We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service for all the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant L'Estagnol

Restaurant L'Estagnol
12 Avenue Narbonne, 11430 Narbonne, France
0468490127
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 148 restaurants in Narbonne
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sevenoaks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant service for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just back from Languedoc having taken my wiffe & two under threes for their first slice of French life. Weather (great), culture (fascinating), food (excellent) & service (desultory!) all largely to be expected. L'Estagnol was the notable exception where the waiters were superbly quick, friendly & responsive to the needs of small children & harassed parents. if you have kids (and even if you don't as the food is great) this should be your number one eating choice in and around Narbonne. Excellent!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    13
    47
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice view. Food....meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Recommended by the hotel. Decent reviews here. Nicel ringside seat for people watching on this summer, which is the night that Narbonne has a big music festival. The music is mediocre, but the passing crowd was entertaining.

Nice host, friendly waiters. Disappointing food. We've spent a week in southern France with my wife's relatives, and on our own for the past 4 days while cycling the Canal du Midi. Have had a variety of dining experiences. This restaurant is no match for even the simplest countryside eatery. Nothing bad, just nothing to remember.

So, go here for a sidewalk cafe experience, but don't expect any gastronomic thrills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A place you don't want to leave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went there on a weekday in January. While most of Narbonne restaurants were close to empty, L'Estagnol was almost fully booked. Most if not all locals, always a good sign. There was only one waiter, which makes that the service, although friendly, was slow (borderline acceptable). We took set menu's, instead of eating a la carte. Oysters were fresh and very tasty, the seiches (cuttlefish) very tender. To top it up, we took profiteroles....delicious. The red house wine is very good and cheap. L'Estagnol is one of these places that people do not want to leave afer dinner because the mood and atmosphere is so good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Super restaurant, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

When I visit this part of France I always make a point of visiting this restaurant. The food is very good... Never had a bad meal. It doesn't try to do anything too complicated, just good French cooking at a reasonable price. The service is good, the waiters always try to make you feel welcome, which cant always be said for all French restaurants, and will help you out if you get stuck. whether in the middle of summer, when you can sit outside, or in the colder months inside, the views over the square and the canal Du Midi, add to the ambiance and help make this little bit of France a must visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunel
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great food short of staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

we went for lunch and as it was a Monday when many restaurants are closed it was very busy

the menu was fine but the time between courses and the temperature of the food as time went on left a lot to be desired

the young man was completly out of his depth with the large number of tables he had to look after and kept forgetting to bring things including the water

wehen we went past on the tuesday there was plenty of room
its a great shame as the food when correctly served was very nice and tasty

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant L'Estagnol also viewed

Narbonne, Aude
Narbonne, Aude
 

Been to Restaurant L'Estagnol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant L'Estagnol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.