We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pre Galoffre

Save Saved
You added Le Pre Galoffre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Pre Galoffre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Generac, 30900 Nimes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Nimes
geneva
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed one night during a road trip across France. We choose it because of the reviews and it is true that is a very nice hotel. The price range is within the Ibis etc, but the experience is way more comfortable. The building is beautiful, the place is very quiet (very far from the city as well, but close to the highway). The room was spacious and the bed, big. The bathroom was also big, with a bathtub. The breakfast, very good.
Some not so great features were that the installations are a bit old -particularly noticeable the bathroom-, and that the heating was very noisy during the night.
We also had some confusion with the breakfast, we asked and understood it was included in the price, but it wasn't (it costs 10 euro/person); the staff was very kind and helpful in properly addressing that issue.
Finally, this hotel has probably the best wifi coverage I have ever experienced in a hotel so far, so if internet is your priority, go for it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    78
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
32
83
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you have a car then the fact that the hotel is a 10-15 minute drive from the centre of Nimes is not a problem. In fact the location in the countryside on the outskirts of the busy town centre is a bonus - including free parking! The hotel is owned and run by a French family and they are much in evidence. We stayed for 3 nights in early October and the wife was doing all the cooking. She used local produce to prepare regional and national dishes each day. We ate our breakfast & dinner al fresco next to the swimming pool. The hotel itself has limited public areas but there is another property (best described as an auberge) next door where there is a bar, tennis courts and another larger pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. Nimes itself is delightful and a great place to be based for visiting places such as Pont du Gard, Avignon, Arles, Montpellier and Narbonne. If you don't mind a 2 hour drive then don't miss the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Carcassonne. It's a magnificent medieval walled city with a great array of shops and restaurants. We loved our stay at the hote Le Pre Galoffrel - it was such a welcome change from what one experiences at a standard hotel chain property. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is a great little hotel located about five minutes outside of Nimes away from the traffic and the noise. Very clean and spacious rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful and provided some of the best tips we have had in out whole trip through France on local things to see and do. Very nice

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room With an outdoor table and chairs on a little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in 6 different hotels and apartments on our summer road trip and I'm afraid this was by far the worst. The hotel is blessed with a beautiful entrance facade, seen in the photograph and I'm sure this is winning them much business. In reality the entrance is by far the most glamourous part of the hotel, and the rooms are what you would expect from a dated motel. The bath plug didn't fit and the shower was broken and just dribbled. This made washing our 18month old very difficult. This hotel was also the only place we had trouble fitting out travel cot - we had to move furniture to squeeze it beside the bed. Having never been to Nimes before we had no idea how isolated we were going to be, the location is nowhere near the town and it was a considered drive - no wine for me at dinner :(

Having said the above, it wasn't all bad. The pool was pretty and the breakfast good. The freshly queezed orange juice was a dream in the morning, however I was more than pleased to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

This hotel as stated previously is not in the centre of Nimes so a car is needed. This for us was not a problem and much preferred. Nimes is small so the location allowed us to explore elsewhere. Staff was very pleasant and helpful, even organising a canoe trip to pont du gard for us. Dinner was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This stylish small hotel should have been perfect for a leisurely overnight stop near Nimes. Set back from the road, blended in with some older buildings, and surrounded by fields, it is relaxed and promises to be quiet. Rooms are modern and reasonably sized, with adequate space for stowing and hanging clothes (although there is only one stand for a suitcase, there is lots of floor space for a second, out of the way under a desk). The pool (unheated!) is shaded by trees, and the deck is pleasant and relaxing. Dinner was served outside, by the pool, and was very enjoyable. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is served in the same location, and was also very good. Unfortunately, a couple of issues marred our stay. There was some kind of youth event taking place about one km away, and they played really loud music from 1:30 to 5:30 am on the night we were there. The highly amplified bass, which was clearly audible in spite of the distance from the event, woke us up and continued to disturb our sleep. We were told by the hotel that this had been going on for 3 weeks, and they didn’t seem to be able to do anything about it. I would suggest checking on the status of this before booking. Also, not all rooms are the same. Some ground floor rooms have very nice outdoor patios. Ours didn’t, but it did have a (locked) connecting door to the room next door, which was not very sound proof. We were disturbed by guests in this room arriving in the early morning. Checking to see what kind of room you will get would be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently when visiting Nimes as part of a driving
holiday throughout Europe. The reason we chose this hotel was that parking was
available and it wasn't too far out of town. We had some difficulty finding the hotel
as our Sat Nav was unable to locate it along a very long and often broken road. Talk with the hotel and find their co-ordinates or ask for a location nearby. Once we did this we
found it easily.
The hotel was in an old world setting - though modern with air conditioning, fridge and
a great restaurant which unfortunately is now shut as the French tourist season finished at the beginning of September.
The staff were very helpful and we were very pleased to have been out of the busy and "touristy" part of Nimes. From here we were able to travel to Arles and down the coast without travelling for too long. The Pont Du Gard is not far away.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone with a car visiting Nimes and who wants to be away from the crowds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Pre Galoffre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pre Galoffre

Address: Route de Generac, 30900 Nimes, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Nimes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nimes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Pre Galoffre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Pré Galoffre is a beautiful and peaceful typical "Mas Provençal" from the 19th century. We are welcoming you "like home" in an authentic site situated between "La Camargue","La Provence" and "La Garrigue". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Le Pre Galoffre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pre Galoffre Hotel
Le Pre Galoffre nîmes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pre Galoffre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.