We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, too many mosquitos but OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse

Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perpignan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse
Allee Marc Pierre, Parc de la Pepiniere, Perpignan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Basic, too many mosquitos but OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the end of summer, so the windows were open at night. I suggest you bring insect repellant if you stay here and also ear plugs, there was quite a bit of noise. The location of the hostel is ok, not too difficult to find if you print the map, and staff was generally friendly. Overall, a no mod-cons place to stay, but a cheap alternative if you are passing through Perpignan and don't demand luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
5
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I notice that the reviews on here for this hostel are not recent. I stayed here less than a year ago. I must tell you first that I am a huge fan of hostelling and have frequented many. This is one of the most unsavoury I have stayed at. I did not like it for the following reasons:

1. The pictures online look nice but the hostel does not look quite like that. The grounds are not well-kept. Inside, it is somewhat dark and damp.
2. The place has a sticky and dirty feel to it. It needs a good clean. It is what I call "surface-cleaned".
3. The rooms are overcrowded - too small for the number of beds that they contain.
4. The breakfast food, although theoretically made up of good items, were not fresh and the dishes and cutlery were not properly washed. They were also not replenished often enough.
5. The locker in my room was broken and the owner didn't care when I asked him about having it fixed; therefore, I was not able to secure my important belongings.
6. The bathrooms are crowded and impractical and need a rehaul.
7. The owner (who works at the front desk) does not provide assistance with general info in the area.
8. The lock-out period is far too long and the closing of the common room is far to early.
9. The owner completely controlled the air conditioning and turned it on when he wanted to, which was very impractical, especially during hot summer months in the south. Was not comfortable at all.

Honestly, I was SO happy to leave this place; I did not like it at all. I felt that the owner/manager had no real interest in the people staying there - only in lining his own pockets.

The only good thing that came out of staying here were the nice people that I met there, who were also disappointed.

The location is not overly convenient, either. It is not far from the train station, but it is a bit of a hike into town.

I do NOT recommend this hostel at all. It was the worst that I stayed at in France, as the country is full of great hostels!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melsk8core, Manager at Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
To avoid any confusion, it's a review of a stay in 2011 . The rates of Hostelling International was 66% of satisfied person...i understand your disappointment.
Now, with the new team, the rates is about 83% ! We do our best to increase the comfort of the oldest hostel in France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

Traditional youth hostel, no frills..older building compared to other newer hostels in city, but well worth it! We arrived at the hostel with no booking and were accommodated straight away, We were also lucky enough to get a double room for the same price as sharing! Room was spacious and had four big lockers, two single beds and a big en suite bathroom, who could complain!? Easy enough to find once you exit the train station, check the map and look for signposts for the auberge. It is located near a lovely park and has the feeling of being in a forest..in a big city! There were three young people running the hostel and they were really very good. They were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was lovely and simple and typically French continental..we met really nice people in the hostel, shared a few card games and thoroughly enjoyed Perpignan, great base city ! Travel 15 minutes by train for less than 5euro return to Collioure... beautiful seaside town...great atmosphere, music and markets! *NOTE: Hostel closes from 11AM - 5PM everyday.. may cause problems for some, but definitely insures security..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Vendrell, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Being in the "Auberge de Jeunesse de Perpignan" for quite a long time taking care of some "affairs" in town I can say now that if you spect too much for 17 euros a night with breakfast included the International Hostel of Perpignan is not the place you should to arrange your traveling time. Better go by the Perpignan Train Station, pay much more and I have a "secure" time there :-) By the way, the Auberge of Jeunesse of Perpignan is by the National Police and the Town Police. The neighbeurs are great police canines that will be delighted if you smoke funny cigarretes on the International Hostel garden.

The "auberge" is known to be the oldest Youth Hostel in France but has suffered recent improvents (the main building). Things to improve: the garden and the kitchen decoration.

It has a very functional kitchen out of the main building as Karen Blixen´s house at the "cartier" the Karens in Nairobi, Kenya. Problems arise when guests have no experience and patience in using a community kitchen.

The staff will allow you almost everything. If reception gives you a call is that you have done something quite unproper for Perpignan´s ethical´s code.

Don´t forget, even that Salvador Dalí said that the Train Station of Perpignan is the Center of the World the same does not apply for the "auberge", yes it is a very International environment but "c´est La France"...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Perpignan is the typical modern-ish city without charm, new building and old buildings (some were beautiful), city center is nice, outside of city center not that nice... Certain areas of town look quite dodgy, so be careful where you end wandering at night. The hostel is right behind the police station but also beside an empty park (some weird looking people around there) and the motorway. The good point is that is two minutes away from the bus station and you can go and visit any small villages for a 1 euro flat fare (coast villages and pirinees villages, beautiful). I recommend you to do that.
The showers are like the ones in an old school gym, with tails broken, air conditioning worked at night that was good, toilets and bedrooms were clean. The hostel is closed between 11 am till 5 pm, so you have to wait till that hours to go in or check in.
Another thing, the hostel has a guest kitchen adjacent to the main building, you can access it with a pin and the whole kitchen cleanliness is responsibility of the users. The reality is that the kitchen is in poor condition and dirty, and the door to it was open all day for anyone to come in, not good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treviso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Youth hostels arent hotels, they're cheap places to sleep, take a shower, have some breakfast and go... and mainly meet travelling people from all the world. And the Perpignan Auberge de Junesse is good for that. Clean sheets, nice and helpful staff, good company. Shower cleaning to improve (water, dirt on the floor but maybe it was some temporary problem ). Good and rich breakfast, maps, infos.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Fine, you want a cheap bed in the city. However, bottom line, it's next to the highway. O.K, ON the highway. The hostel itself is rundown and is not up to par with other French youth hostels. What's with the dodgy hallway up to the room floors that seems not painted correctly? Breakfast is just bread and coffee. Personally, I was very tempted to go to the Ibis, a stones throw away. Friendly, but if I was backpacking in France, I'd head to Collioure or to Barcelona and bypass this one.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse

Address: Allee Marc Pierre, Parc de la Pepiniere, Perpignan, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Perpignan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty lodging in Perpignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Perpignan has friendly staff who will make you feel at home and all the facilities you would expect, including free breakfast, Internet access, well equipped kitchen and a common room to relax in after a day’s sightseeing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Perpignan Auberge de Jeunesse to your Saves list