We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base in Montpellier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Place Georges Freche (Rue du Chelia), 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“great base in Montpellier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the Courtyard whilst exploring Montpellier and the region. It is on the edge of the city and is a great base for touring with easy access to the A9. The distance from the centre of town is no problem as it is situated right by Montpelliers's excellent tram network - 10 minutes to the Gare St Roche or the Come die.
Rooms clean (all have balconies) and spacious, staff very attentive and restaurant good if unspectacular.
Car park is difficult to access as you need a ticket from reception and the very small short term parking outside seems to be permanently full. The area is newly developed so you need an up to date satnav!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    86
    28
    15
    5
See reviews for
29
90
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estepona Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived at this hotel after spending over an hour in Montpellier rush hour traffic trying to locate it as it was NOT on the GPS and signage was MINIMAL. When we mentioned this to the receptionist, she explained that the hotel was only a year old so they had not yet been placed on the GPS. She said most clients call first for directions. Really? After having stayed at Marriott hotels in the US, my expectations were high and were dashed. My husband is disabled and we requested and received a disabIed access room. Throughout the hotel and in the room at every threshold is a metal strip, a barrier to hand operated wheelchairs and rolling walkers. My husband fell trying to get over the barrier into the bathroom. The dense carpet in the room also made wheeling difficult. The one plus was the wheelchair shower which was quite nice. I went to the spa to schedule appointments and the attendant apologized that there were 7 or 8 steps at the entrance so my husband could not utilize that facility. Additionally, while a minimalist decor is a matter of taste, I had difficulty understanding how any decorator would choose the painting or print that faced the bed. It was of about 7 barracuda in profile, eyeing a rather startled salmon. How could anyone find this aggressive painting appropriate for a bedroom? This hotel is clearly not for us. We enjoyed the spa across the plaza and also enjoyed the wedding procession into and out of the town hall, but we did not enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was quite a challenge to find this hotel. That's because it is situated sideways on a square and there was one small sign (only) on the street indicating it's presence. Once there, we were delighted at the spaciousness and decor of the rooms and lobby. The buffet breakfast was great.
We enjoyed our stay here. Very peaceful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stay for one night in late June. The hotel is in a location full of space. The hotel entrance is facing a big open areas with shops on the 'opposite. We have dinner at the restaurant and the food was above average as well as the breakfast.
Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here in May for 2 nights. Lovely modern rooms with big balcony that just overlooks the square so not great view but quiet. Used the pool one day as it was too windy at the nearby beach and it was nice and sheltered. Tram just across the road so everywhere accessible and you can walk to the bus stop to get the airport shuttle. Lovely cafe in the square where we had breakfast for 6 euro so didn't use the hotel restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenstone, Staffordshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Don't be put off with the seemingly out of town location as there is a tramway stop opposite the hotel, with trams running every 5 mins to the town centre in just 10 mins or do as we did and take the walk way along the river when your journey will be 25 mins, taking in the sights as you go.
It is a beautiful city, mixing modern architecture with old. The Courtyard is new and very modern with its contemporary design, just 2 floors high so that it does not detract from the iconic new Hotel,de Ville. It has an outdoor swimming pool,smart restaurant and Market Deli. Staff speak English and are friendly. Rooms have everything you need including mini fridge, tea and coffee, huge walk-in showers. A great place to stay and the nearest beaches are just 11k away by tram and bus which meets it to transport you to the sea. Much joined up transport links, whichncould show the UK how to do it and at ridiculously cheap fares.

Room Tip: Overlooking Pool or Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed on the 21st june. New hotel in the town which is a little outside of the city center, but very easy to find and with 2 tram lines within 1 minute walk, incredibly practical. (4 stops to the main square). Hotel car park or town hall car park are at the same place, so better off in the second as cheaper. Very warm welcome and quick check-in. Room very modern with espresso machine, flat screen tv, Italian shower with all the necessary products. Bathrobes and slippers. There is an outdoor pool and a fitness room too. Our room had a large balcony with table and 2 loungers overlooking a modern square. Everything was spotless and the soundproofing was excellent. (we stayed during the music festival!). Breakfast was excellent with an enormous well stocked buffet. (1st time I've ever seen beans in France!) Will definately be my pied a terre in the city from now on. BRAVO!

Room Tip: All seem the same. With a balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier

Address: 105 Place Georges Freche (Rue du Chelia), 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel in Montpellier located directly next to the City Hall of Montpellier designed by star architect Jean Nouvel, and just a few steps away from lively shops and nice restaurants in downtown Montpellier. The historical Center, the Convention Center, the Fabre museum and all other local city attractions of central Montpellier are just a few tramway stops away. At this Montpellier Courtyard by Marriott hotel, we know how to treat travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Montpellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.