We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean and tatty rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oceania Le Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Oceania Le Metropole to your Saves list
Hotel Oceania Le Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 rue Clos Rene, 34000 Montpellier, France (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 85 Hotels in Montpellier
Bream, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unclean and tatty rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed as part of a family group for 3 nights booking 3 double rooms in January.Mainly wanted a central base and wouldn’t be around the hotel much during the days. The Hotel was booked through easy jet as part of an overall deal on a flight and hotel and is rated as a 4 star hotel.
Negatives

Room
Our room (room 301) was unclean and tatty to say the least. Trouser press removed from the wall leaving dirt marks and holes in the wall showing where it used to be. Large smoke/burn marks on another part of the wall. Carpet very stained throughout. Bathroom – Bath, sink and toilet were stained, dirty and in places mouldy. The toilet flush was a bit hit or miss with working. Furniture –Desk made of MDF wood was heavily chipped and had seen better days. Our experience here appears consistent with other reviews and some reviewers photos.
We quickly checked out another room part of our group was staying in and found that to be a bit of an improvement, though their carpet was stained as well and the handle on the toilet door kept coming off.

Room service/housekeeping
Very poor. Complementary teas and coffee making facilities were never restocked, we had to ask reception to bring some up. Toilet paper was never restocked, we found the room service trolley on our floor and took some when needed. Think housekeeping made the bed and replaced towels, as the bathroom for example was never cleaned during our stay.

Bar
Poor service. Few times we stopped in the bar whilst we waited for other members of the group to come down/get ready etc. However no service turned up (despite asking reception) so after a few times we gave up and waited in the main lounge.

Breakfast
Basic buffet style, ok but nothing special. You could get a breakfast outside the hotel from 5 euros upwards depending on your tastes, so we felt the hotel price wasn’t worth it on reflection. We did have a chuckle at the waitress on the last morning, who wouldn’t let us in to Breakfast saying we were too early (6:28 as opposed to opening time at 6 30) then later seemed to take visible exception to us going for seconds (think of someone standing right by you staring at you as if she has been sucking on a lemon).

Positives.
The location is within short walking distance from the train station and the main square.

The Reception staff are quite friendly and on the whole helpful though – the standard response to an issue about the hotel (us and some other customers we observed ) was to “speak to your agent you booked through” which was a new one to us in brush offs.

The Lounge area is clean and well presented keeping in line with the listed status of the building. Though we did notice an odd smell by the lift area in the mornings. Maybe blocked drains.

Overall
Wouldn’t go back. The place is not worth the money charged. In fact rooms of this standard should not be sold to the public let alone as 4 star accommodations at 4 star prices.
We are passing on our feedback both to Holiday inn and Easy Jet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    83
    58
    41
See reviews for
36
121
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on Thank You Points. It was very good value for the points. However, do not settle for a "standard" room. We complained about the first room we got, which was tired and dated, and were given a different room, whcih i think was a "Superior" rom. It was like night and day. The second was room was spacious and elegant with a nice new mattress, very nice bathroom with a seperate toilet room and a wonderful mini refrigerator as well as a view of the street scenes below. We had a very enjoyable stay here. Montpellier was very nice, but be sure and drive up to the "gorges de tarn" which were unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and myself spent 10 days at the Holiday Inn in Montpellier in October 2011. The hotel is comfortable and is very well located - two blocks away from the rail station and the Place de la Comèdie. The staff is very courteous and the service good. We can only recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here six nights with a group. The public areas are very pleasant, with a relaxed atmosphere and very usable. The reception staff always had a willing smile, spoke good English and appeared helpful. Our room was a good size with plenty of storage space in both wardrobe and drawers. The twin beds were very low and clapped out. All linen,- sheets and towels were clean, but very thin and on more than one occasion the towels smelt excessively of bleach. The air con was in name only as it would only operate with warm air. The tour manager advised us that he had raised this with the hotel who informed him that the cooling facility was switched off for the winter. Our room overlooked the street, therefore leaving the windows open overnight was not an option. While there was no noticeable noise from other guests, at the weekend, there was constant noise from night clubs and revellers beyond 4.00am. At 6.00am every day the street cleaning vehicle did its rounds.

In the room, tea and coffee ingredients, while available, were not topped-up during our stay. There was a fridge in the room containing the usual Toblerone, etc, but we were surprised to find, on return to the room that a bottle of our own drink had been removed from the fridge and placed on the sideboard - how petty. Another rather surprising thing was, after three days, to find the alarm clock had been disconnected - with no instructions available we could not reset it. There was no sign that the room had seen a vacuum cleaner the whole time we were there. The complimentary pen went missing and there were no tissues as usually supplied in a four star hotel. Interestingly, whilst not doing what one might imagine to be core cleaning, the person servicing the room still found time to disconnect the clock, replace the ridiculous bands around the four pillows each day and do that hotel room thing of making the end of toilet paper pointy - so very useful!

Now to the disgusting matter of the bathroom. As noted by other reviewers the cleaning in the bathroom is very lacking indeed. Both bath and basin plug holes were blocked with goodness knows what! Thus the run away of water took a very long time. As to the bathroom floor, there were clumps of dust and hair in the corners, the like of which, it would have been interesting to get analysed - or maybe not. Other issues include: peeling paint, mould around the bath, loose toilet seat, plus the aftermath of a soldering attempt near the cistern, leaving a blow torch scorch up the wall.

Wifi. Again noting what other reviewers have said, there is a sign on the reception desk saying there is free wifi throughout the hotel, however, during the whole of our stay it "wasn't working".  We asked every day and got the same shake of the head, as in "non". Obviously a management ploy!

The buffet breakfast was available from 6.30am and 7.30am at weekends, it was plentiful on the Continental side of things with a good selection. The hot offerings were lacklustre and very limited.

Overall, whilst the public areas of the hotel are generally acceptable, the rooms are very tired and below the standard one is entitled to expect. The standard of decoration is very poor and much in need of attention. For an international brand hotel this is very lacking in so many areas, something has gone very wrong in the management chain to allow such a significant shortfall in standards to continue.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before accepting and check cleanliness of bathroom. Avoid rooms overlooking the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

i am sure there are better hotels in the city, but the room is big, it need to be renovated asap.

the location is good,
2 min walk from the train station.
lots of good restaurants in the hotel area.
the gym is small and there is no treadmill.
the breakfast is good.
i didn't face the issues other described here, but maybe i was lucky on the room i got?!
there is a balcony to the steet and u can keep the door open to get fresh air.
next time i will try a different hotel but i font mind coming here again if i must.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I was mortified when I saw how dated and dingy the room was at nearly £100 a night. The card reader for the lights in the room was slightly unhinged and not reading my card and I was having problems turning-on the bathroom light (of which the switch was coming out of the wall--probably really fun to touch if you have wet hands). So I went to the reception to ask for a new room. The man at the desk was severly disappointed in me and wanted to show me that the lights in the old room worked...thanks for the customer service...he took me there, showed me how to wiggle the box and told me not to worry about the exposed electric works. I insisted on a new room. Though the new room had a more modern card-reading system for the lights, the room itself was no better than a 1-star hotel you could rent by the hour--filthy, old soft bed, dated, disgusting. The reception assured me that it was a listed building--what a shame Holiday Inn hasn't respected the historic nature of the building itself and kept it in good working order. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL: YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

First impressions of the reception and lobby area are quite good, and the location is very good. But once behind the bedroom door - what a difference! The carpet was stained, and the bathroom was filthy. The extractor fan was so thick with dust that it appeared to never have been cleaned. The toilet and the bidet had stains around the rim. We didn't bother to use the bath as we were afraid we would come out dirtier than we went in!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oceania Le Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania Le Metropole

Address: 3 rue Clos Rene, 34000 Montpellier, France (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oceania Le Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Oceania Le Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Montpellier Hotel Montpellier
Montpellier Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oceania Le Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.