We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location Ever for seeing the best of Limoges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de Paris to your Saves list
Hotel de Paris
5 Cours Vergniaud, 87000 Limoges, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best location Ever for seeing the best of Limoges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My 88 year old mother (who is quite spry) and I stayed for two nights in this wonderful redone "maison de ville" which looks to be a renovated stately home just across from the Place Julliet which is a wonderfully landscaped park just up hill from the dome of the very scenic train station. We were there just about the end of June and the rhododendrons near the train station (which are enormous) were in full bloom. It was a wonderful location in the heart of the interesting part of Limoges and close to all of the porcelain factories (you MUST see and have a tour of the ancient kiln at the Royal Limoges factory), the porcelain and enamel museums, and the wonderful museum to the French resistance in WWII. The scenic really old part of town with ancient buildings is close enough to walk. If you have a car, parking is SUPER convenient and just across the street and free until about 9 in the AM after about 6 PM at night. The people running the hotel were so extremely helpful, especially in recommending great restaurants where you can get local LImosine beef dishes as well as other specialties of the region. Our room was great! It had a big fancy fire place and wonderful moulding and plasterwork on the ceiling. A GREAT and big, modern bathroom made our stay there really nice. I would definitely recommend this to all going to Limoges. The Limosine area has a lot of interesting sites close by. You could easily stay there three nights and still not see all of the major sites within 25 miles of Limoges. Wonderful people, great place, super comfy beds. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    81
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
81
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'm assuming it was the owner who had serviced us during our stay - everything from check-in to preparing our French breakfast; he was a very friendly gentleman and made us feel very at home! He was quite helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do in Limoges, and you could just tell he sincerely enjoyed interacting with his customers. Breakfast was 7 Euros per person but was decent and included a full basket of fresh French breads, apple sauce/yogurt, juice and tea/coffee.

The hotel is definitely older, although very well-kept. I wasn't aware of its age and I tend to get paranoid about older buildings (about them being haunted, of course), so I spent most of the night only half-asleep. (The bed was very comfortable, don't get me wrong!) Luckily, nothing out of the norm happened that night.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, which was quite the hike, especially with luggage. However, the owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A lovely place to stay in Limoges, parking right out in front, hotel faces a park and the Victorian rail station. Stephanie was most helpful going over the map and recommending a dinner spot and places to see. Loved the spiral stairs! (well perhaps except for schlepping our bags up them!) Surprisingly large room and bath. We highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great place to stay. Convenient to the train station and a very charming, traditional hotel, as noted by others. Room was clean, spacious and with a view towards Benedictins. Stephanie on the front desk was wonderfully helpful and patient, and was kind to offer us an upgraded room with the nice view. The climb up the stairs was a bit of hard work with our heavy bags but the hotel is gracious, well heated and it was worth the effort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this excellent traditional hotel in the heart of Limoges over three nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, the rooms are large, warm and friendly and exceptionally clean and the continental breakfast more than sufficient. The owner, Thierry has excellent knowledge of the area and more than once gave us excellent directions to various venues. If you are travelling by car, directly across the road from the hotel is a massive public car park. We will definitely return to this fine and friendly hotel

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ensure you book a lower floor room - there are no lifts - but is does h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights and had a room which looked straight down to the peerless Benedictins railway station which Wikipedia describes, with much justification, as the most beautiful station in Europe.

The hotel was spotlessly clean, and Thierry and his staff were endlessly helpful. The breakfast was perfect. But what we liked most of all was the interior of the hotel, its magnificent staircase, the gigantic gilt-framed mirrors, the effortlessly elegant French furniture.

It's the perfect hotel for seeing Limoges - which, by the way has some cracking restaurants: Chez Alphonse is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An excelent hotel run and owned bt Thierry, a charming man full of advice and graces. Continental breakfast is more than enough, tea & coffee fresh brewed. The hotel does not have a lift and there are 25 stairs to an ornate winding staircase, not for the faint hearted if your on the third floor as we were, so if your older than me get a lower floor booked. 40+ rooms and all were booked solid for the 4 days we were there. Rooms are comfortable and en suite. Another few euros gets you a bigger room which is well worth it. Free parking all day directly across from the front of Hotel in the giant car park. Easy access to fine restauants some 300 metres away with easy walking to admire the old town which can be quite busy at times. The Hotel will issue you with Business cards of the fine restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Lower floors front of hotel have a balcony, minimal Road noise and view of Cathedral across car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris

Address: 5 Cours Vergniaud, 87000 Limoges, France
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.