is usually a good option, the wines whilst not expensive have been well chosen and often one is served a wine that one would not have risked, if having to purchase a whole bottle.The food was well cooked with good presentation and tasted delicious. If you are staying more than one night, the gourmet menu has two alternatives. The dem-pension package was€219 for two people and represented excellent value.
Breakfast was a buffet, hot or cold. Bacon looked really tasty, but after the previous nights dinner I could only manage some fresh fruit and a croissant.
The hotel makes an ideal location to visit the area and would be a good resting place for two or three days.
Montauban is well worth a visit, with interesting architecture, some chic shops and a square away from the traffic in which you can partake of a drink and watch the world go by.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is a superb mix of eclectic styles which work well together. The restaurant is lovely and not to be missed. For some strange reason though it lacks atmosphere and there were very few staff about in the hotel itself. However, the restaurant staff were superb. This is why it gets 4 rather than 5 stars.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the car park as ours did which is not very inspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande-Motte, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I discovered L'Abbaye des Capucins by accident last June when we stop at the Bistro to dine in our way to Anjou. So we decided to plan a night there on our way to a week end in Vendee.
The hotel a former Cappucins abbaye is very well decorated with many Art Deco pieces in the lobby, and contemporary art works throughout the hotel. There is a very nice little spa. The family room was also well decorated with two queen beds, beautiful bathroom separate shower and bath, wi-fi works perfectly.
One of the reason we chose the hotel was to dine at the Michelin stared restaurant, however we found the restaurant a little disappointing and we hardly understood the Michelin star. Dinner was good but not to par with other gastronomic restaurants.
Next morning, breakfast at the restaurant was perfect with lots of fresh fruits, granola and juices available.
All in all I really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A very nice spotting, in a former monastery, resort ambiance, large and spacious, large rooms, very good spa. Good restaurant, the staff could be a little bit more attentive.
Do not miss the surroundings, worth a walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Rooms are well appointed and large. Bathrooms are nice. Hotel is nicely decorated with interesting art in an old conversion from a former Abbey. Michelin-starred restaurant was very good.

We chose the hotel because it had wifi but this did not work throughout the entire stay. Neither did the internet cable access. When we complained about this the only response we got was "Normally, it works".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Abbaye des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Abbaye des Capucins

Address: 6-8 Quai de Verdun, 82000 Montauban, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of South West, this old couvent of the 17th century located on the river side and 2 minutes walking distance from the ciy centre proposes 85 rooms, a brasserie "Le Bistro des Capucins" is opened every day at lunch & dinner time.We suggest you a spa 450 m2 size with an outside swimming pool, sauna, hammam and cardio training room. Beauty & body treatments are available by appointment.Free access to internet. Free parking. Bike rental on spot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Abbaye des Capucins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Montauban

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Abbaye des Capucins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.