We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Avenue Baudin, 87000 Limoges, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Limoges
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient for city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location: As others have said, not exact centre of city but close enough for a short 5-10 minutes walk to the main market, shops, restaurant etc
Garage: Book ahead, worth having a space allocated as this saved hunting around for 'on street' parking. Be ready to manouevre backwards round tight corners
Room: We had Deluxe room - modern, smallish but adequate with wonderful 'surround' shower. Tea/coffee /kettle, free bottled water provided. Large enough safe for laptop.
Breakfast: Continental, though sausage/bacon and 'scrambled egg' available - sufficient
Staff: Always smiling and helpful
Internet: need username/password from reception - one per each laptop, valid 24 hours, so need renewing. Worked fine.
TV : One English channel. Beware 'liberal' French programme late at night if children around

Room Tip: Deluxe room with surround shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
56
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stayed here in Sep 2012, it was not our first choice as we had stayed at the Mercure before, however it was easy enough to walk in to town. The hotel lobby was pleasant and looked as though it had been updated, as were the main floor corridors. Our room was a little on the small side and the bathroom particularly was a little worn and needed a make over. Maybe the hotel has been part renovated and part not? The staff were helpful and gave us help with directions to local restaurants. The hotel breakfast room had a bright, modern feel to it, (lime green) and offered some good breakfast selections. Overall not a bad hotel for the money but if given the choice i think the Mercure slightly has the edge on cost and locality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ustaritz
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this centerally situated hotel in October 2012 and were very comfortable. The lady at reception was extremely helpful and the bedroom a good size, comfortable, and soundproof.

Unfortunately, the free wifi was limited but more importantly, reception on Canal 2 sports was so poor that I could not watch the most exciting day of Ryder Cup golf - my wife was more than happy as, therefore, we could go out for dinner!

We had to go out as, contrary to my understanding of the Best Western chain, this is a bed and breakfast only hotel. We were advised to wak the 3/400 metres to a very good bistro (Bistro de Boucher) which was very enjoyable.

We used the excellent garage facilities and a bargain for 10 euro a night....we will return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I don't have anything really bad to say about the place since it was quite affordable and decently located to walk into town. They had a small garage and allowed pets so that was a nice bonus. As far as the room goes, it was pretty ordinary but the bathroom could use a little love. The trim along the mirror was hanging off the wall as an example. The hotel is also on a pretty busy street so expect some noise if you have a room along the street. The "gym" is pretty anemic so don't expect much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we had just had a problem with one of our motorbikes. The receptionist was very professional and couldn't have been more helpful. She found us a local Honda dealership who could help fix the bike (they were incredibly helpful too!) and recommended a number of local restaurants for us. The hotel itself doesn't look particularly grand at the front but is modern and comfortable with lovely rooms. It doesn't seem to be standard in France for hotels to supply tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms but this one will provide it if requested. I phoned reception and within a couple of minutes a beautiful tray arrived with everything we needed and even some packets of biscuits! Excellent service and would definitely stay again. We were passing through so didn't see much of Limoges but the old town was lovely with great atmosphere in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I am generally not a fan of the Best Western chain however I stayed at hotel Richelieu in Limoges and my opinion has changed somewhat. The hotel was bright and clean the beds were wonderfully comfortable. The staff were really helpful, the rooms bright and clean. The breakfast although not included in the tariff was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Sayed for one night here in July 2012. Hotel staff recommended a really good restaurant for dinner. Parking was in the hotel car park. We had not booked at it is not on the Best Western site but you should ring ahead to book parking. Parking costs extra but worth it for the security. Room was street facing but quiet. Was odd to have to check in to get the car parked but can understand why since places are limited. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu

Address: 40 Avenue Baudin, 87000 Limoges, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Limoges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Limoges
#1 Business Hotel in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former private residence of the 1930's is ideally situated between the two pedestrian historical areas in the town center and entirely renovated. The hotel has 46 rooms and received the European Eco label certification. The label distinguishes services and products that meet high standards of both performance and environnemental quality. We propose a business center with free Wi-Fi access, a bar in the lobby and 24 hour room service, as well as both indoor and outdoor private parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Limoges
Limoges Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;