We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well-recommended stay in lourdes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Dauphine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Du Dauphine to your Saves list
Hotel Du Dauphine
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13, Boulevard De La Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 195 Hotels in Lourdes
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“well-recommended stay in lourdes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

it's really a short walk from sncf gare de lourdes!

staff is very friendly! it's a mom-and-pop hotel. and they can converse in english, french, spanish, and german

the room we stayed in has a picture of st. bernadette soubirous. wonder if this is the same for all rooms?

bedroom and bathroom is pretty spacious.

door locks are old-school. you have to lock the doors using the key, even from the inside. there's no separate locking mechanism. also, our bathroom door can't be locked from the inside, so we devised a rule that if there's something hanging on the bathroom doorknob, then someone's inside.

dining area's pretty spacious, but tell them in advance if you're gonna have breakfast there and what food you want.

guests are given a security code for the main entrance. they close in the late morning for cleaning duties.

technically there's wifi, but it's too weak to penetrate rooms. they've provided a netbook near the vending machines, though. but who needs internet in lourdes? you're supposed to pray there, and not update your facebook!

there's vending machines at the 1st floor for snacks and drinks.

there's an elevator! big surprise for a small hotel. ideal for those packing wheelies.

i recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here for two days during a short trip to lourdes...The location of the hotel is reasonably good, approximately ten minute walk to the shrine. The ownersa are very helpful and do their best to give you a comfortable stay. If journeying to Lourdes be warned that almost everything near this hotel closes after 8pm, except for the ibis 24 hr restaurant which was just round the corner, but served average food. We did feel, though that the breakfast could have had a better variety of foods, including fresh fruit. The room was very clean but the bathroom was a bit on the small side. The bathroom also had a window with no shutter, which faced onto the road. As there was a bunk bed, one of us slept on the top but complained of hearing the noises of the person above at 6 in the morning. Also there was a persone smoking down our corridor and nothing was done to reprimand this person, although it was a non- smoking room.
Overall it was an average stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugg AG, Schweiz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The owner is very accommodating even we arrived late and welcome us like a family to her. The place is easy to locate and near the Grotto and train station. Definitely, I will stay again in this hotel if I had the cahnce to go back in Lourdes

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here during our weekend trip to Cauterets. Owners were very friendly, room was clean, bed was comfortable, and it was quiet for a good sleep. Only 20-30 mins to the snow, with a car. In a good position within the town as well. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were attracted by the reasonably rates (Euro35/nite) and its proximity to the Shrine. The Inn is located within walking distance (10mins) from the railway station. The room is clean and basic. The couple who operated is helpful but they are not stationed at the reception area. When we need an adaptor for charging our cellphone, we could not contact them and at the reception, found nobody. The saving grace is when we decided to have their breakfast on the day of departure, hospitality, fresh croissants and baguettes and free flow of coffee earned a few brownie points.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarencefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Just back from 3 nights in this hotel. We booked a quadruple room as there 4 of us. The room was very good value. The staff are very accommodating and helped us with any queries we had about our travel plans. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

I studied abroad in Europe last semester, and visited seven different countries during my stay. My friends and I stayed at this hotel during spring break, and we all agreed in retrospect that this was our favorite hotel of the whole trip. The couple who runs it were very friendly, the hotel was clean, and it's a 10 minute walk from both the train station and the sanctuaries. They also have a 5 person room, which we got for 55 euro. Divided by five, that's 11 euro a night per person for the best hotel we stayed in. We paid 30 euro a night for a hotel in Paris that didn't have a toilet in the room, and 20 euro a night for a hostel in Dublin which had hair all over the sheets. The quality and price just can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Du Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Dauphine

Address: 13, Boulevard De La Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 195 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Dauphine 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 1* in the classification but a guest house in the spirit, the hotel of Dauphiné is an independent and different establishment! Situated in the center of Lourdes, 400m Sanctuaries and the Train Station. Ideal location to reach the Grotte of Massabielle and the Basilics, visit Lourdes and its museums, to go on " the Steps of Bernadette " or to discover Pyrenees.Mathilde and Jérôme welcome you at home, with friendliness and are at your disposal to help you to plan your stay.Alone, in couple, between friends or in family with children, the Hotel of Dauphiné will allow you to take advantage at best of your stay pilgrimage, tourist or sports.Only constraint : take advantage, appreciate and freedom.Accessible rates; 16 non-smoking rooms (from 1 to 4 persons), equipped with private shower-room (shower and TOILETS). Elevator,Continental breakfast, in unlimited buffet.Free WIFI in the lounge and all the ground floor.Space for children with games and books,TV lounge with library, Dining room (with microwaves) at your disposal for your meals and picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Du Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Dauphine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.