We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Hotel in an Interesting Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arceaux

Save Saved
You added Hotel des Arceaux to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Arceaux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 - 35 bd des Arceaux, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 83 hotels in Montpellier
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Hotel in an Interesting Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. The room was small but well put together. The bathroom was well appointed. It took a bit to figure out the shower levers, but after a bit of exploration, all was well. The staff were helpful and charming. The breakfast was worth the 9.5 euros, especially on warm mornings when we were in the garden, which is a real asset of this hotel. You have to be prepared for a small space, but we found it pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden are more quiet; those facing the street have nice little balconies. Neit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    4
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
43
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place was recommended by a friend so we booked on that basis also having read TA reviews.
Although it has only 2 stars it feels almost like a boutique hotel with its Pocelanosa fittings in the bathroom, a very comfortable bed and wi-fi. The room, whilst it is bijou is well laid out and there is a pretty garden to eat a good and ample continental breakfast.
The service we received during our stay was excellent. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and even found and booked another hotel room as they had no vacancies for our last night.
Whilst the hotel is a little far away -approx 15 min walk from the centre, overall it is fantastic value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel in a great city. The room we had was quite small but beautifully appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was top quality - it even had flowers and Fragonnard toiletries! The breakfast is not cheap but delicious. a huge plate of fresh fruit and an enormous selection of pastries all is a gorgeous tropical garden. If you want laid back, good location and a touch of romance this is hotel to choose. Please don't be put off by some of the more negative reviews!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel des Arceaux for 5 nights in July 2012. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood about 15 minutes walk into the town centre. The rooms are compact but lovely, The beds are comfy and we had lots of good night's sleep. The bathrooms were compact but clean and the showers were good. One of the best things about the hotel is the garden. It's a tropical oasis of palm trees, trickling water and shady tables and chairs. We had a wonderful breakfast for 9euros each. A mountain of pastries, croissants, rolls with jams and butter, juice, fruit and yogurt coffee and tea. The best breakfast we had throughout our trip. It was also nice to come and sit in the garden late afternoon/early evening for a chilled glass of Rose wine...utter bliss. Would definately recommend the hotel if you don't mind a small room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Situated 10-15 minute walk away from the main town area is this lovely hotel which is housed in a delightful historic building.
The surrounding area seems to be suburban residential, with many hairdressers and business 's. The immediate local area lacked shops and places to eat. None the less in good weather it is a pleasant stroll into town and the bus stop is just opposite the hotel.
The station is about a 20 minute walk or longer through town. My advise - take a cab or bus. We walked, dragging luggage thinking the hotel was fairly close, however this proved tedious!
We spent 3 nights here in a very modern, newly renovated triple room looking out on to the ancient arches of the Arceaux Viaduct.
The room was fairly small by Australian standards, but big for what we found in France. It was a suitable size for 3 people. Everything in it was clean, new, warm and very welcoming. In mid winter, this was delightful! There was also a small mini bar fridge but sadly no tea/ coffee making facilities. However they gladly filled my thermos for me when needed.
The bright orange bathroom was cheery, spotless, super modern and a luxury when traveling. For people with limited mobility caution is needed with the bath, as it is deep and one has to step into it for a shower.
Pascal was the most accommodating host giving us well needed tourist information on the area and information on local buses etc. We didn't have breakfast here however it is available for an extra charge. We enjoyed cups of tea in the common area overlooking the beautiful garden.
We booked via the hotel and got a good rate - better than booking sites. We loved it and would highly recommend a stay here.
Sipping coffee or Vin Chard in one of the many bars in town is a must thing to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Please note the pictures on their website is only the rooms based on the most expensive tariff, they don't show you their STANDARD rooms. For nearly £70 per night for room only you would at least expect something a little decent but believe you me the standard rooms are very poor. When we arrived they firstly put us in a room that was tiny and as we were staying there a week we asked if we could be put in a bigger room. After a few phone calls to reception they put us in the room next door ( no: 202) it was a triple room on the front and not much better, the décor is from the 70's and the en suite was disgusting. The shower was not attached to the wall therefore we complained and they said we had to put up with it and just hold it while we washed!! The shower tray filled up with water and over flowed so this was extremely difficult. The lighting was very poor and the mini bar fridge never worked, also the hot water took a good 10 mins to come through. If you want breakfast that's an extra £9 odd each so we only had this the once as we where very unhappy with the room we did not want to give them a penny more. We found the staff very unhelpful with us too after we had complained about the room therefore very poor customer service, would not recommend.

Room Tip: Only book the most expensive..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koyote34, Directeur général at Hotel des Arceaux, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d'avoir laisser un commentaire concernant notre hôtel et sommes désolés de n'avoir pu répondre à vos attentes durant votre séjour.

Nous tenons néanmoins à vous préciser que contrairement à vos remarques, les photos de nos chambres "standards" étaient et sont disponibles sur notre site: officiel.
Nous n'avons jamais caché que cette catégorie de chambre n'avait pas encore été rénovée et que leur style était plutôt "vintage" et la décoration un peu désuète.

La chambre que vous occupiez "CH 202" ainsi que l'ensemble de nos chambres standards ont totalement été rénovées et décorer avec gout en avril 2012.

Chacune de ces chambres proposent des équipements haut de gamme 3 étoiles, des parquets en chêne massif, des salles de bain Design, une décoration personnalisée et un lit en queen size 160x200, donnant sur un superbe jardin ou sur un monument historique "Les Arceaux".

Nous sommes vraiment désolés que vous soyez venus en octobre 2011, juste avant les rénovations et que vous n'ayez pas pu profiter de l'ambiance de ces nouvelles chambres.

Bien Cordialement,

Olivier BARNAULT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

On the plus side: great location, quiet neighborhood, helpful, friendly staff, lovely garden, nice breakfast, European charm, WiFi, minifridge in room, a/c, comfortable beds, clean
On the minus side: asphyxiatingly fragrant towels (thank God the bedding wasn't scented)
Tip on getting to Hotel des Arceaux from the train station: Just walk! It's 10 or so minutes walking fast, a little longer if you're dragging luggage, but it's very easy and quite a pretty walk. Catching the bus is a hassle.
I'd love to visit Montpellier again, and I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Arceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arceaux

Address: 33 - 35 bd des Arceaux, 34000 Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montpellier
#9 Family Hotel in Montpellier
#9 Business Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arceaux 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Boutique Hotel*** at 5 minutes walking from the heart of Montpellier, 10 minutes by Tram from the train station, near restaurants, shopping, the law courts, the Garden of the Peyrou, Montpellier Sup Agro, INRA, Universities. This lovely hotel offers you the opportunity to discover the original charm of a traditional French town House in a warm environment and a sophisticated atmosphere. The Hotel des Arceaux is an ideal base for those who wish to discover one of the most beautiful French cities, visit the region or be at the centre of artistic, cultural or economic events. No-smoking hotel. Labels: - Qualite Herault - Sud de France - Qualite Tourisme - Small Standard room (12m2). Double bed (140x190cm) view on the garden, bathroom & toilettes. - Classik room shower (14m2 to 17m2) Double bed (140x190cm) or 2 twin beds (90x190cm). Personnal and design decoration, our Classics rooms are tastefully decorated combining contemporary design with features such as the tradionnal parquet floor. - Large superior room (20m2 to 25m2) Queen size bed (160cm*200) and 1 single bed (for 3 persons) . - Individual heat/air-conditioning control - Design Shower,Toilettes - Flat TV screen - Hairdryer - Hydrojet shower in certain room. Rooms (Standard) Economic bedroom, Basic decoration. - Individual heat/air-conditioning control - Double bed (140cmx200cm) or twin beds (90cm*200cm) - Shower and Toilettes - TV and Phone All of our rooms are equipped of - Individual heat/air-conditioning control - Canal Plus, CNN, numeric TV via satellite - Phone (with wake-up call facility) - WiFi Internet access - Minibar - No-smoking room Useful information: CHEK-IN: 15h to 24h. CHEK-OUT: 12h Breakfast is served from 7.15 AM to 12 AM. In the nice garden or into the living room and can be taken either in your room without extra charge. Diner: Lights meals are also available (7.00 PM to 10.30 PM) PARKING: PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING LOT: The hotel rent private parking places. Rate:7,00 Euros/day (Booking needed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel des Arceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arceaux Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Arceaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.