We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Verdun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Verdun to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Verdun
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Fernand Braudel (Rue Jean Norton Cru) | ZAC Sud Actipôle, 55100 Verdun, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Verdun
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just bad luck I suppose but when we stayed so did 150 under 10 (I think) footballers and their coaches and helpers. No chance of getting breakfast if you arrived in the lobby after that lot!

We were on a motorcycle tour and our sat navs brought us here through some very poor neighbourhoods of flats and a traveller site. This didn't give a very good impression and heightened our anxiety about car park security. Accor really need to improve security on this car park.

The rooms were good and clean and check in was efficient. A typical Etap. Great for families to use as a stop over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    125
    64
    14
    11
See reviews for
76
90
20
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A well run and managed hotel without frills but none the less very good value for money. I use many of this type of hotel and generally they are very good. This one, however, was amongst the best of them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The stay was as we have come to excpect from this chain. Easy to find, not far from the autoroute, parking onsite, well priced, near to various eateries, comfortable. All you want for a break in a long journey (Italian Alps back to UK). Booked in advance to get the best rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sancerre, France
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is now changed the name. It is now called Ibis Budget, Verdun. Check in after hours is self-service via a machine in the entrance (no desk clerk in evenings).
I checked in and went to my room. I was awoken by a loud crashing noise at 3:00 am. Looking from my second story window I saw a young man running from a car with a shattered side window and carrying 2 small brief cases! The parking is well - lit but the hotel is on the edge of town and there is a large field just next to the parking lot.
In the morning I met the unfortunate owners of the car and gave them my contact info. I was later contacted by the French police to provide them with my eye witness account.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the parking lot so you can see the thieves if they break into your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a clean, friendly, well run hotel with a good breakfast and represents excellent value for money. If you're driving in the area it's an ideal place and is surrounded by good spots to eat on what is a large out of town shopping estate. The views are mixed, but for the money you can't complain. Two very important details, however. First, if you are arriving after 9pm call ahead and get your six digit access number - otherwise you'll be locked out as there's no-one on reception. Second, if you want a no smoking room make sure you are very clear about this when booking your room. Apart from those minor caveats, I thought this was a great place for the money. A real bargain.

Room Tip: Make sure you call ahead if arriving after 9pm. Also be clear about a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We wanted to stay in Verdun and were not concerned about staying in the centre as we were meeting friends who live in the local area. To eat in town you have to drive in (and the kitchens seemed to stop serving at 10pm which was much earlier than everywhere else in Europe we had been) which was ok.
The hotel is in an industrial estate - it is signposted as the Etap hotel but the signage on the hotel is the Ibis Budget which initially confused us so this is something to be aware of.
The hotel room is basic, but there was space to lay out our luggage, there was a tv, a comfy bed, great lighting, a basic shower which is straight off the 'bedroom' so you can sit in bed and see your partner shower! The sink was in the room and the toilet room is small. It was 50euros and we thought it was so good we stayed a second night! It was clean, comfortable and we thought quite spacious.
We opted not to have breakfast - a 2 minute walk up the road there is a bakery in a windmill lookalike building and it was fantastic!!!! We went there both mornings.
There is a self check in (we arrived after 9pm so there were no staff there). If you have prebooked you just put your card in a machine and get a number to enter the hotel and also the number for your room - they all have keypads outside each room. Just just have to make sure you don't lose the slip with the number on during the evening as there are no staff to let you in if you do!
We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel is a good option to stay in Verdun. Wherever the confort is not excelent, the quality is enough to pass a short time in the city, to support the visit the memorials and museums of the 1WW. Other important information is that the Hotel is not more ETAP. He became Íbis and it´s necessary to inform this with the due antecippation. I discovered that when I arrived in the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Verdun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Verdun

Address: Rue Fernand Braudel (Rue Jean Norton Cru) | ZAC Sud Actipôle, 55100 Verdun, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: France > Lorraine > Meuse > Verdun
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Verdun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Verdun 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Verdun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Verdun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.