We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua to your Saves list
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
28 Rue de l' Aude, 11100 Narbonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Narbonne
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We booked this hotel on one of the hotel comparison web sites only the evening before our stay and so wasn't sure quite what to expect. When we arrived we were a little uneasy as the hotel was hidden from the road and looked more like an office block than a 4 star hotel. All I can say is don't be put off by first appearances! Once inside this place is a lovely surprise....from the very friendly, helpful staff to the large, spotlessly clean luxury room with private balcony and Jacuzzi bath.

The setting of the hotel is romantic and peaceful alongside a canal with weir/lock gates. There is a Brasserie attached where you can enjoy lovely food whilst listening to the sound of the water bubbling away in the weir alongside.

This hotel is a real hidden gem and the town of Narbonne (just 15 minutes walk along the canal) is a bustling place full of charming shops and many cafes and ice cream parlours along the way. Everything seems relaxed and easy going - I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    47
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
106
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our room was so clean and comfortable, with a great bed and, although a little quirky, a great jacuzzi bath near the huge patio doors that opened out to a spacious and private balcony.
All the staff we spoke to were warm, friendly and so helpful. The location is perfect and interesting, being adjacent to a lock gate, a small park and just a short, safe walk into the city.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our 2014 car trip, having put the cars on the Autotrain at Paris and got on the 16.07 we arrived in Narbonne as planned at 20.45. Hotel reception closes at 21.00, but we got a call from reception asking if we were on time and if not where the keys would be. As we were only 10 mins away they stayed on reception for us, very welcome reception. As it was late we did not venture into the old town, but stayed at the hotel and ate at the restaurant - we weren't disappointed. Superb food and service, would be a great place fro lunch too, adjacent to the canal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. The room was large with attractive wooden blinds, luxurious jacuzzi and spacious balcony. There is a small pretty garden and enjoyable canal side location. It is about ten minutes walk along the canal to the centre of this pleasant French town. We arrived here after a week on the canal du midi and were made very welcome by the friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Modern, well appointed, setting was lovely. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable and give us directions. Breakfast was very nice, room lovely with Jacuzzi!

As an aside, guests need to recall that French can only work six hours a day so it may well be closed for a time during the day--as is everything else!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Arrived on a Sunday during a Bank Holiday w/e and we were not allowed inside the hotel when we arrived at 2 pm after a 6 hour drive! They made us wait for an hour in the car park and explained there were staff unavailable to get our room ready. Yet, hotel seemed empty, so surely anothyer room would have been ready. Not good enough for a 4 star hotel.
Potentially a beautiful hotel, but feels unfinished.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and beautiful. It had a modern and easy to use jacuzzi in it which you could sit in and look out over the Narbonne night sky. The balcony did not get too much use because of the weather but it was large and very private.

We dined at the restaurant twice because as Vegetarians, we found it very difficult to eat anything other than pizza in the South of France. Both nights the chef cooked us something unique and interesting off the menu at no extra cost. A credit to the chef to cook something so nice with no notice!

The grounds are also lovely to stroll around if you are lucky enough to have some sun. There is a nice stroll along the canal to the centre of town, we preferred walking home after dinner and it felt very safe but it would only be a very short taxi journey.

Would definitely go back to this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua

Address: 28 Rue de l' Aude, 11100 Narbonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Narbonne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Narbonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.