We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acanthe du Temple Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acanthe du Temple Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acanthe du Temple Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Charles Babut | Place du Château, 30000 Nimes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Nimes
Munich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

This hotel was absolutely worth the €50 we paid. The lady at the reception was very friendly even though she couldn't really speak English; she let us look at the 3 rooms that were free before we selected one of them. The rooms were basic but they were clean and the service was really wonderful.
I would recommend this hotel highly -- it's not a five star luxury residence, but for a budget hotel it was wonderfully clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
57
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

If you are planning for your trip to south France as we did last summer, Nimes is considered a good place to stay for a night.

We flew from London to Nimes by Ryanair. Good time of landing around 2pm, then transferred to the hotel. Quite hard to find innitially but eventually we did. (so dont worry if you could find or someone can't help, the hotel might be less a minute away as Nimes is such a small place)

Hotel is clean, air-con'ed which is quite helpful in summer. Owner of the hotel very friendly. Local attractions are highly recommended to see, including day trip to Pont du Gard. Food is nice at local restaurant, so are the wines (but forgot its name)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Most of the good things said about this hotel by other reviewers could be said of many other family run, two star, hotels in France. There is one factor which puts its popularity beyond reach for all those other hotels. Eric, the proprietor and manager, is the most charming, helpful and welcoming hotelier I have met anywhere. He makes up for any minor shortcomings there might be.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This is a typical French city centre hotel, from the minute we walked through the door we were welcomed. Situated in the old town and only 10 minutes gentle walk from the railway station .

We had 2 rooms on the 1st floor, both had large comfy double beds and basic furniture. The bathrooms look newly renovated and were excellent.

The TV's were basic and could have done with upgrading.

For the price the rooms could not be faulted.

The only meal served was breakfast, at 7 euro's seemed expensive at first, but turned out to be a good quality and adequate.

The star of the hotel has to be the owner Eric, who spoke good English, and was very friendly.

Well done Eric we will return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleurance, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

nice show (birdy namnam...) and pleasant hospitality

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Hi,

I stayed in this hotel for a few days whilst waiting for my furniture to be delivered for my vacation apartment. I selected this because it was at number 1 in TA and i've tried many of the small hotels in the centre, and wanted to compare to the best in the area.

In general, most of the reviews here are spot on...Great location, spotlessly clean, fantastic service, particularly from the owner Eric, who speaks great English.

On the down side, some critiques have hinted at the odd mix of era's from oldey worldey French bedrooms to seventees bathrooms etc. This is in fact true, but in my mind does not detract from it's overall french feel. In fact it demonstrates it to good effect. This is not a mock up, but simply a family run hotel that is well maintained, and things only get replaced when it needs it. The blue seventees bathroom may look dated but it is in great condition so why change to newer, or even older to fit in with the times.

My one genuine critique is probably a factor of this "replace only when needed" approach, and is exacerbated by my love of television...only the standard channels where available through a very old small (14") portable tv (and crt at that). There are probably about 8 poorly received channels, and that will probably be that until it breaks and the owner has no option but to buy some flat screens with ability to reveive the FTA digital channels. This is a minor gripe from a person who loves relaxing in front of the box and getting my news fix from BBC world service.

For business travellers, This is probably as good as it get in centre of Nimes wrt "Digs". If you are on expenses and want a corporate type hotel in centre of nimes, go for Novotel, and if you want the same and want to cut costs, go to ville active.

Overall, a nice little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Very good typical older style French family run hotel. Good room and friendly very helpful service. Very clean. My french almost non-existent but all staff and owners really helpful and understanding. Good location in city. Excellent value. Would stay again. Visited in mid-September 2009. Recommend Nimes as a good city visit plus pleasant surrounding countryside and places to visit. Good train and bus services. Also easy to get to coast. Ryanair fly in locally with good airport bus link. No need to hire a car.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acanthe du Temple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanthe du Temple Hotel

Address: 1 rue Charles Babut | Place du Château, 30000 Nimes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nimes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Acanthe du Temple Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run hotel, in the city center of Nîmes (the french Roma). Come on discover our old town, walk in the streets, walk through the time. You could sleep in the city heart, and dream... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Acanthe du Temple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanthe Du Temple nîmes
Hotel Acanthe Du Temple

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acanthe du Temple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.