We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best Dining in Nimes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aux Plaisirs des Halles

Aux Plaisirs des Halles
4 rue Littre, Nimes, France
04.66.36.01.02
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 382 Restaurants in Nimes
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our best Dining in Nimes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My constant companion and I went to Aux Plaisir des Halles one rainy day. We ate in the courtyard, protected my the clever canvas awnings over the dining area. We both had the pate entree, followed by Magret de Canard. The food was perfectly prepared as well as attractively presented. Service was very good. The restaurant is very attractive. The pichet of rose was not good. In fact the worst we had on our trip We both would recommend this restaurant as an excellent place to enjoy fine dining (but order a bottle of wine from the wine carte).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    15
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Potteries
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A popular restaurant, with fresh, good quality food and reasonably priced wine. The meat (we had beef and pork dishes) was perfectly cooked, and there was plenty of it. The service is efficient and the courtyard setting is atmospheric.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, full of locals, business lunch style. Veggie friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We went for lunch on a Saturday and this place was very busy however had the feel of a business lunch restaurant. The staff were direct and quick so if you dither with your French I can imagine they would be a bit sharp, however if you tell them what you want clearly and quickly they're fine.
They were more than happy to adapt their very meat orientated menu for my vegetarian requirements so no complaints there.
We got the impression that they have their regulars and give them preference but still a good value, well prepared and good quality lunch.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

A lunch in this crowded popular establishment was a mixed experience. It began with an unexpected pleasure ----- an amuse bouche of seafood bisque with a quenelle of foie gras, a really creative and novel dish. For 28 Euros, my wife had a starter of warm tartare of ox-tail, a Brandade de Morue billed as one of the house specials, and a marvellous hot rum souffle. For 48 Euros I began with a platter of excellent riz-de-veau and rather poor pigeon thighs with a complicated but tasty concasse of cepes and walnuts; a main course of indifferent roasted turbot spoiled by layers of ham and 3 langoustines in the shell that were impossible to open and contained very little in any case, accompanied by a decent risotto; and a superb chocolate dessert --- a large cup fashioned of chocolate sponge filled with chocolate mousse, carmel. and almond paste. Service was slick, home-made breads excellent, and a complimentary gateaux was offered with the very good coffee. Very convenient location and worth its bibendum classification, but stick with the lower priced menus of which there are several on offer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutch senior couple
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A superb price/quality ratio.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

No disappointments here! We ate during the week of the "feria" a delicious lunch menu on the terrace. We were enthusiastic about the starter with the farcie stuffed zucchini flowers and the really cared milo - milo of fish as a main course. All was part of a menu with a superb price/quality ratio. Also there was a wide selection of wines in the "middle"segment. If one can serve this during the chaos of the "feria week" , this is our class.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Plaisirs des Halles also viewed

 

Been to Aux Plaisirs des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aux Plaisirs des Halles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.