We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin to your Saves list
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la Republique, 87007 Limoges, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Limoges
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Holiday stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night on route to my cousin's wedding with 16 of my family, all our rooms were clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and water. The hotel staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms were quiet and the bed comfy. Perfect for a short stay. We got down to breakfast about half an hour before it closed, and they weren't restocking anything so some things had run out, that was the only downside, but what was left tasted good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    159
    40
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
175
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for just 2 nights but for what we needed it was perfect, and in a great location. Clean, relatively modern and good facilites (balcony, wi-for, sat tv etc). Breakfast was very good with a variety of hot food, cold cuts, cheeses and pastries. Staff were excellent - we always appreciate English is not the first language but the staff were more than happy to assist us in any way we needed. The only downside is the bathroom which has the shower over the bathtub but no screen so water went absolutely everywhere. I suspect though they are fixing this as our friends room had a screen. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family and had a decent time. Arrival was a little chaotic as only place to pull up is in the turning circle outside the hotel, and I caused a fairly significant obstruction while unloading my bags. No real alternative was available, so don't know what else I could have done. Parking spaces outside are on a meter, with a 2hr max stay, up until 7pm when they become free, until 9am. If you arrive in the evening, or after 5pm, I'd park here rather than going with the reception's recommendation of going to the underground multi storey, which will set you back €10 for the night. The meters cost about €1.30/hr.

Anyway, onto the hotel -- we were in the premium rooms on the top floor. Nice and spacious, with great views over the square. Sound proofing was really good and the shutters were incredible. We slept until 8.30, which is a lifetime PB for our 18 month daughter!! All down to how dark the room was! Nice facilities with Nespresso coffee machines. Only downside was lack of shower screen or curtain in the bathroom. Water everywhere over floor and sink after showering. Can't understand why there isn't one there -- surely easy to install? Breakfast was delightful -- huge selection and very tasty. Enjoyed the pancakes, bacon and maple syrup in particular.

Overall -- a good hotel in an excellent location, with just a few minor improvements needed to make it excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived in 30 degree sunshine to a lovely cool and comfortable spacious room with a balcony
Overlooking the square. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly, there is on street parking in front of he hotel. The restaurant was lovely and the steaks we had were well presented and cooked to perfection. We opted for classic and organic breakfast trays in our room and were not disappointed. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel has no pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de votre avis concernant votre séjour dans notre hôtel.

Mon équipe et moi-même sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations, elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin que la prestation que nous vous apportons réponde aux mieux à vos attentes.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir prochainement dans notre hôtel, nous vous prions de croire, Madame, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

François ROULIERE
Gérant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is right in the city centre and you can walk to most big sight seeing and shopping experiences. Rooms are large, have an attractive ensuite bathroom have a very good view over the big plaza. There are wonderfully effective sound proof windows if the plaza is busy. The individual room air conditioning ensures if your windows are closed you can be cool - or warm as you wish. The bed in our room was extremely comfortable - happiness! A very good hotel for your comfort and for seeing Limoges. If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are more than a few places to eat around the plaza and for breakfast if you go up a side street across the plaza there is a 'Quick' (similar but better than McDonalds) and a Paul's patisserie that does trad French breakfast. Easy to find.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors give the best view of the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Returned to this hotel for the umpteenth time for the quality of the accommodation , friendly staff and its great location
Looking out over the place de la republique the rooms with a balcony are great rooms for people watching and relaxing with a glass or too
All in all this Hotel makes for a good stop over when in Limoges

Room Tip: Front facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and have to say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed at in France. It has obviously been recently refurbished, the staff are friendly and welcoming. Buffet breakfast is as good as you could wish for, no continental style breakfast here!
The location is great on the very busy Place de la Republique, with plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance.
We parked in the free car park at Cours Verngniaud and walked the five minutes round the corner, however there is a car park under the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room overlooking the Place de la Republique which had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin

Address: Place de la Republique, 87007 Limoges, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limoges
#2 Business Hotel in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernity and comfort, two assets which characterize this non-smoking hotel in the contemporary style, where you can rest serenely. Place of exchanges and conviviality find here all the services necessary for a stay adapted to your needs. Its central situation is ideal to take advantage of all the leisure activities and the advantages of the metropolis Limousine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel Limoges
Accor Limoges Royal Limousin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.