We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OTT opulence in a side street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renaissance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Renaissance to your Saves list
Hotel Renaissance
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castres
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OTT opulence in a side street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The couple running this hotel have clearly taken a decision to make it stand out against the rather mediocre opposition and their eccentric approach will be appreciated by many but not by everyone. f your tastes in decoration and furnishing run along minimalist lines you might want to consider staying elsewhere in Castres. The Renaissance's rooms are a cornucopia of antiques, ornaments, nick-nacks, hangings and much else. It's a little overwhelming, like an eccentric Disney creation, and some of it is a bit kitsch, but in a nice way and it has all clearly been chosen lovingly and in a spirit of fun by the husband and wife owners who are most welcoming and helpful. Whichever room you are allocated, you're in for an eyeful. I'll say no more than that so as not to spoil the surprise. The furnishings serve to imbue the rooms with character, which is much needed because, this being in a narrow side street, daylight is at a minimum and interesting views completely out of the question. This is a good place to stay if your visiting Castres or the surrounding area. It's a minute's walk to the town's central square and a minute or two more to the river. The area has plenty of bars and restaurants and don't be afraid to venture up the streets on the other side of the river where you will find additional dining options including the very good Brasserie Marso. Access and parking was surprisingly easy. You can always find a non-payment parking slot in the main streets outside the town walls – just a few minutes walk from the hotel. A short drive to the north is the charming hilltop village of Lautrec and to the south the hamlet of Sorèze has an interesting abbey-stroke-military academy, now closed for business and open as a visitor attraction. It's a good idea to buy some provisions for lunch in Castres before venturing out into the countryside where catering options are severely limited.

Room Tip: Planning to stay a few nights? If given a choice on arrival be practical, prioritise natural light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    35
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
68
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

In Castres, France (just near Toulouse) the Hotel Renaissance is where I had the most remarkable stay. You are in for a treat - From the New York themed room, to the China themed room you'll be entertained in your room! Your may not venture out of your comfort until the 2nd day...I slept like a baby! Once you do, you'll soon see the pharmacy and street market are steps away. You can get everywhere you need to go, just by walking. My favorite place is the chocolate shop right across the street! It's definitely THE place for a lot of R&R. Enjoy France!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way down through France. The hotel is in the old part of the town and well situated for walking around the centre.Once you have arrived the car is taken away and securely parked until you need it again.The rooms are certainly different and unlike any hotel we have ever stayed in, our room was quiet,comfortable and well equipped . A good buffet breakfast is available. The owners were very helpful and suggested restaurants for eating out.
We thought the hotel was good value,enjoyed looking around the town, and we would certainly stay in there again.

Room Tip: Have a look at the pictures of the rooms and choose your genre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A three night break away for my birthday. I selected this place on the strength of its listing on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.
Central location, car is, or can be, safely parked away for you.
The reception area is warming; an eclectic mix of furniture and decorative items, gathered by the owners over their years of travelling before taking over this hotel 3 years ago.
Somehow, they have found a balance between the now and then. The old building has retained its character; high ceilings in the rooms, beautifully exposed stone walls, but made to stand out with some strong decoration and use of colours.
It has made this a quirky place.
Our dog was allowed to come with us and luckily behaved himself well, as we may well come back for a second visit....
Please do try the breakfast; a superb selection of pastries, bread, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, cereals accompanied by good fresh coffee or tea of your choice and very friendly and smiley staff.
I was lucky to be able to peek into some of the other rooms and suites: not one is the same and they are all a feast for the eyes.
Castres centre is cute and very do-able on foot for a few days. If you fancy a trip out, one of the staff or owners will get your car out of the parking and bring it to the hotel for you.
I am sure that from spring to autumn Castres has a lot more to offer, but still, for a little romantic break away it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a suite. For a town centre hotel all prices are extremely reasonable bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holywood, co down
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in January for a rugby match and enjoyed our stay in this unique hotel. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly and offered excellent advice on places to eat and sightseeing trips. Their English is much better than our French so we had no problems with communications. The hotel is in the old part of town and parking is difficult but the hotel has its own garage and if you leave the car beside the hotel, it will be parked for you at 12 euro a night. Staying in the hotel (we had the Medieval room) is like living in a museum - it is full of antiques and artefacts and each room has a different theme. We had a fantastic bed in our room - it was huge and so comfortable. The hotel is lovely and quiet at nighttime and the owners are very careful that there should be no noise - even from enthusiastic rugby fans who were very well behaved. Our only criticism was that breakfast wasn't great and at 12 euros each was a bit pricey. After the first day we decided to have breakfast in one of the many local cafes which suited us better. Rooms have a minibar which is reasonably priced and a kettle is provided along with tea/coffee and biscuits which was nice and not always found in France. Would definitely stay there again and no hesitation in recommending. We also found the locals very helpful and friendly and very willing to put up with our efforts at conversation, Great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbelard, Directeur général at Hotel Renaissance, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your message and courtesy.
We have a simple breakfast option at only 6 Euros
This information is already written in our directory Book available in all ours rooms
Best Regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst travelling around France. What a wonderful hotel. We had the Asia Suite. Could not fault the hotel or service.
They recommended a place to eat equally as good.
Valet parking a must!
Catres is a lovely town, walked around and went to Goya Gallery and the lovely riverside gardens.

Room Tip: Choose a suite really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A hotel with real character,each room individually decorated.We had the Retro which is a superior double room and was a really good size.The staff are extremely helpfull. I recommend the valet parking as the roads are very narrow in the old town.
The hotel is located in quiet side street but only a 100 metres from the main square of the old town .I would say that there was at least a dozen restaurants within 400 metres of the hotel.
We would not hesitate to go back there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castres
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Miredames
Hotel Le Miredames
#2 of 12 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Eco Sweet
Hotel Eco Sweet
#1 of 12 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#4 of 12 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Castres
Grand Hotel de Castres
#7 of 12 in Castres
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Logis l'Occitan
Logis l'Occitan
#6 of 12 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviere
Hotel Riviere
#5 of 12 in Castres
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renaissance

Address: 17 rue Victor Hugo, 81100 Castres, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Castres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renaissance 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it’s for a business trip, for leisure or for a romantic weekend, the Hotel RENAISSANCE provides you with a unique setting for a stay full of charm in the heart of the town of Castres: at your disposal are some twenty themed rooms and suites, spacious, with unique character, each one different, and each equipped with all modern comforts.A hotel of character ideally placed in a quiet street in the historic heart of the town, a few paces from the Place Jean-Jaurès where colourful, bustling markets are held; a few paces from the main institutions, shops, restaurants, the theatre, museums, the famous tanners’ houses on the banks of the Agout river, the pedestrianised streets and other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Renaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.