We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud to your Saves list
Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mas Bon Secours, 66000 Perpignan, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Perpignan
Edinburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Slightly disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Hotel is quite hard to find - especially without a car. Hotel was clean, room was fine, if smallish. I suppose for the budget-conscious this is a perfectly reasonable option. Quite close to main road & traffic is audible. However, slept ok. Not bad for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side opposite the main motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Christophe G, Directeur général at Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud, responded to this review, December 20, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Client

Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de donner votre resenti sur notre établissement.
Nous soulignons,toutefois que les équipements de votre chambre suivent rigoureusement les normes Premiéres Classe et que notre établissement est pourvu d'une literie Haut de gamme neuve et ce pour un prix plus que compétitif. Nous serions heureux de vous recevoir lors d'un prochain séjour dans notre région; Bien cordialement

Jean Christophe G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    56
    39
    23
    13
See reviews for
47
56
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vopnafjordur
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

very small room, wifi wouldnt work. tried my name in several different ways but still couldnt access. The hotel took me an hour to find from the A9. In the end I had to go online to find the way . . . . this was despite careful preparations! Shower is tiny and nowhere to put soap. No duvets! Noone uses sheets and blankets any more! Bed hard and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premiereclasse.com - Louvre Hotels Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel overnight after attending a rugby league match at the Catalan Dragons stadium. Thankfully it was all paid for, because I wouldn't have paid to stay.

Rooms are very small, the bathroom is even smaller. Honestly, shoe boxes are bigger.

Reception isn't 24 hour even though the hotel is 24hr check-in.

You are only given 1 key card between two people which poses a bit of a problem if you accidentally lock yourself out of your room in the middle of the night and the reception is closed. We wouldn't have thought to mention this until it had happened to a couple of friends of ours in the next room who ended up sleeping on the floor in our room until they could get a spare key at 6am.

The double bed isn't a full sized one. To be honest, if it was a normal sized double bed there wouldn't be any room for anything else. It is one sheet, and one blanket. Thankfully it was a warm night so only the sheet was required.

Breakfast is continental and very basic. You can eat as much as you want but it's nothing special.

Although this has nothing to do with the hotel you need to read this part. Taxi's into Perpignan centre are extremely expensive. It costs between 32-35 euros to get into town from this hotel, this is pretty expensive in my eyes because it isn't that far. Unfortunately, it's not near enough to walk unless you know your way around. So it has to be a necessary evil.

If I had to go back I wouldn't be staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benitachell
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We did not pre book but were getting a bit desperate to find a hotel not fully booked up in Perpignan that night. Our room was very run down and the shower area was well worn and in need of a makeover. I have stayed at many Premiere Classe over the years, but this one was expensive 67€, because Friday night is concidered a weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!The rooms need redecorating.
Would not stay here again but go to the B&B of which there are 2 in the area, both fully booked that night, which must tell you something!

Room Tip: Do not stay here at weekends its expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I might be able to post a review if I could only check in... they have automatic reception after 9 in the evening, but as we arrived at 11:30 we couldn't check in because they don't accept cash or debit card, only credit cards. They don't even have a night guard. So we were left in the middle of the night to drive to Spain to the filthiest hotel ever, AND they charged my debit card the next day.
Would it cost you so much to put a cash taking device in that "automatic reception" thing of yours???

Room Tip: Choose another location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Premier Classe Hotels (PCH)

Introduction

I spent six nights in this hotel recently. As it was part of a two-week tour that included three other PCHs as well, I have taken the liberty of providing some general comments about them that I hope will help. Specific comments for this hotel appear at the end of the piece.

General Comments

For the price, I think the PCH are reasonably good value. This was confirmed by the high level of occupancy (mainly by French people) at all four we stayed at. However, you do need to know some important things about them (the hotels, not the French - we don't have enough time to do that!). The first is that their chosen title is aspirational, not actual (much like the oxymorons 'Military Intelligence' or 'Political Elite'). I realise they couldn't call them Troisieme Classe but it would probably be more appropriate.

Firstly they should be called 'Motels', not 'Hotels'. This makes it much easier to understand what to expect. I reckon they are ideal for a one- or two-night cheap stay while passing through a place or staying a weekend. We did both short (1 day) and long (5-6 day) stops. My wife is just about speaking to me again after our five- and six-day stays in Montpellier and Perpignan.

As 'motels' they are mainly situated very close to noisy motorways/main roads. They have to be! If you are of a sensitive nature and easily disturbed by road noise, then either ensure you have comfortable earplugs or try to get a room as far away from the road as possible. The room should also be on the East side of the building so that the afternoon/evening sun doesn't heat up your room too much. Also be aware that while some PCHs have airconditioning, this is either 'hot' or 'cold', not both. Thus in our stay at Perpignan, where it is now considered 'winter' (daytime temperatures about 28 degrees C!) the aircon was set to only warm up the room, not cool it. If you are too hot in the night (as we were) you have to leave the small single window open which then adds to the intensity of the road noise.

Being close to main roads also means not being close (usually) to many restaurants or shops. Assuming you are in a car (don't even think of trying this by public transport!) you should be able to find something decent. The large French supermarkets like Carrefour, LeClerc, Geant and Auchan or often within a short driving distance and all seem to have very good and cost effective restaurants attached.

Talking of noise, the people that populate PCHs (particularly over weekends) can be very boisterous. There are signs all over the place asking them to keep quiet after 22:00 but these are generally ignored. It seems to be a foreign concept to them, much similar to the attitudes on French and Italian roads where the principle of 'keeping a safe following distance' doesn't work either.

The rooms are very small. I paced out the standard size at about 5m by 2.5m. This is bad enough but then they put a prefabricated shower/toilet/sink room in the one corner. The concept is similar to Ibis (which you may have seen in the UK) where they are dropped in as the building goes up. It works fine for size in the Ibis, but unfortunately not so well in PCH which could perhaps be called 'Ibis Lite'. The size of the main room is about two thirds of an Ibis: the ablutions are more 'campervan' size plus about 20%: OK for short stays but gets very wearing after a few days. On the positive side at least the price per night is about half the Ibis.

There also seem to be two classes of PCH in terms of furniture. 'Class A' (eg Montpellier Sud and Orleans Sud) have shelves for your clothes and a proper hanging space. There are also two electric plugs available, one of them at the desk by the window. 'Class B' have no shelves or hanging space. There is a bent pipe near the window with four hangers on it. Luckily there is a gap under the beds where you can store your suitcase with your clothes in. There is only one plug in a ridiculous place next to the washroom light switch.

Longer Stays - Survival Kit

If you think you are a hardier soul than me and decide to ignore my recommendation to avoid stays longer than two days then I have some survival suggestions for you:

1. If there is more than one of you, take an extra hand towel. PCH only supply two bath-size towels per room.

2. If there is more than one of you, take an extra pillow - they only provide one per person.

3. There is no tea making facility so take a travel kettle with you if you don't like machine-made beverages from the machine in the reception. We bought a Philips one for £15 from Robert Dyas. You can buy ingredients at the local supermarkets.

4. If you don't want to pay four quid each for breakfast, then take your own bowls and cutlery for cereal etc or buy in the supermarket.

5. There is no fridge so no way to store any breakfast ingredients.

6. If you want to book through a travel website like Expedia, only do so for a couple of nights so you can see what PCH is like. If you want to move because you don't like it, you lose 100% of what you've paid in advance. Much better to book directly with the hotel once you decide you actually want to complete the rest of your intended stay.

7. There are no lounges apart from the breakfast room which isn't always open, so you can get cabin fever. There also aren't usually many nice places to walk around so you'll need to get out in your car (or ensure you get back late in the evening from your trips!).

8. Take an adjustable sink plug with you - even the replacements PCH might provide for the missing ones are usually the wrong size.

Notes for business travellers

While my trip was personal, I do travel quite a lot for business and so have a few suggestions:

1. If you are being paid a per diem rate for T & E and want to save money, then PCH would be OK for a few days. However, if you intend to work in your room don't be attracted by the Free WiFi offered. There is just no room to move and in a Class B
you'd have no power close. Or a decent light.

2. If your boss insists you stay in a PCH with no additional compensation then resign immediately and look for another job.

PCH Perpignan Sud - Specific comments:

1. We stayed here six nights.

2. 'Class B' - see notes above.

3. In a very noisy area with only one Buffalo Bill restaurant closeby (don't go there) and nowhere to walk to really. We ended up mainly going to the 'Flunch' restaurant in the Auchun supermarket about a half a kilometre away for supper which was very good and low cost. We also got our breakfast supplies from Auchun.

4. The main N900 road is very close and so you should try to get a room as far South and East in the building as you can. Our first night there was a nightmare as we were on the West side and the aircon was set to hot. Christophe the manager was very good and moved us to near the South East corner the next day which was a lot less noisier.

5. The airconditioning was set to 'hot' so our first night was totally unbearable as the afternoon sun had baked the room nicely. I ended up at 05:00 asking whether we could get a credit on the remaining five days but was told there is a 100% penalty for Expedia bookings. Hence the compromise move to room 39 that at least was a bit quieter and cooler as it was on the East side. It had three beds in it and so I was able to use the extra pillow and the upper bed for storing clothes.

6. The beach is further away than I thought it would be - say half an hour to St Cyprien Plage.

7. Perpignan is a bit depressing but at least you're only about 20 mins away.

8. The area is superb and raised our spirits. Obviously the Pyrenees are great but there also some gems like Aigues Mortes and Sommieres plus Figueres (for Salvador Dali museum) in Spain.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVEIRO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

I've stayed here for 3 nights, visiting the country as well as friends.This hotel has everything one needs to stay some nights. It is clean, above all. The room I had was enough for me, my wife and my son. It is a good place to rest , and the price is very, very, interesting. Very good value for money

  • Liked — Cleanliness and price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud

Address: Mas Bon Secours, 66000 Perpignan, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Perpignan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Perpignan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Classe Hotel Perpignan
Perpignan Premiere Classe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Premiere Classe Perpignan Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.