We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, exquisite presentation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saveurs et Sens

Saveurs et Sens
55 Rue Alexandre Cabanel, 34000 Montpellier, France
04 99 61 62 04
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 788 restaurants in Montpellier
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, exquisite presentation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Delicious food, beautifully presented. Good service though the waitress seemed a bit stretched even with the small restaurant only half full. Choice of 5 entrees and 5 plats. Unfortunately on our visit 2 of the 5 entrees were not available, and one of the deserts. I rank this restaurant highly for quality and value, but L'Idee Saveur in the same area was similar in size and price but better in taste and friendliness of service, with a slight edge in presentation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    70
    22
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food here is superb. It is a small restaurant, managed entirely by a couple. There are only 5 starters and 5 main courses, but everything is beautifully presented and delicious. There is no vegetarian option but a good variety of meat and fish dishes. The wine was also very nice and reasonably priced. Service was excellent but the poor woman was rushed off her feet trying to service the entire restaurant. She remained friendly and attentive throughout, however. We were there on a hot evening and the restaurant does not have air conditioning. There are two sets of double doors that were open but it was still a bit too warm. I imagine that this is only the case on the very hot days, however. There are a few seats outside but it is basically in the street so not particularly appealing. i would definitely recomment this restaurant. We were in Montpellier for 4 days and this was the best meal we had.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented meals and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to the restaurant on our last full day in Montpellier. The location is in a back street away from the dead centre and I was surprised it wasn't more full than we found it.

Although there was some outside seating frankly it was ver limited and only eight or so people could eat outside. Even though the temperature was 30c we were very comfortable inside.

The ambience of the restaurant was very homely even though rather basic.

The presentation of the food was imaginative and very artistic and the service was excellent. The food itself was very good but the flavours weren't as subtle as they could have been.

However the whole family was very impressed by this restaurant and we decided to give it the maximum rating. I was impressed by the price which was very contained given the great experience we all had, and we paid a total of Euro 35 per head including drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent in every aspect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Four of us,Munster supporters found this little gem last Friday and we enjoyed our meals to the fullest, we will certainly be returning on our next visit.if in Montpellier this certainly hits all the right bells.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A recommendation from the Daily Telegraph article of October 2012 on 36 hours in Montpellier and what a good one. It was the best meal of our holiday in this area. 3 courses for 29 euros . I started with a superb plate of Beef carpaccio and my wife loved her crab mousseline on a salad nest. My beef main course was imaginately presented and my wife could do nothing but rave about her main course comprising scallops,pasta, a slice of salmon and an amazing rice dish which,frankly,I have forgotten its description. Desserts were also a dream. Our total bill with a good bottle of wine was 83 euros - a steal for food which could grace any top restaurant anywhere. Go

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saveurs et Sens also viewed

 
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Saveurs et Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saveurs et Sens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.