We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kalliste

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kalliste to your Saves list
Hotel Kalliste
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 rue Boussairolles, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
newcastle, england
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place, would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Stayed here August '08, really nice place, yes its basic but what more do you expect from a 2 star. The owner was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Great location 30 seconds walk from la place de comedie and 5 mins walk from train station.

would definitley stay here again

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
2
17
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

My first thought was "this is very European" (read: Spartan, small, no frills). The bathroom smelled strong of mildew, but when I mentioned it they sprayed for the odor. The carpet might not have been updated in a number of years. So it was Spartan, but it was more because of the staff and I warmed up to the Hotel Kalliste after a couple of days. The owner and the other desk people were very kind and helpful. When my bag did not arrive, they called Air France and checked on it for me. They don't speak a lot of English, but between my little bit of French we managed. There is an excellent Vietnamese restaurant next door called Tonkin, which I highly recommend. You cannot beat the location of the Hotel Kalliste, which is close to the Place de la Comedie and public transportation. I can recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mildew in the bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

I agree with the previous review, the room was an eccentric layout but that added to the charm, was very clean and quiet, best thing was the location. It is value for money in an expensive city, but if the threw breakfast in as well would go up a notch, IMHO.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast thrown in would have been great, but not complaining!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Our room was oddly-shaped (!) but was clean and had all the necessaries including AC. Well-located - not far from the main rail station and within seconds of the Place de la Comedie. Ideal for anyone who just needs something clean, safe and cheap. There was a noisy bar next door to the hotel but somehow it did not disturb us. Might be a problem if your room overlooked the front however.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kalliste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalliste

Address: 14 rue Boussairolles, 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kalliste 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Kalliste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalliste Hotel Montpellier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kalliste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.