We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larger than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Fabre

Musee Fabre
13 rue Montpellieret, 34000 Montpellier, France (Comédie)
04 67 14 83 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 34 Attractions in Montpellier
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Larger than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visted the museum on a rainy afternoon. It is much larger than I expected and has a fine collection of art. You can purchase a ticket, leave for lunch, and return using the same ticket. The information cards (French & English) in each gallery are worth reading. The museum was the highlight of my trip to Montpellier.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    152
    38
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“for the Soulage lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you like Pierre Soulage work of art, do not miss the Musee Fabre which displays numbers of his paintings from all his various periods.
Some other quite interesting local painters are on display

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must-see for art-lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Musée Fabre was wonderful. I wouldn't consider myself to be too much of an art-lover, but I'm mildly interested by it and wound up spending about four hours in the museum. Even though we bought a cheap ticket that only allowed us to see the permanent collection, there were several floors of art from several art periods and countries, including Flemish landscape paintings, Mannerist art, Classical and Neo-classical art, Impressionist paintings, and much more.

I would definitely recommend setting aside a few hours at least if you're planning on visiting, or else you'll be scrambling to see everything. I believe students enrolled in universities in Montpellier get free admission, and other students get a reduced tarif of 4€.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“19th c. French art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a very nice museum. The collection is not that large, but because it is focused, it is enjoyable. Most of the paintings are pre-Impressionist 19th c. French art. I learned a lot from the information cards, available in almost every room in French and English. There is also some modern art, which was stimulating and new. Most of the painters displayed had connections to Montpellier. Best of all, admission was free on Sunday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Some great art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a must for art lovers. The museum is well designed and by the standards of provincial cities contains a rich array of artworks - from the Renaissance to the contemporary period. As one who loves impressionist art I was taken by the works of Jean Millet and Eugene Delacroix. The collection of Dutch masters is also very impressive. In addition to the permanent exhibits there are usually temporary collections.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Fabre also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Musee Fabre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee Fabre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.