We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful and obstructive” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Residence Saint Jean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Residence Saint Jean to your Saves list
Hotel-Residence Saint Jean
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Avenue Du Paradis, 65100 Lourdes, France (Formerly Citea St Jean)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 194 Hotels in Lourdes
Liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unhelpful and obstructive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here last year and would never return. The rooms were tiny, the air con didn't work and they lost our booking so ignored a request for our two rooms to be on the same floor (not even adjacent just on the same floor) and they tried to overcharge us. Fortunately I kept a copy of our booking. It took 6 requests and 3visits before the staff believed the air con didn't work, and 3 days to fix. Our 2 year old had a chest infection and the heat was contributing to his ill health. The studio we were told was big enough clearly wasn't and one evening when I set up the baby monitor so I could sit downstairs after he had gone asleep to read all was fine. The next night all the bulbs were removed from the lamps and when I asked about it both in French and English I got told I couldn't sit there after 8 o clock! When I asked why I got the previous sentence repeated. Poor service and they tried to rip us off. Oh lastly, to try and use the laundry they say you can is a nightmare of timing and access. They go out of their way to make you feel unwelcome. A huge drop in standards since it opened as a citea. Not our first stay there, definitely our last.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere and walk a bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Our trip from Paris Montparnasse station to Lourdes on 2 Apr by TGV train took almost 7 hrs. It was off peak and we waited 10 mins for a taxi to fetch us from Lourdes train station to Antipodes Hotel. Journey is only 5 mins and costs euro 15.

This is a basic hotel with no frills but each room though tiny is equipped with a tiny kitchenette. We managed to cook spaghetti for our dinner. Our rooms offered a great view of the river Gave.

Opposite our hotel on the right is a bakery shop where we bought baguettes and delicious croissants for breakfast. A 15 mins walk towards the right of the hotel leads to the centre of town where there is a McDonald, a covered market, cafes, pharmacies, boutiques and a supermarket called Monoprix.

The grotto is a 5 mins walk. On the way to the grotto there are many souvenir shops selling religious articles and containers to fill the spring water.

Overall, Antipodes Hotel and Residences offer a good deal at Euro35 per room per night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

sad day for my 20 yrs traveling to lourdes to find peace, simply asking to supplied soap receptionist francis inform that new company antipodes unlike citea don't supplied soap & thankful they supplied towel, i book 3 units of 2 bedroom, & he said if had money to pay 3 bedroom why not buy a soap, & even show his fist to me that do you want this, & ask us to leave, if we want soap, since good friday apr 6, 2012 i simply said call it a day, since i came overnite , & he ask me to pay which i agree to avoid having him looking loophole to evict us, 2 rm with booking .com directly while one room thru antipodes st jean. seem he is very racial look down at us filipino, when he said soap not included i ask to write black & white that antipodes policy which he refuse. hope other pilgrim won't have same experience as i had , god bless.

Room Tip: room is irregular size for all category, get room 104 is big but careful with reception non accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

Close to the Grotto and shopping streets. Lovely lake view. Convenient kitchen facilities. Clean room and bathroom. Check-in very late at 16h30. Not convenient. Check-out at 11h00. Too early for a hotel with such a late check-in. Nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Lourdes was a big surprise for us. It is very touristy and not just a spiritual place. Yes the hotel is in a great spot. We were in room 301 and it was tiny. If we put a suitcase to open on the floor there was no room to get by. We searched high and low and found only one plug in the room. There was none in the kitchen part or the bathroom. Everything was clean and it is a budget hotel. Parking on the street costs 1E an hour, 3 hours maximim. You had to pay between 8am-noon and then 2-7. After that it is free. The free parking lot really is a fair walking distance away. We were lucky the parking ticket machine was broken so everyone parked for free. We couldn't get the air to work but then I guess it wasn't on from another review. The internet worked fine in the lobby. The kitchen is very small but would be adequate. We did find it noisy. The front staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Read this #2 ranked hotel in Lourdes and booked it for 3 nights. On arrival, we got promptly checked in and was encouraged by our cab driver praising our choice. We have been to Lourdes before and hence was certain on the ease of the location (to Grotto).
We were given Room 201, a double bedder. Winter is just over and reception told us the central heating had just been turned off 2 weeks ago but aircon wasn't activated (and not anytime soon). Temperature was like between 16-24, unusually warm for the month and the heat made it really hot in the room.
As well located this hotel is, it is superbly noisy. As we opened the window to allow ventilation, the room got became so noisy that it is hard to rest/sleep. The only quiet time was from 0130 to 0530 (thats the amount of sleep you can get).
As for the room itself, the floor was squeaky and uneven (yes, it's slanted!!). The door/walls were badly insulated, you can hear loud neighbors returning in the night. The only plus was the mini kitchen, allowing for microwave.
All in all, Lourdes is a great place and despite this being our 2nd trip there, we will return again.... But perhaps at another accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Location: 2-5 minutes from the Sanctuaries, smack bang in the middle of a row of eateries and shops. What more could you want? Even a walk to the train station (17 minutes?) was doable with big luggage. It really was a great place to be.

Room: Modern, spacious (but not big), and self-equiped. It would've been great to stay more days-- you'd really be able to make yourself comfortable.

Staff: Very helpful!! Even the cleaning lady who came up to do a last minute check was quite enthusiastic in offering some suggestions on what to do on our brief visit. Although reception is supposed to close at 6pm, by 8pm the reception lady was still there (I dont know if it was a once off).

Wi-Fi: Free... but the code is essay length and you need to be in the reception to use it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Residence Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Residence Saint Jean

Address: 1 Avenue Du Paradis, 65100 Lourdes, France (Formerly Citea St Jean)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 194 Hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Residence Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence St Jean is located in the city of Lourdes, 250 metres from its sanctuary. The residence offers accommodations with an equipped kitchenette, a flat-screen TV and a buffet breakfast is available in the morning. All of the heated rooms at Residence St Jean have a private bathroom, kitchenette with refrigerator and microwave, and a flat-screen TV. There is also free Wi-Fi in the rooms. Grocers and restaurants are located less than 50 metres away. After breakfast, guests can use the free Wi-FI access available in the public areas. The residence is located opposite Lourdes Bridge and 250 metres from the grotto. The train station is 1.2 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Residence Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antipodes Resort Residence Saint Jean Hotel Lourdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Residence Saint Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.