We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atmosfera al giusto prezzo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Guise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Guise to your Saves list
Hotel de Guise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 rue de Guise, 54000 Nancy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Nancy
Novate Milanese, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“atmosfera al giusto prezzo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel, first in a renovated room (n. 6) in the courtyard then in an "old" one (101) on the first floor: this one was very large, with wooden floor, sofa and fireplace, extremely well furnished. Both rooms had all the comforts: the shower in the renovated room was fantastic. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. It costed about 40% less of the nearby 4 stars hotels and there were no reasons for such a big difference. The only thing that could be improved was the breakfast, it could be a little more generous (not buffet). The hotel is just a few steps from the main square, in the Old City district, a quiet and nice area. No long term parking there, you must go to a nearby square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    88
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
66
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel, located on a charming lane, is well placed, close to the old city, Stanislaus Square, and a couple of interesting museums. A drawback is the lack of an elevator, making it somewhat difficult for my wife who had hurt her hip, and while our third floor room was small, it was reasonably appointed and quite clean. The staff was excellent, as there was always someone available. Further, no matter who was on duty, they were all friendly and helpful, providing ice cubes for my wife's sore hip and excellent restaurant recommendations. Overall, the hotel was a good value, and it contributed to our pleasant 2 day stay in Nancy.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the less expensive ones, and the size was not a problem for us. If stairs are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virton, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel de Guise as part of group visiting Nancy for the weekend. From the outside the hotel does no justice to the interior: it's in a narrow one way street with a very simple sign over the entrance door. If it were not for the sign you could easily pass by thinking it were a private house. The entrance hall and reception are typical of the old house, dark wood and quiet efficiency -- nothing to prepare us for the rooms which are simple, modern, a little bit edgy in grey tones. We were on the ground floor overlooking the internal courtyard in a double room (room 8). The bed was simple but very comfortable with nice crisp bed linen. Both the shower and toilet were large enough and equipped for wheelchair access.

Perhaps the only downsides were the lack of curtains or blinds for privacy (or maybe we just didn't work out where they were hidden! -- although there were veils) and a relative lack of soundproofing (it's an old house with a wooden floor and there was a child running around in the room above us, fortunately only in the morning after we were already out of bed!).

The staff were competent, friendly and multi-lingual.

In all, a very enjoyable short stay at a hotel where we would happily return for a longer stay if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you like to stay in modern hotels where every switch is in the same position all over the world, this is not the hotel to stay. If you would like to experience a house which seems to be older than many countries. Hotel de Guise is made for you. Do not worry, everything works. If i would have met a medieval tradesman, a rokkoko Lady and her chevalier lover, i would not have been surprised. The one compromise to accept: French breakfast instead of European breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel de Guise and would go back there again and again if we could. The staff was warm and welcoming, helpful with advice about Nancy. Our room was comfortable with few frills and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and we enjoyed meeting other guests both in the dining room as well as in the lovely courtyard. The hotel is in the heart of the old city where parking places are difficult to find, but we parked in a nearby underground lot and simply left the car there for two days. Nancy is a jewel of a city, and we walked throughout its neighborhoods, parks and plazas without any need of a car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I'm finding it hard to word what I think. An average hotel but well placed and good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were four adults traveling together. My mother-in-law has some difficulties walking, so I had requested a first floor room. Unfortunately I forgot that first floor over there typically means a flight of stairs, as the reception was on the ground floor and there are no rooms on the ground floor. The room was clean but very small for four adults with the two double beds, but we only stayed one night. It was after 6pm when we arrived and it was raining, so we did not walk far, only to find the restaurant the receptionist recommended did not have any English menus and nobody spoke much English, so we ended up catching a bakery just before they closed and had a light supper of quiche.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Guise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Guise

Address: 18 rue de Guise, 54000 Nancy, France
Location: France > Lorraine > Meurthe-et-Moselle > Nancy
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Nancy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Guise 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Guise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Guise Hotel
De Guise Nancy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Guise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.