We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Great location in wonderful Lourdes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Moderne

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Moderne to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Moderne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100 Lourdes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Lourdes
Cedar Park, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Great location in wonderful Lourdes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel in Lourdes, right next to the grotto. Would highly recommend and will stay here again. Location second to none. Service outstanding. We stayed in a family room which was different but great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    46
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
65
45
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night but I would consider going back to Lourdes just to stay in the hotel again. The staff contacted us by email before hand to see if we needed transportation from the station and arranged that for us. The staff at the front desk was wonderful, accomodating and helpful wiith any questions we had. The room was spacious and comfortable with 2 large beds for 4 of us and we still had plenty of room. Large shower/bath area and very clean. Large room with high ceilings were great. Our only disappointment was that we planned on eating in the hotel but they were booked. The front desk, however recommended another place in town which had fantastic food. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Cathedral and right in the heart of town. Highly reccommend this place if you are going to Lourdes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent location to Lourdes Sanctuary, the closest hotel. Good food, excellent service, very friendly owner, well kept hotel. Very much recommended. Very busy hotel, lucky we got group rooms reserved in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Moderne for two nights in the third week in April after flying from Paris Orly to Pau. The Pau- Pyrenees Airport is a fair way from Lourdes (over 40 KM) and took us about 45 minutes by car. The Hotel Staff organised the transport for us in response to an email I sent.
The Hotel is in an ideal location. It is only a short walk to the Grotto and there are plenty of shops and restaurants around.
The Hotel was excellent with large rooms, clean bathroom and all the facilities one expects.
We did not have any meals at the hotel as there are plenty of Restaurants just round the corner
The Reception Staff were very friendly and cooperative.
We certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was very close to the Grotto which made our stay more enjoyable, thanks to this hotel and its able manager Lina & her wonderful staff. They made our stay super in spite of the fact that our reservations was cancelled due to our arriving one day late due to aircraft situation. They accommodated us and secured rooms for other guests at nearby hotels and we were not charge no show fees. I recommend this hotel to all travelers. You'll never go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Grand Hotel Modern in Lourdes is in a perfect location, within a brief walk to the grotto. The hotel is quiet and very clean. The desk staff is friendly and extremely helpful. The best asset however, is the restaurant for dinner. The restaurant glows with old school elegance (touches of Italy in France). The food is gourmet quality and the wine list is excellent. As with most of France, you get what you pay for. Dinner here was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a higher floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife & I traveled to Lourdes directly from USA. Not the easiest place to get to directly since you have to change from CDG to Orly & only a few flights a day to Lourdes. The Moderne staff arranged transport from the airport for us. The rooms are clean & spacious. The dining is excellent and the staff throughout is friendly and extremely helpful. Location is great. Weather was rainy and cold but they helped locate umbrellas.

Room Tip: request a room for 3 people --- doesn't seem to cost more than 2 (why?) and is quite a bit large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moderne

Address: 21 Avenue Bernadette Soubirous, 65100 Lourdes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lourdes
#2 Family Hotel in Lourdes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Moderne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the family of Bernadette Soubirous in 1896, the Grand Hotel Moderne combines charm, elegance and comfort and is ideally located at only 50 meters from the sanctuaries. Completely restored in 2008, the hotel has managed to preserve the soul of this extraordinary House while adding a unique touch of elegance and comfort in Lourdes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Moderne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lourdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;