We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awful use of it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Cafe Riche Montpellier

Grand Cafe Riche Montpellier
8 Place Comedie | 3400, 34000 Montpellier, France
+(33)4 67 54 71 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #671 of 895 Restaurants in Montpellier
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Awful use of it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My Fiancé and I came here to have a bite to eat. First thing i noticed was that both the glasses and the cutlery were dirty. Then after the Waiter finally came we ordered a Salad which came after 30 minutes accompanied by stale bread. We stayed very friendly but the waiter didn't even give us a single friendly smile. There are two sections, one for those who just come for a drink and one for those who want to eat. The eating section usually is rather empty.
Anyway, if you sit down at a table for four in this empty section you will still be told to move to a table for two which is ridiculous and just very bad service. Go to the Welcomedia Restaurant by the Opera instead. The Location is the same and there at least the food will be worth your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    31
    25
    19
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location but food expensive and poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Ate a lunch here, it was convenient given it's central location. I had some tapas, my husband had a chicken toasted sandwich. Expensive, no taste and not worth it. So disappointing. Waiter was nice but does not make up for food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good option at Comédie Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at this place. We were in a hurry and we weren't expecting too much.

Service was fast and efficient. Food was descent. I had a sea fruits pasta, quite good. Starter was calamaris' rings. Coffee came fast with the bill.

I'd recommend this place if you are around and if you do not want to spend lots of time and money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service is slow, food quality is reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

i went to this place for lunch, once, and breakfast another day. For lunch, you can find the standard fare here, albeit slightly higher prices, which I suppose is due to its excellent location of facing the Place de la Comedia, just infront of the Three Graces. Service however, is excruciatingly slow, and the servers can sometimes be a tad rude when you try to get their attention.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Survives due to its location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Arriving in town, tired after a long drive and desperate for lunch, we committed the cardinal sin - plonk for lunch at somewhere convenient on the main square: a tourist trap. And the food and service were both sub-mediocre. The place clearly survives on the passing custom of people who are impulse buyers, because, with any research, you would surely avoid this place like the plague - there are many infinitely preferable places and squares in the city. It's fine for a drink, and great for people watching; but the food is out of a cheap packet, and the service desultory. Don't fall into the trap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Riche Montpellier also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Grand Cafe Riche Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Cafe Riche Montpellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.