We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de Metz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de Metz to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de Metz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Des Clercs, 57000 Metz, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Central but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Surprisingly large hotel with maze like corridors. Decent rooms and facilities but decor and appliances dated. It's location and deal with the large parking nearby makes it an affordable one night stop, but no longer than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
23
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The hotel is very well located in the centre of Metz and the staff are friendly. Otherwise the hotel is clean, well maintained but a little dated. The breakfast was a standard buffet affair with a decent range of options. My room faced onto a courtyard at the back which meant it was quiet.

There is nothing inherently wrong with the hotel and it is a pleasant space to stay but these days you can get a little more for your money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

If you want to experience the heart of Metz, this is it! We've stayed here twice, mostly because there is secure parking in the hotel and you can walk out to the cathedral and restaurants. The rooms are fine - furniture standard, bathrooms small but adequate but the noise from the street stops around midnight and starts again at 6 am so not good for light sleepers unless you ask for a room at the back. Also, getting to it is a bit hairy as you drive right down the pedestrian area and a good satnav is recommended to get round the narrow streets. Breakfast is, however, good with lots of variety and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked this hotel after travelling widely in Germany, Austria and Italy, choosing to drive home from Italy via Metz. Every hotel and restaurant we had visited during our holiday welcomed my request for gluten-free options for my wife who has coeliac disease. Only the Grand Hotel de Metz refused. I was met with a blank "Non!" - despite speaking fluent French and explaining our needs well in advance of our stay. "Non!" they did not have gluten-free foods. "Non!" they could not get anything in time for our visit. "Non!" they could not recommend a restaurant with a gluten free option. The stairs were grubby and the wi-fi internet promised by reception did not reach our room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

3rd visit and still as comfy and welcoming. Motorcycles parked securely right next to the entrance for a modest cost. Newly updated room with large bathroom and seperate toilet. Balcony overlooks the busy pedestrian street below. Well spoken English on reception (my French is not so good!) Thankyou for making our stay so comfortable.
4 Men on Bikes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

This is a great hotel for a stop over back from Austria. We stayed here last year and didn't hesitate to return this year. You can drive through the pedestrian area to the hotel where the friendly English speaking staff will park your car for you. Shops, bars and restaurants are all on your doorstep. Should we be driving home again next year, we will be back.

Room Tip: Family rooms are nice and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I arranged reservation at this hotel for a crew team customers of mine.We sent hotel authorization to charge stay to my visa credit card.For some reason it failed and instead of calling me to solve this trouble, they tell my customers that if they want the rooms they have to pay by themselves.Captain calls me to inform me about this, I resend hotel new visa card details by email again.Now receptionist does not want email but fax.We call him to ask if everything is correct and to complain about situation and his answer TO ME AND TO MY CUSTOMERS has been ( fuc…you off, and if you do not like it get take your customers out of the hotel and look for another one..).
We receive a new call from captain informing that receptionist now wants my visa pin code.I call again to he hotel to give it to him, but he makes me send it by fax.
I arrange thousands of reservations over the world every year and believe me I have never met such a receptionist like this.He does not deserve being at this position and of course I do recommend people to not to stay at this hotel NEVER.It is the fourth email I sent him and my crew is still waiting at the reception for more than 90 min.If I send them to another hotel he will charge me 100% of stay….!!!! INCREDIBLE!!!!.
He is maybe the hotel owner or his son so he has the "power" of answering such kind of things…IT IS A SHAME…and if he is not, hotel manager would better fire him.We will see of thanks to him I loose a customer.NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER stay at this hotel.See how they take care of people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de Metz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Metz

Address: 3 Rue Des Clercs, 57000 Metz, France
Location: France > Lorraine > Moselle > Metz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Metz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Metz 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de Metz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de Metz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.