We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renaissance

Save Saved
You added Hotel Renaissance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Renaissance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Castres
nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Its very hard to believe the recent review.......we arrived in Castres without making any booking and not knowing where to stay. We pulled up outside and my husband went in to see if they had any rooms. While I was waiting a lady came over to me and said I could park up on the pavement for 5 minutes without getting a ticket. Two minutes later she came back and said my husband had booked a room and she would come in the car with me to show me where we could off load our luggage and then the car would be parked by a valet. We unloaded and sorted stuff out at reception, the lady on reception was absolutely charming and nothing was too much trouble. We then went to our room. WOW!! It was spectacular - massive super king size bed, beautiful furniture and the room it's self was huge. We only planned to stay for one night but we loved the hotel and Castres so much we booked another night. The breakfast was fabulous and all the staff and the owners ( the lady who came in the car with me was the owner) were faultless.
I would be back to the Renaissance if I was visiting Castres again in a flash!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
49
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What had to be a highlight of our trip through Spain and France turned out in the worst experience of staying in a hotel ever. Later I understood that this hotel has a very bad reputation in Castres. Makes me wonder how much is true about all the reviews shouting "Excellent!" and "Fantastic!". If something looks too good to be true, it's most of the times not true.

We made an online booking, but the staff didn't understand our request nor took the effort of getting it clarified. Instead they made it our problem when we arrived after a long trip. Like a tape machine the lady at the reception repeated the hotel policies, without listening to our request. Without even coming with an alternative. Then the owner took over the conversation, not having the decency to first introduce himself. Within less than a minute he started shouting and slamming his fists on the table; yelling we had to get out of the hotel immediately as to him there was NO RESERVATION!!! That clarifies all these excellent remarks as those clients who are used to service never make it to get a room.

He threatened to call the police then walked away and never came back. Another lady took over the conversation, telling us we had to take a different room and pay more. If we had known that when we made the booking then we might have taken a different hotel, but now we felt forced as we didn't know if we could find another room somewhere else.

Our daughter had tears in her eyes the whole time and when we made it to the room she had to cry. We could see she was upset by the yelling and shouting, but now realize how scared she had been and decided to find another hotel. Worst case we had to stay with this psychopath, but we were lucky and found a much better hotel and went back to take our suitcases. No reimbursements of course of Hotel Renaissance. And valet parking? I had to get the car myself, while I paid for this service by lack of any other option in the first place.

My advise? Check out the other hotels and don't fall for the fake glamour Hotel Renaissance has to offer.

Room Tip: Make sure you yourself double check if they understood your booking or they will call the police
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbelard, Propriétaire at Hotel Renaissance, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
in replay to this noxious review and for information for our customers, it is sensible to restore the facts and we invite you to read our answer with respect to this case:

Madam
As you say yourself, your slanderous appreciation is for us an exception compared to the 85 comments of the thousands guests whom we received, and thank god for us, leave every day delighted by our establishment
Contrary to you, madam they know how to behave courteously

On the 24/08 at 11:43 pm on the booking.com web site you reserved for the next day A DOUBLE CLASSIC ROOM which by definition means in all the hotels of the world a room containing one bed for 2 people
At this moment, you perfectly know that you would be three persons and that you had at your disposal the possibility of opting and reserving on-line a superior room which they have the capacity to welcome 3 persons.

Perfectly aware of your stratagem to save a ridiculous price difference, you do not specify in your novel, as himself your husband asserted it, using the same method in all the hotels where you went, or you met problems by the fact of writing in your reservations an incomprehensible message in order to confuse the hotels.

Upon your arrival, you say wrongly that we did not try to bring you an alternative solution.
Yet, we explained to you and indefatigably repeated during more than half an hour, than, in any way in our hotel our double classic rooms cannot accommodate three persons unless sleeping in the same bed for three, which is unacceptable from a qualitative point of view in our establishment.
We proposed to you a superior room with a 2 beds ( king size + singles Bed ) to welcome your daughter, but fixed on the price, you continued to negotiate without listening to the proposed solution,

In front of your stubborn attitude and in such a situation, we had Madam not other choices that to invite you to set out from our establishment! and to find an other hotel for your stay

But not, despite the fact that you were not any more welcome, you persisted in staying in our establishment before few hours after decide to finally to leave it

Finally, we are saddened that your daughter was affected by this misadventure, but with a so theatrical mother we are fear that it is unfortunately usual for her

As for our reputation in the city of castres, of course, by sleeping there only one night you undoubtedly had all the faculties to judge isn’t-it?

Don’t worry for us our notoriety is doing very well.

Wishing you a safe journey
Best regard
Michel belard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Location excellent, in quiet medieval street. Beautiful decor, very carefully designed, very clean, beds comfortable even classical rooms spacious. Quiet and unobtrusive but personalised care given by the hotel staff, who made our stay very comfortable. (we felt like family) Breakfast was beautiful and once again carefully thought out, with fresh pastries, meat, and even an orange juicer for you to operate to ensure freshness. A real pearl in the town of Castres.

Room Tip: I stayed in the New Delhi room, very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends and i have stayed here on a rugby trip to watch saints vs castres. The owners were hospitable in the extreme, the hotel service is friendly and welcoming and the location superb. Itbmay be a challenge taking the family there, but the medieval streets , the quirky rooms and the fantastic restaurants made foe two fantastic weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel while we chased the Tour de France across southern France. Upon arriving at the destination, we were concerned about the amenities since it is located in a very old part of town with very narrow streets. However, upon finding our way to the hotel lobby, we were surprised to find such a gem in this town. Despite the age of the building, the owner(s) have managed to fit every possible modern convenience into this facility. From modern fixtures and appliances, to WiFi, they have done an amazing job at keeping this hotel current. It is nicely decorated using antiques from around the area but this may be a bit strange to some. The rooms were themed with mine being American and my friend's being Japanese. Although small, I wanted for nothing. The gentleman at the front desk (the owner?) was extremely gracious and accommodating and spoke excellent English. We parked our car down the street and he offered to take it to a nearby garage and then he retrieved it when we were ready to leave. Overall, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I highly recommend it. I'm only sorry we were not able to stay longer in this location. But I will go out of my way to return if I find myself in nearby in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A nice building in the centre of Castres, with a tatty decor. Bathroom in need of upgrade, while room need decluttering. Bed conformable. Good service from the reception. No lift. We did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a real unique, four stars, romantic boutique hotel, with a special decoration of each room, designed by the owner, for a relatively excellent price. You can tell that Nicole, one of the owners, together with Michael her husband, put her attention to each of the decoration items in each of the rooms and the public spaces. The hospitality of the owners is great and they themselves give you a personal treatment and are very friendly. Their recommendations on restaurants and interest sites to visit in Castres were very good. Breakfast was very good with variety of good French cheese and cold cuts. There is free Wi-Fi in each room. We will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to their website and choose a room according to your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renaissance

Address: 17 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Castres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renaissance 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s for a business trip, for leisure or for a romantic weekend, the Hotel RENAISSANCE provides you with a unique setting for a stay full of charm in the heart of the town of Castres: at your disposal are some twenty themed rooms and suites, spacious, with unique character, each one different, and each equipped with all modern comforts.A hotel of character ideally placed in a quiet street in the historic heart of the town, a few paces from the Place Jean-Jaurès where colourful, bustling markets are held; a few paces from the main institutions, shops, restaurants, the theatre, museums, the famous tanners’ houses on the banks of the Agout river, the pedestrianised streets and other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.