We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy place to sleep if you're willing to lower your standards about other details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marial to your Saves list
Hotel Marial
77, rue de la Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 194 Hotels in Lourdes
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“cozy place to sleep if you're willing to lower your standards about other details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we were warmly welcomed into this hotel that looked more like an old house. bed covers didn't match with the pillows, and no big concern for aesthetics in room arrangement / design... as with the rest of the structure, the bathroom was old and small. but it was enough for us because we were going to spend time out of the room anyway. we didn't get mite bites and did not complain about anything... maybe because of the general peacefulness of lourdes. location is ok although walking to the grotto, we saw that almost all the streets had inns and offered boutique-type accommodations - many options to transfer to if we really wanted to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

service was really terrible. we arrived in the morning and the hotel was closed. we had to call three numbers and wait for 30 minutes before a grumpy lady opened the door for us and made us wait again inside before checking in. i guess she went back to bed! nobody mans the reception. on our last day, we left our cash with a note that it was our payment because nobody was there!!!

and the blankets are dirty! you could see hairs maybe of past guests.

good thing lourdes is a nice town to explore and you only need to go home to this hotel to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk to the grotto and about 20-30 minutes (1.5 kms) to the train station however, this is a very old hotel that comes with old bed, bedsheet, pillows etc. Hotel rate does not include breakfast. As for cleanliness, it's not that clean at all. It has to change its curtains 'coz they look like backdrops on a wake/funeral.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham. Berkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Orginally I was due to stay elsewhere, but when I arrived at the hotel it was closed and a notice on the door told me that I was now booked into The Marial Hotel, so off I went. You enter the front door of the hotel then along the dull passage way to a small reception desk, as it turns out thats not all that's small about this Hotel.
I was given my room key and went up a very narrow stairway, a very dark narrow stairway. My room was a twin bedded, and just as well because if two people had to share this room they would have to be very understanding with each other. The bathroom was very small, not much more than a large cupboard, the shower wall hook was broken and the shower head was hanging in the shower tray. The room itself was not the most clean I have seen, shall we say well worn and tired with the odd dusty corner. There is hardly any natural light in this hotel, even the breakfast room only has a skylight , it really IS a dull place to stay, and it would be best to try and find somewhere else, it is a, somewhat, depressing place to stay. Chris Leavy Independent Traveller. With credits in 3 Rough Guide Travel Books. France, Turkey and China..

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

Alright I admit, not the Ritz, but where is in Lourdes?, on arrival there were some problems due to the manager being away, however, the lady left in charge was fantastic and despite the language barrier (my french is terrible, embarrassingly so), managed to make the best of a bad situation, she was fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful in a really stressful situation. Would recommend The Marial to those on a budget who just need somewhere to put their heads down and leave their luggage, didn't have time to sample the food but am told that was great too. All in all a great week as usual, our stay in Lourdes is always a mad one due to the nature of our work and the hotel staff where great, thanks very much.xxx.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — lift issues
  • Tips/Secrets — try to get a room on the back, it's quieter
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2006

Adding to the other review written about this hotel, not only were we expected to move for one night in the middle of our 1 week stay, the rooms were small, in one of the rooms, the wardrobe was in a very useful place, next to one of the beds. When I say next to one of the beds, the bed was pushed up to it meaning you couldn't actually open the door!!
Another slight problem was the size and layout of the bathroom. The tolet was so close to the wall, that you had to sit side on or risk getting your knees stuck up against the wall!! This toilet was also inbetween the shower and the door, meaning you had to climb over the toilet to get out of the bathroom!!
As was said in the other review, the girl behind the desk was fantastic, she done her best to sort us out after the double booking was discovered and not only that, she was sitting behind the front desk from morning till night, serving food in the restaurant and helping the maids to clean and change linen in the rooms and it has to be said, quite often she looked ready to drop!!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — The fact we had to move out!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We were very disappointed to find when we got there that half way through our 6 night stay we were being asked to move to another hotel for the night. We were then to go back to the Marial for the rest of our stay. So it wasn't even worth unpacking our bags! The girl on duty couldn't have been helpful, but it wasn't fair on her that the manager had gone away to Paris leaving her with the over-booking situation.
Lovely picture on the website that directed us to the hotel, but not quite the rooms we had, infact non of our groups rooms had been "fully renovated", not since 1858 anyway.
There is a lift to get to most of the bedrooms, but you have to go up a large flight of narrow stairs before reaching the lift!!
All in all a very unhappy stay, would not recommend the hotel to anyone. Small rooms, noisy hotel in general. True, it is cheap as chips, but we should at least get some peaceful rest for the money we pay!!

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Being moved for one night mid-way through 1 week stay
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there.....
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marial

Address: 77, rue de la Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 194 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marial Hotel Lourdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.