We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, mediocre food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant L'Estagnol

Restaurant L'Estagnol
12 Avenue Narbonne, 11430 Narbonne, France
0468490127
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 153 Restaurants in Narbonne
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good service, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The two good parts of our dinner were the soup (gazpacho) and the wine (Minervois). My main course, steak, was made of pretty bad meat and was rather tasteless. My wife made a better choice with fish but not that much better. Overall we were not impressed, and the menu choices as far as main courses were pretty limited.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    51
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraza
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A great place with great food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The restaurant, in the middle of town next to the market hall, is very nicely, modern laid out. One can eat inside or out. The service is quick, efficient and friendly and the food is excellent and very reasonably priced. The moules ravigote are worth a visit alone! I wish every city had a restaurant like this one.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant service for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just back from Languedoc having taken my wiffe & two under threes for their first slice of French life. Weather (great), culture (fascinating), food (excellent) & service (desultory!) all largely to be expected. L'Estagnol was the notable exception where the waiters were superbly quick, friendly & responsive to the needs of small children & harassed parents. if you have kids (and even if you don't as the food is great) this should be your number one eating choice in and around Narbonne. Excellent!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice view. Food....meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Recommended by the hotel. Decent reviews here. Nicel ringside seat for people watching on this summer, which is the night that Narbonne has a big music festival. The music is mediocre, but the passing crowd was entertaining.

Nice host, friendly waiters. Disappointing food. We've spent a week in southern France with my wife's relatives, and on our own for the past 4 days while cycling the Canal du Midi. Have had a variety of dining experiences. This restaurant is no match for even the simplest countryside eatery. Nothing bad, just nothing to remember.

So, go here for a sidewalk cafe experience, but don't expect any gastronomic thrills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A place you don't want to leave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went there on a weekday in January. While most of Narbonne restaurants were close to empty, L'Estagnol was almost fully booked. Most if not all locals, always a good sign. There was only one waiter, which makes that the service, although friendly, was slow (borderline acceptable). We took set menu's, instead of eating a la carte. Oysters were fresh and very tasty, the seiches (cuttlefish) very tender. To top it up, we took profiteroles....delicious. The red house wine is very good and cheap. L'Estagnol is one of these places that people do not want to leave afer dinner because the mood and atmosphere is so good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Estagnol also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant L'Estagnol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant L'Estagnol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.