We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, excellent food, simple but spotless rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saint-Georges

Hotel Saint-Georges
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saint-Georges to your Saves list
Hotel Saint-Georges
34 Avenue Peyramale, 65100 Lourdes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 194 Hotels in Lourdes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, excellent food, simple but spotless rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed there as part of a group of friends on a short pilgrimage to Lourdes. The rooms are simply but comfortably furnished in the usual French three star manner and were spotless as was the disabled bathroom we had. The food was obviously all freshly prepared and came in ample portions and the dining room has a great view of the river. All the staff but expecailly Christine were friendly and helpful well beyond the call of duty and speak very good English. The bar area is just the right size for small groups and the only real disadvanges are that the single beds are a bit narrow and that there is nowhere to sit outside for more than a couple of people but these are hardly major considerations. We shall go there again given the chance.

Room Tip: You might want to check whether you are on a no smoking floor if fumes from other rooms bother you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are regular visitors to Lourdes and have stayed in several hotels there. Hotel St George is by far the best one we have found. It is a family business - Christine is responsible for the running of the hotel, and her husband is the chef. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, and most of them seem to be multilingual. Christine is very knowledgeable about Lourdes itself and the region; she helped us arrange several excursions to places of interest in the area, Our room was comfortably sized, overlooking the Gave and with a view of the Pyrenees. It was spotlessly clean. The restaurant and the food itself were a grade above what might be expected from a 3-star hotel. The meals were unpretentious and of excellent quality. The location suited us well. It's about 10 minutes walk to the Domain and more peaceful than many of the hotels which are very close to the Domain.
.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the river Gave and have a good view of the Pyrenees
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

it was a great hotel in the heart of Lourdes very friendly staff
not to far from the grotto also in view of the lake staff work round your needs with meals etc although not suited well for vegetarian meals but that is the norm for france you should give this hotel a chance

Room Tip: lake view but slightly noiceier
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stunning photographs of this s property impressed me a lot and I booked a room for our stay in this city for five days. Décor of the building is really fascinating. The moment we entered our room, my wife just hugged me and said Thank you! I have not expected this all. It was really a pretty room, very nicely decorated and appointed with all the amenities. The staff went out of its way to treat us like a very special member of the family. The food was awesome with wide variety of cuisines. I would love to come here again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable week at the St George.Christine and her team go that extra mile to ensure your stay is a memorable one .The food was good and the bedrooms very clean .The dining room and the lounge areas are first clsass .Loking forward to our next visit .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

All the group of 47 of us have realy enjoyed staying at this family run hotel. Christine and all of her staff made us feel realy at home with the welcome and freindlyness they gave us.The hotel is very clean .The food was great and the rooms very comfortable with veiws looking over the River Garve.The staff were realy helpfull and nothing was a problem to them.We all agreed that we would defenatly return to this fantastic hotel on our next pilgrimage to Lourdes.

Trevor Waggott
Our Lady & St Wilfrid Blyth, Northumberland,uk

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have just got back from staying in Hotel Saint-Georges and found it terrible to stay in! Although the staff are lovely and have excellent customer service, the food and the rooms are not very nice or appealing! Christine runs a lovely hotel but I'm afraid the food and the rooms let the complex down a great deal. The portion sizes are incredibly small especially for adults and the meals are very appetising!
If I had the choice, I would must rather of stayed in the Eliseo. Save your time and go to a better hotel, you will be garunteed to get your moneys worth......

Room Tip: Lower floors, Hotel has only one lift that regularly stops working! Request a room with a balcony ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saint-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Georges

Address: 34 Avenue Peyramale, 65100 Lourdes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint-Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georges Hotel Lourdes
Hotel Saint Georges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saint-Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.