We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in lovely Limoges!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin to your Saves list
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la Republique, 87007 Limoges, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Limoges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in lovely Limoges!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for aweekend in October. I am very fussy about my hotels and spend ages analysing everythign to mak esure I chose the best one. I am also a bargain hunter so I am always on the look out for a good deal. I liked th elocation of the hotel, it was great value and it looked nice so I booked it.
Upon arrival as we pulled up in the square and saw the dated exterior above the reception I had that sinking feeling but once inside things improved. First thing i noticed was it smelled lovely, the reception staff were delightful and once we got to out spacious room with huge balcony overlooking the square I was sure I had made a good choice. Yes it is dated or 'tired' but it is scrupulosly clean, the bed is huge and comfy and it felt really nice, a warm homely feel if a little old fashioned in decor. Bearing in mind we were paying 59 euros per night for both of us, it would be churlish and illl mannered to moan about the colour of the paint on the walls.

We slept really well, the location was fantastic, right in the middle of all roads that lead around delightful Limoges, the cathedral, river and beautiful little cobbled streets lined with adorable boutiques and some of the best furniture stores I have ever been in. We walked for miles, it was just a lovely, lovely place!
The hotel even provide a cute day pack rucksack stuffed with goodies, bottled water, treats and croissants! I found it on our bed and was just thrilled, what a lovely little touch! We took it out with us on our walks and still have it now.
Breakfast was AMAZING! ONE OF THE BEST CHOICE BUFFETS i HAVE EVER SEEN, JUST DELICIOUS!
All in all, this hotel is brilliant. Great value and added extras make it a must stay for me. Yes I like my luxury and I love my elegant decor but this little place is just fab and I didn't need anything fancy on thsi occassion to make me happy. STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Most if not all rooms face the sqaure and have a balcony so no need to ask for a special one, thsi p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Concerning the hotel front, this one was recently renovated

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    174
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
190
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed there for three nights in a superior room.
The room had a balcony and was facing one of the city main square but that square is quite ugly so would be you, no need to take the upgrade.
I think the last time they renovated the room was ten or more years ago as the furnitures are very old style.
However the hotel was very clean and the service was good.
There is also a direct access to the underground carpark which is quite nice.
The very negative point: the shower didn't have any shower curtain or door and everyday we got a full water flooding in our bathroom.
But I recommend this hotel if you stay in Limoges.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

The last renovation of the "Superior" room is in 2006 and the next should begin during year 2013.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at his Mercure on a drive to the South of France. Very good hotel with excellent staff. It's in a busy area with no free parking. There is an public car park under the hotel which is well used and very well lit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We were booked into Mercure limoges for four nights, ideally located at the Place De La Republique in the town centre close to some excellent resteraunts. Parking isn't ideal, trying to find a spot outsidere the hotel isn't easy, there is however an underground carpark (with access from the hotel) which is handy although its fairly expensive. The reception staff were pleasant and extremely helpfull. We had booked a superior room with a balcony. The room was spacious And clean, the bathroom was ok , a bit of a mystery as to why there is no shower curtain. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of cereals, etc. All in all a very nice hotel for a short break and I would recommend the Mercure Limoges to anyone travelling to Limoges

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,

François ROULIERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin was a three star hotel, upgraded to four during the summer of 2012, and well deserved.

I stayed there two nights 11 to 13 October 2012, with an organised group, the weather was warm. The hotel has two lifts, my bedroom was on the 4th floor next to the quiet lifts. The room was very large overlooking the street, the windows opened fully, a large double comfortable bed. It contained a desk and chairs, cupboard and hanging space, a flat screen Sharp television fitted to the wall, an air conditioning unit, a fridge with two bottles of complimentary mineral water, which is replaced when used everyday, and a kettle with complimentary teas and coffee.

The bedroom was airy, good lighting throughout, the room was fully carpeted, and no noise whatsoever. There was enough room virtually for a five-a-side football match.

The bathroom had white tiles, plenty of towels, contained a bath-shower and toilet, it resembled a cricket long wicket, you will be bowled over here.

The two dinners and the high quality buffet breakfasts will set you up for the day, it would take time to write everything that was on display, a very large selection. But this Mercure does not have a luncheon or evening meal restaurant, the dinners were taken as part of the group.

There is a bar near the reception area and the staff at the Mercure speak English and were helpful.

The hotel is situated in the town centre, out of the main door, and you are in it. Well known top brand shops, next to the hotel is Galleries Lafayette, a previous well known retailer from the UK. you have restaurants, bars, coffee houses, patisserie, chocolate shops everything is here. Not necessary for the Hotel Mercure to offer lunch and dinners, you can lunch and dine and relax in Limoges.

The popluation of Limoges is approximately 104,000, when I went to the shops, I can speak some French to get by, but got answers back in English. The people are friendly, I would of liked to have spent more time in Limoges at this hotel, and deserves top marks throughout.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, room 401....next to the quiet lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,

François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I found the receptionist to be quite nice and the rooms to be decent. We were only there one night and we arrived late but it was good for what we needed. The room actually had quite a nice view and had a good decor. One weird thing is that the elevator didn't go all the way to the garage so you had to walk up a half floor to get to it. Normally this isn't an issue but with our big heavy bags it was a bit annoying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,
François ROULIERE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although looking very tired on the outside and having a bit of repair inside the hotel is fine. The rooms are spacious and we had one with a balcony overlooking the square which would definitely recommend. Parking was nearby or outside for free after 6pm. I noted some comments about no shower screen and have to agree, the bathroom was flooded after you used it and there was no way of stopping it!

Room Tip: Book one with a balcony overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0505, Gérant at Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in your hotel Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin.

Yours sincerely,

François ROULIERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin

Address: Place de la Republique, 87007 Limoges, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Limousin > Haute-Vienne > Limoges
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Limoges
#2 Business Hotel in Limoges
#4 Best Value Hotel in Limoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernity and comfort, two assets which characterize this non-smoking hotel in the contemporary style, where you can rest serenely. Place of exchanges and conviviality find here all the services necessary for a stay adapted to your needs. Its central situation is ideal to take advantage of all the leisure activities and the advantages of the metropolis Limousine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin Hotel Limoges
Accor Limoges Royal Limousin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Limoges Royal Limousin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.