We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and cheap hotel with good transport links” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols

Save Saved
You added Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols to your Saves list
Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Carnon Parc des Expos, 34470 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 83 hotels in Montpellier
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent and cheap hotel with good transport links”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and had chosen the hotel partly based on price (one of the cheapest in the area) and because I was attending a wedding in Perols itself.

Situated in the ParcExpo area north of Perols, the hotel is in the middle of a commercial zone, neither in Perols nor Montpellier. However, with the recently-opened Line 3 of the TAM tramway passing right in front of the hotel it is easy and fairly quick (about 20 minutes) to get into Montpellier and the train station. Montpellier Airport itself is located about five minutes away too.

The hotel is decent enough for the price and two-star rating. The room was a decent size and was clean, as was the bathroom (although there were a few ants scampering around), the staff were friendly and efficient and the air-con was quiet and effective. There was also French-only TV channels. The soundproofing isn't great and I could hear quite a lot of activity in other rooms at all hours of the night which was a bit disruptive.

There are a couple of restaurants right next to the hotel, including a KFC and two stops up the tramline there is a massive Carrefour Planete store with every conceivable food under the sun and various other things. It is located within the Grand Sud shopping mall that has a variety of other shops.

The reception is staffed 24-hours a day, so you can come and go as you please and drinks from the bar are available round the clock too. No room safes that I saw and you have to ask for an iron and ironing board from reception.

Generally a decent-enough place for a short stay, particularly if you're looking for somewhere near the airport, Perols/Lattes, or just somewhere out of the city itself but within easy reach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
6
20
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

There wasn't anything particularly bad about this place (other than the shower head having no wall fitting) but there was also nothing good about it. It is located next to a KFC, halfway between the city and the coast, meaning that it is kind of in the middle of nowhere. My window view was of a muddy patch with some knocked over garbage bins. I asked the receptionist for a restaurant recommendation (I had a car), which he couldn't give, instead directing me to a suburb to which he couldn't give me an indication of the distance. And in hindsight I should have just eaten at the KFC.

The room was clean. The place felt very desolate though - my room was down a long dark corridor and I barely crossed paths with anyone else while I was there. I've been staying at numerous other similarly priced places over the last week and everywhere else has been much better. Doesn't deserve it's 18/84 ranking for hotels in Montpellier.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Everything was good. For that price it was simple and very satisfying.
Service pleasant, reception very helpful. Close to Montpellier, disco, beach, 20m from tramway station.
Air condition in every room.
Room was clean every day.
Unlimited Wi fi.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel because the Aeroport Hotel was full. I had to work at the airport so I chose to stay as close as possible.
Here are my comments:

1/ Hotel is clean but looks a bit run down
2/Staff are efficient and speak English
3/ Superior Rooms are fine
4/Bathroom and shower are clean and work well
5/ Please note that the Airport is NOT within a walking distance and there is NO SHUTTLE to or from the airport
6/ If you need to be near the airport choose Aeroport Hotel.
7/ the hotel has no restaurant (pizza place and KFC next door)
8/Parking is in front of Hotel
9/ no Gym no Pool (unlike the Aeroport Hotel)
Overall my stay was good.

Room Tip: Choose a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Service, breakfast, cleanliness and helpfulness of staff all top notch. Well done. Tram line number 3 is still having a few teething problems and maybe not as regular into town as one would hope, but it really is only a 2 minute walk to tram station!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Situated at major road junction alongside a small pizzeria, a KFC and a boulangerie (ideal for breakfast). It isn't pretty on the outside and the interior is showing signs of wear and tear. Part of a 'basic' chain, much better than a Travelodge but still basic.

For:
Only 2 miles to airport -great for early flights
Tramway system to Montpellier right outside

Against:
Dining options limited to those previously mentioned and supermarket cafeteria across the road.

Tips:
1. Eat before you arrive
2. Eat breakfast next door 'French' style - standing up for speed (seats available outside)
3. Pre booked deals are good value €46 for superior(?) room

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - didn't hear the trams or the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011 via mobile

Was disappointed with the distance of the hotel from the city centre, but to be fair I suppose this was in part our own fault for not doing our homework. There is a good bus link, but only till about 8pm.... Don't rely on the reception to give you the correct bus info tho, I think it very much depended who the staff member was, we were told the last bus was at 8pm, it was actually at about 7.50 so we missed it, whilst sitting outside the hotel another bus passed at about 8.20, which had we have known we could have caught.

As far as the actual hotel and it's facilities are concerned.... There was a foul smell as soon as you enter the reception, like a filthy mop had been used to clean, shame as I think the hotel was actually quite clean.

The room itself was fine, in fact the bed was very comfortable and the bedinen was crisp and clean (this was a superior room). We never tried the breakfast as there was a lovely patisserie next door.

The other issue we had with the location was the rip off taxis - the one from the airport was a set charge €15, a bit much really considering the proximity to the airport. The hotel booked us a taxi to go to the city at about 8.30pm, we were told this would be €25, alot but we wanted to go out, the driver wanted €35 on arrival.

I have to admit that we should have researched some of things better before going, it's not good to get ripped off and poorly informed on the 1st day of your holiday. If your not concerned about central location, this is not a bad place for a brief stopover, it just didn't really suit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols

Address: Route de Carnon Parc des Expos, 34470 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 83 hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols Hotel Montpellier
Balladins Montpellier
Montpellier Balladins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balladins Superior Montpellier - Perols, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.