We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park area with animals in a "natural environment" - and free!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret

Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret
50 Avenue Agropolis, 34090 Montpellier, France
04 99 61 45 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 Attractions in Montpellier
Attraction details
Parma, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful park area with animals in a "natural environment" - and free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed walking through the woodsy zoo and seeing the animals. The Amazonian Serre is really well done (but not free!) and worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    179
    49
    28
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fun....for free!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Montpellier Zoo is well worth a visit no matter how long you have to spend in the city. We were there for 2 and a half days and decided to start one with a visit to the zoo. We got there as it opened (10am) which I would recommend as it meant we were virtually the only people there! The lions and the bears were my favourites, as were the wolves. All the animals seem very well cared for which is always the first thing to look for. The only trouble was it was quite hard to navigate, maybe it's my dodgy sense of direction but we had the sense of wandering around in circles a few times! The Amazon Rainforest is a must; costs €3 for students but well worth it; great animals and an exhibition at the end that was very educational. We managed to do the whole zoo and rainforest part in about 2.5 hours so there's no worry of it taking up the whole day, give it a go!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon stroll...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The outdoor zoo is free and very big, so wear good walking shoes and bring water. There are hills and it honestly feels more like a park at times because of the distance between animals. The inside Amazon Greenhouse was awesome and worth the coupe euro. If you don't speak French take the audio guide, it's very interesting and interactive. You can customize what you want to learn more about. There is a bus that drops you off at the zoo you can take rig from the tram. Take the blue tram to St Eloi and take the Navette.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average Zoo, good place for running.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I thik that the ZOo of Montpellier needs more work and maintenance. It is sad to see some animals and how they are in small spaces for people to see. Rinos for example are in a really limited space but people cannot complain that they cannot see them. I think that if you live in Montpellier it is a nice place to run, as well as the park that it is in front. On the other hand, la foret amazonienne it is really nice and cool to see, but it costs 5 euros entrance.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A different type of zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The zoological garden of Montpellier consists of two different parts: The zoo itself (Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret) which is free and the Amazonas house (La serre amazonienne) where you have to pay an entrace fee (6€ for adults, which I think is fair). They can be reached easily by bus (Line "La Navette" from Saint-Eloi).

The Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret is embedded into the typical vegetation of southern France. Most of the compounds and cages are surrounded by hedges and can only be viewed from one or two points. You sometimes have to walk greater distances from one of the (mostly huge) compounds to another. Good shoes would be reasonable. There are drinking water fountains in the zoo.
The zoo shows a great collection of animals that are either endangered or rarely shown in other zoos. Some highlights are the fossa, the arabian oryx, the lesser kudu, the bharal and eight different species of lemurs. The focus lies on ungulates.
Since there are neither playgrounds nor kiosks or souvenir shops (except at the entrance) and the zoo doesn't keep many of the "classical" zoo animals like elefants, great apes, penguins or seals, children may be disappointed.
Unfortunately, photographing is difficult because the animals are often far away or behind bars.

La serre amazonienne is a rather new building that shows animals and plants in an "artifiacial jungle". It keeps monkeys, piranhas, tarantulas, caimans, turtles and other animals of the amazonian jungle. Some of the highlights that you won't find in many other zoos are the paca, the night monkey and the Coendou porcupine.
In my opinion the whole composition of the architecture and the vegetation of the house is really well-considered. Unfortunately only the animal's names are in English the rest of the signs is just in French.

If you go to zoos just because of your children, I would recommend to visit only La serre amazonienne. But if you are interested in animals and probably have already visited many other zoos, you will find a very special zoo with animals you don't find everywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc Zoologique Henri de Lunaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.