We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at The Agena Lourdes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Agena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Agena Hotel to your Saves list
Agena Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Marie Sainte Frai, 65 100 Lourdes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 192 hotels in Lourdes
armagh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Staying at The Agena Lourdes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want basic well this is it, rooms very very small and dated. Though the cleaners came in every day and changed towels and made bed but did not change sheets at all in the 5 days we stayed. The reception area looks modern but is very uncomfortable area not a relaxing foyer at all. The food was decent enough . Agena is very central and so it was hard to get any sleep in
the afternoon and at night there was a lot of young people making noise directly outside the hotel. The hotel staff never seemed to move them on or even try.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel if you want a more up to date hotel, otherwise staff and service was average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    10
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just back from a very wet trip to Lourdes with Ardagh/Clonmacnois group. Apart from the weather it was a fantastic trip, lovely group of people and equally important, the Hotel Agena was welcoming and as always a pleasure to stay in.

The staff are very helpful, courtious and friendly and always willing to offer an alternative lunch or dinner if something on the menu is not suitable. Nothing is too much trouble, they work hard but always remain warm and eager to please all nationalities of guests.

They made our stay more pleasurable, rooms are spotless, plenty of towels, bedding, shower gels, soaps etc and very important on this trip .... the radiators were hopping to dry our clothes out. While the Hotel Agena is a very quiet hotel, in comparison to La Solitude, that is exactly the reason we requested to stay there, apart from the fact that the food is also much better. If you want to join up with your other friends in La Solitude it is only across the road anyway!!

I look forward to staying in Hotel Agena again on my next trips to Lourdes and wish to thank each and every one of you, both Management and Staff for a lovely time shown to us all.

Room Tip: Do not recommend a room with a view overlooking the river as it can be noisy at night on the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed with Armagh Diocesan Pilgrimage from 12th to 17th May, everything about this hotel great, especially the service that we got from waiter Jacques. Nothing was too much bother for him. Keep up the good service. Food excellent

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed for 5 days with my mother at this hotel. I can only say that if i return to Lourdes i will definatly book this hotel. We had no complaints what so ever, the staff were so so pleasant and helpful, from front of house to dining room. The food was excellent, 3 courses at lunch time and 4 at dinner time, And i have the waist line to prove how good the food was. Rooms were very clean and serviced everyday. Hotel was 5mins from sanctuary, ideal. My mother enjoyed her trip as much as i did and said she would stay at this hotel again. I can only say a very big big thank you to all the staff at the Agena and the very best of luck to you all for the future. Will definatly recommend the hotel to anyone who is intending to travel to Lourdes. X

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I travelled to Lourdes when my Mum took very ill while on pilgramage there. I had to stay for a number of days and I'm so glad I got to stay at the Agena. It really was a home away from home and the staff could not have been more kind or helpful to us during a very difficult time.
The hotel has very strong Irish links; you'll be greeted by Shirley from Wexford and do ask for Fionnuala while you're there. She is the hotels' proprieter and a truly wonderful lady who went out of her way to do all she could for us. The rooms were clean and comfortable; service was excellent and food was well prepared, nutritious and filling and the hotel is centrally located surrounded by cafe's and shops a short 5 minute walk to the grotto. There is something very special about Lourdes and Agena and her team became a part of that for us. We'll definitely be back and we know where we'll be staying.

Room Tip: Tell Shirley you're from Wexford
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My first time in Lourdes. V enjoyable pilgrimage as a helper. Stayed in Agena. Staff overworked but did their best. Food was scarce, v basic and even finding enough coffee in morning was a task. Rooms clean but v basic. Wish owner would look after their guest's basic needs a lot more if they expect repeat business. I have advised friends to go elsewhere. Sorry but its the truth.

Room Tip: back of hotel was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our 3rd year to Lourdes, Our 2nd stay in Agena Hotel. I think it was even better than last year.
This hotel is modern, spotless, courtous staff, clean towels and toiletries supplied everyday. Lovely food and plenty of it.
It is in the centre of Lourdes, less than 10 minutes from Grotto.

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel which looks out on the river, lovely view but there is some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agena Hotel

Address: 3 rue Marie Sainte Frai, 65 100 Lourdes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Lourdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 192 hotels in Lourdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agena Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Agena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agena Hotel Lourdes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.