We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grillardin

Le Grillardin
3, Place de la Chappelle Neuve, Montpellier, France (Ursulines)
+33 4 67 66 24 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 889 Restaurants in Montpellier
Price range: $38 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ursulines
Description: Situes sur une tres belle place arbores, vous pourrez passer un agreable moment pour le repas du midi ou du soir, avec une cuisine de qualites bases sur une selection de produits frais et fait maison.Qualites sud de France et Maitre Restaurateur sont des atouts de plus pour vous faire aimer ce restaurant ainsi qu'un large choix de vins de la region et aussi du reste de la France
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant for many years now and have always found it excellent. On our latest visit my wife and I shared a 1KG rib of beef cooked over the fire followed by a 'to die for ' molleux aux chocolate made using Valrhona chocolate. This is a restaurant where paying a few extra euros is well rewarded.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    99
    24
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
“First really good Restaurant in Montpellier....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Most of the restaurants in Montpellier seem to define their quality by the price they put to their dishes and than neither the food nor the people bringing the food seem to be even close to that price level....! Totally different at the Le Grillardin...! The little restaurant surprised us not only with a very nice down to earth french menu and a very nice presentation but also with a very charming and very professional service and a great variation of wines....! Tried serveral "prime" restaurants in Montpellier but non got even close to the "Le Grillardin" so far and at the end it was by far NOT the most expensive one....!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth A Second Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Eating here came a suggestion after we arrived late one Sunday night in Montpellier. It was early, before 8 pm, so we were able to get a table upstairs and enjoy the view of patrons coming a going. The staff was welcoming and very helpful through out the meal with suggestions and recommendations.

I had a beautiful dish of pollack and vegetables, "cut in an ancient way" together with a Mediterranean salad. My colleague had foie gras and a rolled guinea fowl breast. The wine selection, a local vintage, was a perfect complement to the meal.

We enjoyed it so much we came again another night, which was equally delightful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Surprise in MOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I accompanied my wife on a business trip to MOP (as it is called in her company's jargon). My job was to find a place for a relaxing dinner - and I really succeded with Le Grillardin! Excellent food and service, and if your French has gotten rusty over the years - like mine - don't worry: the waitress speaks better English that I do.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allerød
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We wnjoyed our evening at Le Grillardin. We chose the menu dégustation with wines. Everything was perfect, the choice of wine was good. Staff very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grillardin also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Le Grillardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grillardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.