We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd B&B in Perpignan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau La Tour Apollinaire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau La Tour Apollinaire to your Saves list
Chateau La Tour Apollinaire
15 Rue Guillaume Apollinaire, 66000 Perpignan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Perpignan B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Odd B&B in Perpignan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

The location let's it down. We had one of the 3 bedroom suites, in the end only used 2 bedrooms because of the layout (couldn't leave the kids on the mezzanine). The rooms were beautifully done up, and the living spaces and kitchen were massive. The outside gardens were very nice, and while we did not use the pool, it was a good size and well maintained.

but the location... I have to say that we were not enthralled by Perpignan, or the immediate surrounding area, however, some parts are better than others, and unfortunately La Tour is situated in a less than desirable neighbourhood. This is perhaps a matter of perspective, but the local Carrefour City pretty much served up low cost alcohol to the 10 deep line any time we stopped by. The walk into town was OK by day light, but we would have been scared to do it at night. Overall, if you are traveling with kids, it is best to avoid (all of Perpignan to be honest).

I will add that the service by the lady on reception was fantastic, both during and after our stay with the issue they resolved. Really, location is the only problem.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Whilst the website is clear that you do share kitchen, lounge facilities, it doesn't make clear enough that bedrooms are next to each other and there is no alternative indoor space. However, location is great for Perpignan and the gardens and pool are an oasis.
Others have mentioned charming hosts, they displayed none of this charm on our visit!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I selected the Chateau from the internet and read all reviews, I booked it many months in advance for myself, husband and 2 older children( 14/9). Because of our configuration we had 2 bedrooms, each with their own bathrooms. The bedroom spaces were very large, and airy, with lovely stone floors throughout. Tastefully decorated. My kids were quite amused that they had to share a 4 poster bed- but it was very comfy! The bathrooms were equally fabulous. One had a huge claw foot bathtub, and the boys shared an oversized shower stall, water pressure fantastic in both. Because of our family set up we had exclusive use of the kitchen, (well equipped and suitable for eating in every night if you
should wish to) and sitting room. The huge sitting room, was the highlight for
my boys as it had a full size cinema screen. The owners had an extensive collection of
English speaking videos, which we took advantage of each night.
The owners provide basic teas and coffees, and supplied a mini bar, local wines,really helpful if you had just arrived and couldn't face shopping immediately. The highlight for me was the beautifully landscaped gardens. Lounging poolside amongst the fruit and olive trees was a real delight. We enjoyed this little oasis so much we didn't wish to venture out as we were at the end of a very long trip. It was a great place to recharge. It was a real delight to stay in, very quiet and peaceful.
The Chateau is very well secured and you are short walk from the main areas, theenvironment is urban, a little shabby, but nothing to worry about. Plenty of info is available for things to see and do, should you venture beyond the gardens. You are close to all the main roads in any direction.

Room Tip: we had exclusive access to the kitchen and salon, this is typically shared if you only rent one bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

This is our second visit, having been here 4 years ago. My husband and 11 year old son stayed 5 nights. A lovely wecome by Sylvie ground floor apartment - both rooms - so no sharing was very clean and well maintained. A minor repair in shower was dealt with immediately, why can't departing guests mention these? The gardens were as beautiful and well maintained as ever, as was the pool area. My son appreciated the home cinema systrm in the evenings amd also the wifi ! Easy walk into town for eating , enjoyed watchimg the otters in the shallow river on the way- not a common sight in UK by any means. Bread shop right around corner for fantastic fresh baked bread and pastries. A very relaxing centrally placed place from which to explore.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed at this gorgeous Hotel for 3 days in May with our two kids. It is an oasis in the historic town of Perpignan. The rooms are beautiful, the kitchen well set up. The gardens beautiful. The hosts were wonderful - great advice of what to see in the town. Nothing was too much trouble. An inspiring place for writers and artists. Amazing film library collection which was perfect on the only rainy day we encountered.We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The beautiful Chateau La Tour Apollinaire with lovely grounds is unfortunately situated in a very poor and run down area of Perpignan, something the owners forget to mention when booking. The owner of the Hotel is the most rudest, unpleasant host i have ever come across. On arrival we could not have been made to feel more unwelcome due to fact we had young children with us. The hotel says its family friendly but we were made to feel so unwelcome. The rooms are of a OK standard and expect to share facilities another issue they forget to mention on their website. On positive note there was a young Dutch member of staff who could not have been more helpful, maybe the owner could get some customer service training from her!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennant Creek, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Lovely boutique hotel in a residential area of Perpignan, pool area and surrounding grounds beautiful. Nice quiet relaxing stay. Free parking offered, only negative was we could not access the free WiFi, however we did not ask the staff if it was working so we can't complain too much. We stayed in a ground floor room, was large with an awesome claw foot bath. Chocolates by the bed were a lovely touch.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau La Tour Apollinaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Tour Apollinaire

Address: 15 Rue Guillaume Apollinaire, 66000 Perpignan, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Perpignan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Perpignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury apartments and rooms in exotic gardens with pool. 5 mins from Perpignan centre and airport. Boutique self-catering hotel with breakfast & private dining available on request. Each apt features home cinema, wi-fi and internet access, living room, designer kitchen & dining room. Queen size and 4 poster beds. Corporate enquiries welcome for events and large groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau La Tour Apollinaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Tour Apollinaire Hotel Perpignan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau La Tour Apollinaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.