We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad blind date...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Theatre to your Saves list
Hotel du Theatre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 rue du Pont St. Marcel, 57000 Metz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A bad blind date...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have you ever been on a bad blind date that really cost you? Before the date, you talked to some people (looked on line) and wanted to hope for the best? That’s what you have at the Hotel du Theater. You try your best to focus on the good stuff, but just can’t wait for the date (or in this case, a weekend getaway) to end. Parking is tough, tight, dirty and smelly - yes. Reception is a little dark and unwelcoming. The ‘sweet and musty’ smell of twine that surfaces half of the walls on the second floor is unescapable. Entering room 203 (a family room), it is nice to see the size, however the mismatched furnishings are immediately noticeable, as is the frayed cloth wallpaper and the uneven laminate wood flooring. My wife and I shake our heads at each other...so this is how the next couple of days are going to be...we’re committed now. Once we unpack a little, we consider going on line to check local restaurant reviews and ask the receptionist about wifi. “Sorry, there is no WiFi in your section of the hotel.” We decide to clean up a little before going out and find that the bathroom is especially small, the shower curtain is exceptionally long, and there is a full-length mirror along the back wall of the shower. One nice feature of European hotels is having the toilet in it’s own room and the shower and sink in another room - which is the case here. However, I have been in airplane WCs that are larger than the our toilet room here - about 6” square. Try shimmying out of your bloomers and sitting on the throne in a coffin. On the upside, the view from the room is pretty and the location of the hotel is great - with nice walking access to downtown, which is where we often chose to spend time rather than in our hotel room. Hotel du Theater limps in at 3-stars and has me vowing to myself to book nothing but 4-star hotels in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    17
    23
    20
See reviews for
10
51
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
München
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel convinces at second looks.

When we first arrived we were quite disappointed... but after we complained about the room we received an upgrade to a suite. And honestly, -that was worth it. Suite is very very charming, bathroom has a hot tub with whirlpool functions. Defintely a place a couple can spent a nice, relaxing weekend.

Hotel is situated very close to downtown and we really enjoyed the city... we would always chose this hotel again and visit Metz again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Please don't believe the 1 ratings other have given this place - it is much better than that! It is a little eccentric e.g. the heavy sacking wallcoverings on the corridor walls are a bit whiffy. Yes its dark but if you like the theatrical and quirky this is a good choice for you.

Room was clean and spacious (we had a family room on the third floor) and most importantly the beds were comfortable. It is a three star but lots of money has been spent and you get really good value there. No A/c meant we had quite a warm night

Staff were approachable, knowledgeable and helpful - I parked our roofboxed car in the free car park a few minutes walk from hotel near the Metz riverside campsite as I was concerned about the comments about parking made by other reviewers.

it is a bit tricky to get your car near as there is quite a bit of roadworking nearby- and lts of one-way systems your satnav may not know about. But it will be nice when its finished. Plan your route into town carefully.

Pool is a bit of a H&S concern for young kids- cold and steeply deepening, lots of pigeon poo and a weird indoor bit you have to swim underwater to get into - proceed with care!

Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and typically French - so don't expect a full English.

Metz is arty and youthful, and my young family and I enjoyed a meal up in the main square with all the cool kids!

This hotel is unusual, visually quite eccentric but very comfortable and enjoyable for a short stay.

Room Tip: Family room with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Smelly, dirty, noisy! Swimming pool was out of order, wifi did not work at rooms and free parking was awful parkin hall where drug addicts and homeless people stayed at nights. Although location was good. I hope someone would see hotels competence and make it luxurious place to stay. Now hotel maked me only angry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel location is great, very central and some rooms offer a great view on the church and the old town. I have however left the hotel with a horrible memory.
The welcome at the reception, although friendly, was not competent. The person hadnt been trained properly, and was unable to answer the phone promptly, or to advise on the parking possibility. Even emails werent answered.
Further, I have discovered the parking which is free for the hotel guests. It is called "parking port saint Marcel". It is the worse that I have ever came accross. First, the ways are extremely tight. Second, there is no security or maintenance done. It is dirty and anyone can come in. For example, there were many empty bottles of wine left in the stairs. In addition, there was a broken car downtairs, with a door wide open that had been left there apparently for weeks. I strongly recommend no one parks down there ! It seems very dangerous and you might damage your car same as I did because of the narrow paths down !
Back about the hotel. The premises around the reception are really welcoming. But then the corridors are terrible ! They look like not having been refurbished for 20 years.
The room 214 is very large and comfortable, it is actually more like an appartment. Sadly, there were spiderwebs left here and there. Furthermore, as there was no air condition, the temperature was too high. We have had to leave the windows open and then it becomes extremely noisy.
To sum up, I have had a very bad night.
It is a pity because the great potential is there. For example, the bathroom is big and there is a very nice Jacuzzi in there.
But my overall experience remains stressful and extremely negative, because of the above. I would not recommend the hotel to anyone, until refurbishment has been done and the parking dramatic issues cleared.

Room Tip: the room 214 is actually a wide appartment offering a great view, but is very noisy when you leave t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel, it is very centric, and with a short nice walk you are in the pretty center of Metz, with good restaurants around. The first time I remebered the hotel as charming and different, now I see it more dark, anyway for me it is still pleasent.They have to improve WIFI-in-rooms, and although the breakfast is OK, the coffee is not good at all.
The hotel is recommendable to those who don't like the style of standard hotels, and prefer a more individual, although not perfect accomodation, the hotel is still a good option in the center.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, early buses on cobblestone street might disturb your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am not sure why this Hotel has any stars or any recommendations at all .I booked on line arrived to a unfriendly service from a young girl who did not want to be bothered we were charged top whack price which I had not booked there was no wi fi so couldn't check restaurants and the breakfast was self service (coffee in flasks !!) for this we paid over 100 euro ..Don't bother with this one in fact Metz was pretty dreadful full stop ! Also noisy !

Room Tip: don't bother !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Address: 1-3 rue du Pont St. Marcel, 57000 Metz, France
Location: France > Lorraine > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.