We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Rue Maguelone, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed here the previous year and we were not disappointed! We were staying in the City for just a couple of nights before travelling down the coast to our final holiday destination, we arrived on the TGV service from Paris and found the hotel easily within a few minutes walk from the station. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, and this impressive service continued throughout our stay. The family room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is well positioned for access to the centre of the city, the main square and the shopping areas. We utilise the restaurant, but the free WiFi was a welcome bonus. We would definitely use this hotel again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone else who is visiting Montpellier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    83
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
23
84
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed for the weekend at this hotel whilst visiting this lively city. All the reception staff were extremely helpful and were multilingual. I was given a map of the city when I arrived and they pointed out the key locations. They also helped me with directions to local laundry facilities and were clearly very knowledgeable about the city.

The hotel was very new, clean, spacious and everything worked well. The WiFi connection was very fast and reliable.

The location of the hotel is perfect, especially if travelling by train. It is a couple of minutes up the street from the train station and it is a couple of minutes in the other direction to the Place de la Comédie which is the main square and meeting place of Montpellier. The building is well built so although the hotel is very close to the centre, I didn't find that there was any problem with noise. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Montpellier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here after arriving late on Friday night at Montpellier airport. I booked in advance via the Internet and paid 82 Euros for a double room for the night, which wasn't bad for the location. We parked our hire car in the Polygone car park, so we had a bit of a trek to get to the hotel, wheeling our bags noisily through the deserted side streets. However, that was our fault as we could have parked much closer if we had been happy to pay higher charges. The night receptionist was friendly and welcoming. Our room turned out to be very comfortable - a nice bed with a mattress that enabled us to get a good night's sleep. The en-suite toilet was separate from the bathroom, which was useful. The shower was good - high enough for tall people, powerful and with a detachable head. This is not a luxury hotel and, as others have mentioned, the decor and furnishings are a little old-fashioned. There were no armchairs or fridge in our room, and the TV did not have English-language channels, so it probably would not be suitable for a longer stay, but taking price and location into consideration it was ideal for a one-night stopover. In the morning we found the Place De La Comedie was a stone's throw away, and we enjoyed coffee and croissants at a pavement cafe there before finally checking out of the hotel. All in all a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Very nice small hotel in downtown, close to both the railway station and the city center. You will like the closeness to all the city offers: opera and convention center (Corum), art gallery, churches, shopping mall, comedy theaher, plenty of restaurants.
.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

First of all, I'd like to say that the receptionist was outstanding, her name was Linda and she went way over and above to help me out with finding medical assistance for my daughter's friend travelling with us. She had no time to spare, and still phoned quite a few places trying to set us up with a doctor's office that could see us in such short notice. She was definitely an angel and her attitude changed my mind about the traditional French attitude.
The location was great. Rooms were very comfortable and newly renovated for such old building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel looked good & read well on the net.
Yes it was extremely handy to the SNCF rail station & main tram lines.
Also it was comfortable walking to the main square, cafes, restaurants & shops.
The room was clean & slightly dated. Time for new bedspreads.
The major downside was no air-conditioning which was well noted on the website.
We should have suspected it was not working as there was a desk fan in our room that only pushed the hot air around.
Finally at 3am we managed to open a very sticky, jammed window which offered little relief to the 35C weather.
Management should have advised us of this matter upon arrival & at least given a discount on the room.
Would I stay again. More likely not.

Room Tip: Request a quiet inside room rather than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We arrived by train and walked to the hotel it was a circa 7 minute walk for us with luggage. The receptionist and staff were friendly. The hotel clean and well maintained. The main square of the old town is a 5 minute walk with cafes and restaurants and lively atmosphere at your doorstep. We were generally delighted with the place.

It is difficult to find fault with this hotel. However, some minor criticisms are: there was no shower curtain and the toilet got flooded when showering. Also, the air conditioning is very noisy but this didn't prevent us from having good nights sleep. Given the peak season it was reasonably priced at £100 a night with morning tea included. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 8 Rue Maguelone, 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars hotel, right in the historical city center walking area of Montpellier. Next to the train station, Comedie Square, Corum conference center. Ideal to discover the city or for business trip. Tram lines connections at two minutes. Car park parking Comedie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Montpellier

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.