We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Maison Blanche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Maison Blanche to your Saves list
Hotel La Maison Blanche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1796 avenue Pompignane, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay away from this dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The hotel is out of the way, the rooms are smelly and dank, and the service is practically non-existent. It's worth a detour to avoid this fleabag.
CHopkins

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
11
13
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Having read some of the reviews on this site we arrived with trepidation however we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, welcoming and an oasis of peace once inside the gates.
It was a little bit of a trek into town but our kids loved the tram. There is nothing much around the hotel so you do need your car or the nerve to venture out on public transport however I would strongly recommend this hotel we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Maison Blanche is a decrepit old wooden building set in an attractive part of town, more a rooming house than one might call a hotel. The rooms are are musty and drab. The staff is pleasant enough, but service is non-existent. There was not even a porter on site when we checked in. It merits mention only to warn travelers to seek accommodations elsewhere.

  • Liked — Leaving it for the airport, which was close by.
  • Disliked — everything was terrible.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2006

We have just experienced a hotel from hell, which does not merit even a single star (much less the three it now has plus rave reviews in most guide books). La Maison Blanche is decrepit, with chipped and pealing paint, worn out carpets that are filthy in spots, and battered furniture. Dirt is everywhere, with stacked up tables and broken chairs on the verandah that have not been moved for months. Plastic wood is everywhere, frequently battered and scratched. Our supposed deluxe room (206) reeked of mildew with ineffective air conditioning that switched off at 4.15 every morning. Everything is done to avoid expense – small sachets of shampoo, minute and cheap pieces of soap, no cable television (simply a few local stations including a [---]channel), light bulbs of the lowest wattage, making it impossible to read day or night. Typical of this penny pinching is the breakfast – no hot milk for the coffee, small and nasty croissants, and no choice of juices. The management simply does not care. A year ago, the local health authority condemned the swimming pool, a notice at the entry states, as substandard and advised what needed to be remedied. Nothing has apparently been done. The management is lazy and incompetent. All complaints are treated with disdain. NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2004

Hotel was Ok but begrudged paying extra for a balcony when it appeared that all rooms had a balcony. Staff friendly enough although the bar was understaffed and rooms were good but really only ideal for drivers as public transport was poor and taxis got expensive - the area around the hotel is tired and would have preferred to be wihtin a 20 min walk of the centre. No lifts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2002

La Maison Blance belongs more in New Orleans than France. Unlike the other hotels we stayed in, this one was outside of the center of town and had some nice, lush grounds. Lot's of trees, big cages with tropical birds like parrots. A medium sized swimming pool. The place has balconies on 3 sides. It is made of wood. The rooms are nice, but not luxurious. The restaurant there is outside on the patio and the meat is cooked on a BBQ pit at one end of the patio. The food was good, after all this is France. It was a pleasant surprise because we came from Marseille on a train and missed our connection to Barcelona. We would return to Montpellier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Maison Blanche

Address: 1796 avenue Pompignane, 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Maison Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Maison Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Blanche Montpellier
La Maison Blanche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Maison Blanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.