We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My opinion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Montpellier

Save Saved
You added Novotel Montpellier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Montpellier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 bis Av de Palavas, 34070 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Montpellier
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    232
    107
    35
    6
See reviews for
236
84
30
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel lacks charachter and is in a somewhat desolate location - a big Supermarket a 10 minute walk away being one of the few facilities. The saving grace was the tram stop was less than five minutes from the hotel. We had booked a triple (advertised as one double and two singles) as we required three separate beds. The "singles" was a fold down couch with two singles about an inch apart - the thinness of the mattresses were not conducive to a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for just one night while transiting from Spain to Cote d'Azur. Lots of free parking here and it's just another practical Novotel. The restaurant was a bit expensive I thought and one of the waitresses was very rude. But for this one person, rest of the staff were very nice especially the front office staff.

Room was spacious for 2 adults + 2 kids - the sofa bed was a bit primitive tho! We did manage to get some sleep (we were very tired!). Buffet breakfast at 16euro/ person was quite nice. The location is not very close to the city centre but a 5 min tram ride takes you to there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for a night in mid August, as the campsite we were headed to could not fit us in till the day after the flight. We drove from Nimes airport, which took about 45 minutes - the hotel was just off the A9, bit tricky to actually get to - we could see it but couldnt find the entrance from the road at first but figured it after a couple of turn-arounds!

The hotel itself is nice -we had a family room which was fine for one night, but would not have been big enough for more than that for 4 of us. The swimming pool was a bonus and was quite busy, but the hotel provide towels and it was nice to laze by the pool for the afternoon after a very early flight.

The hotel is not really in the middle of anywhere - it's a bit like staying at a UK hotel that is on the outskirts of a retail or industrial area. Others have commented that the area was dodgy - I wouldn't say I noticed that, I just noticed that there didnt seem to be anything else around other than other hotels and a retail park across the road.

The restaurant was expensive - we stayed in a Novotel last year enroute to another campsite and this was the same, so is obviously a feature of Novotel restaurants. There are no bar snacks as such, and the meals were upwards of 15-20 euros, just for a burger. We headed out to find somewhere but ended up at the McDonalds round the corner when the kids saw the sign! The breakfast was nice, but again at 15 euros per adult it is only worth doing if you have kids as well, as the kids eat free.

If I was in the area and needed a stopover again, I'd definitely stay here again but think I would want somewhere more central if I was actually planning staying in the area for longer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sancerre, France
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family rented 2 rooms for 1 night in mid-summer. The air conditioning was excellent throughout!
The hotel is located in a kind of dodgy area so be sure to park on site (free) and avoid walking around at night.
The pool is very nice, large, clean and with a patio bar and dining area next to it.
We only had the breakfast buffet but it was the best hotel buffet I've had in a long time. Everything fresh, plentiful, varied with lots of fresh fruits and melons, and perfect service.

Room Tip: Room 335 is just 1 floor up and on the quietest side of the building (overlooking parking). Excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for one night. Staff are great, the hotel is not far from they very busy A9 montorway...
The hotel is a typical Novotel, does everything you need it to do.. Hotel has been used a lot, but everything works well. Good for a stop over. Parking space is a little complicated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montpellier

Address: 125 bis Av de Palavas, 34070 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montpellier 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montpellier is a 3 star hotel located 2 km from the centre of Montpellier and close to beaches. The hotel offers 163 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, a bar and 13 conference rooms for your meetings and seminars for up to 200 people. This 3star hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Montpellier with your partner or family. The hotel also features a free private car park and an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montpellier Hotel Montpellier
Montpellier Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Montpellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.