We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Montauban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Montauban to your Saves list
Mercure Montauban
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Rue Notre Dame, 82000 Montauban, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I use this hotel when on business in the area and have found it reliable over the years with the same managers in charge. It's very well located right at the edge of the old town so there are some interesting things to see and do. There is no shortage of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance.
The actual hotel is relatively old and is not your standard chain hotel. It's been converted to hotel use and all the rooms are of a different size but have all the usual facilites including free wifi. I've always enjoyed a good stay but you need to be selective on the room you have.

One side faces directly onto the street which can provide some traffic noise early in the morning. Another side looks out over a pedestrianised street and at first sight this seems fine. That's until about 5 or 6 am when the fish delivery turns up for the fishmonger's shop opposite and the unloading takes place. The noise of the trolleys on the cobble stones is sure to disturb you. So my tip is to ask for a room at the back or on the inside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    49
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
41
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is very centrally situated, the welcome was warm and we were very happy with our two night stay there. It is about 15 minutes walk from the train station.
The hotel is close to pedestrianised streets with interesting, quirky shops as well as cafes etc. Notre Dame cathedral is across the road.
The main square (Place Nationale) is surrounded by historic red brick buildings and there are several restaurants and cafes around the square. The square also hosts markets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Hotel decor and rooms in need of a refurb.
Aircon did not work properly
The receptionist however was charming and helpful ( Lawrence)
Not bad but other Mercures I have stayed in were better.
Breakfast buffet fine and generous

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is of great value. Rooms are well equipt. The restaurant is excellent and with good service.
The only negative point is that Internet connection is not good funcioning on 3rd level

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had driven all day from the port en route to Estartit and, as we usually do, wanted to meander along. We decided to stop driving at 4pm and look for a town/place to stay and came across Montaubon. First impressions through the industrial way in was disappointing but when we arrived at the town centre we saw the Mercure and booked in. As daughter was only little one bed would do all 3 of us and we were given a massive bed. After showering and going to look for somewhere to eat we tried snails and loved it. Then we walked around looking for a nice bar which would welcome children. What a surprise - it was the last night of their Jazz Week and there was a fab concert with live singers/pianists. We had a great night and what a boost for the first night of our summer holidays. We;ll always remember it as just coming across the Jazz Night, lovely warm air, beer outside and our daughter being so excited.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had been disappointed that there was no vacancies in Toulousse and so travelled on up to Montauban - the chap on the front desk was very helpful and there was no hassle in the booking in.
Room was smaller than in Carcassone as a standard room but very clean and although more traditional had a separate loo and the door from the bedroom closed over this leaving the bathroom open - one could use the loo whilst the other showered!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Montauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Montauban

Address: 12 Rue Notre Dame, 82000 Montauban, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn-et-Garonne > Montauban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Montauban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Montauban 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th century hotel with 44 rooms situated in front of the cathedral, located in the city s historic district and close to the business district. A short stroll to the museums and very close to Roucous golf course. Meeting rooms, bar, traditional Brasserie under a 19th century glass roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Montauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Montauban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.