We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy woman on reception let the side down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye de Fontfroide

Abbaye de Fontfroide
Chemin de Fontfroide | RD 613, 11100 Narbonne, France
+33 4 68 45 11 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Narbonne
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Wineries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open all year long. Visits, Restaurant, Wines, Concerts...
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Cornwall
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Grumpy woman on reception let the side down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had it not been for the grumpy woman who sold us our tickets, I would undoubtedly have graded this attraction "excellent". She was still off hand when I came back later to ask about an exhibition. Everywhere else we encountered first class service.

I was particularly impressed by the tour of the abbey where our knowledgeable and amusing guide opened our eyes to the history of the place and what it took to be a monk here over succeeding centuries. Through periods of austerity and greed: of wealth and abandonment the abbey survived to be rescued in the nick of time 100 years ago by the family that still owns it today.

There is a surprisingly good restaurant with friendly and attentive staff and overall I thought the place represented good value for money. You pay a supplement to enter the terraced garden through a turnstile and while this gives fine views of the abbey, the content hardly justifies the price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    135
    33
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Site and Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This former Cistercian abbey is set in the country among vineyards. The buildings are complete, partly because they were restored in the early 20th century. Nonetheless, one can see on the tour how the buildings developed along with the changes in life in this abbey. The guided tour is about one and a half hours and is very good. It is true that the English language audio gizmo that came with the price of admission wasn't terrific, but it was adequate. The guide spoke slowly and very clearly and I, whose grasp of French is far from fluent, understood most of what she said. Our guide was superbly well-informed and clearly loved her subject matter. Don't miss Fontfroide!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the top Abbey/Chateau's in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This Abby is great. Very well preserved. Intersting history from its orgin through the second wave of expansion. The wine is good and so is the beer. Enjoy tastings or the cafe and restaurant either before or after your tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“La Table de Fontfroide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited October 2nd and despite the fact of a bus tour seated, we were seated quickly and our order taken. The food was very good and the Muscat Fontfroide excellent. We understand French so a French only guided tour not a problem. Our guide had a wealth of background information, spoke slowly, and gave lots of time to look about and ask questions. It's not really a site for children who are not old enough to be interested in architecture or history.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Setting, Little else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The only way to see the abbey is with a guide. On the day we went there was a very verbose one and my French could not cope as was true of 60-70% if the group. The audioguide was only fair. Avoid the restaurant as they cannot cope and the food is poor with slow service,

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye de Fontfroide also viewed

 
Duilhac-sous-Peyrepertuse, Aude
 

Been to Abbaye de Fontfroide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye de Fontfroide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.