We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear .. Typical French hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Montpellier Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Montpellier Centre to your Saves list
Mercure Montpellier Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 rue de la Spirale, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Sotogrande, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Oh dear .. Typical French hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the most difficult hotel to find. Parking was traumatic to say the least. With a problem (emergency ) had to leave early they kept the whole fee for the booking - no compassion at all.

The room, however, was shabby and stank of dirty carpet.

Mercure is off my list od budget travel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    155
    109
    50
    27
See reviews for
31
156
49
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is very nice, staff very friendly, no complains for cleanliness, rooms are big and the bathroom is very spacious but the garage is terrible - very narrow passages, if some cars are parked not line by line, you might scratch yours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good points - large room, clean and bright bathroom, good breakfast, helpful staff, central location.
Bad points - The walkway to the town centre is dark and dangerous we never used it at night preferring to take the longer route around the back of the hotel. Mercure need to get brighter lighting installed by the city. There was no safe in the room as advertised. The TV had a strange way of getting extra channels such as BBC World which did not work. There were no additional pillows in the wardrobe. The restaurant was closed at weekends. The glasses were made of thin plastic, the cups cardboard and the spoons wooden sticks. Only one tiny milk pot is provided per night per person. This is meant to be a four star hotel so we were disappointed. We stayed at a UK Mercure in June where there were propper glasses and china cups, is Mercure cutting back in France?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great deal hotel for Montpellier, its perfect location 2 min walking distance from the city center makes it very convenient for accessing the historical parts of the city and public transport.. In addition Hotel is clean and well equipped. Rooms are a bit small (standard), but have all what's needed. Just tried the restaurant for breakfast, and it was fairly decent. Free wirless internet.. Really liked it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I booked this hotel with full payment of room settled through internet except breakfast.
I did take breakfast in this hotel. So when I checked out, I told the dame that I need to pay the fees of 3 breakfast. First, the dame told me that I did not pay for the taxes de sejour and requested me to pay 6 euro more. But I did pay it when I booked the room. So I told her that I paid already. Then she looked at the computer and told me that the taxes de sejour was settled but the amount increased from 1 August that I need to pay an addition of 1.6 euro. As the amount was small, I paid for it. Actually, I had stayed in 3 other Mercure hotels in France in August. None of the other hotels asked me for that.
Certainly I will not come back to this Mercure Hotel and also will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have stayed previously at this hotel which is well appointed for access to Place Comedie, the tram stop at Antigone, and the airport shuttle bus at Place de l'Europe. The staff were very polite and helpful with any number of things, such as use of the Internet, a safe deposit box, and advice on how to get to various places. The rooms are a good size, comfortable, and air-conditioned. They were also cleaned to a very good standard. We would have no hesitation in staying there again at the right price and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Montpellier Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Montpellier Centre

Address: 6 rue de la Spirale, 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Montpellier Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the historic heart and commercial centre of Montpellier and close to Le Corum events centre, this hotel is oriented towards culture and the arts. Authentic regional cuisine at La Cercle brasserie. Modular function rooms. Undercover pay parking. Restaurant facilities available on the weekend on request. South facing terrace cooled by an artificial misting system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Montpellier Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Montpellier Centre Hotel Montpellier
Accor Montpellier Centre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Montpellier Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.