We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but expensive bar and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Montpellier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Montpellier to your Saves list
Novotel Montpellier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 bis Av de Palavas, 34070 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Montpellier
lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but expensive bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for a night in mid August, as the campsite we were headed to could not fit us in till the day after the flight. We drove from Nimes airport, which took about 45 minutes - the hotel was just off the A9, bit tricky to actually get to - we could see it but couldnt find the entrance from the road at first but figured it after a couple of turn-arounds!

The hotel itself is nice -we had a family room which was fine for one night, but would not have been big enough for more than that for 4 of us. The swimming pool was a bonus and was quite busy, but the hotel provide towels and it was nice to laze by the pool for the afternoon after a very early flight.

The hotel is not really in the middle of anywhere - it's a bit like staying at a UK hotel that is on the outskirts of a retail or industrial area. Others have commented that the area was dodgy - I wouldn't say I noticed that, I just noticed that there didnt seem to be anything else around other than other hotels and a retail park across the road.

The restaurant was expensive - we stayed in a Novotel last year enroute to another campsite and this was the same, so is obviously a feature of Novotel restaurants. There are no bar snacks as such, and the meals were upwards of 15-20 euros, just for a burger. We headed out to find somewhere but ended up at the McDonalds round the corner when the kids saw the sign! The breakfast was nice, but again at 15 euros per adult it is only worth doing if you have kids as well, as the kids eat free.

If I was in the area and needed a stopover again, I'd definitely stay here again but think I would want somewhere more central if I was actually planning staying in the area for longer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    236
    108
    35
    6
See reviews for
239
85
30
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sancerre, France
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our family rented 2 rooms for 1 night in mid-summer. The air conditioning was excellent throughout!
The hotel is located in a kind of dodgy area so be sure to park on site (free) and avoid walking around at night.
The pool is very nice, large, clean and with a patio bar and dining area next to it.
We only had the breakfast buffet but it was the best hotel buffet I've had in a long time. Everything fresh, plentiful, varied with lots of fresh fruits and melons, and perfect service.

Room Tip: Room 335 is just 1 floor up and on the quietest side of the building (overlooking parking). Excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for one night. Staff are great, the hotel is not far from they very busy A9 montorway...
The hotel is a typical Novotel, does everything you need it to do.. Hotel has been used a lot, but everything works well. Good for a stop over. Parking space is a little complicated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

the hotel is just outside the town,but the tram stop is at the end of the road and only a few stops to the centre,the room was clean,the staff were friendly and helpful,the hotel has a big car park,there is a pool but i didn`t use it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We regularly stay in Novotel hotels as we've found them to be consistently reliable.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and perfectly adequate for our two-night stay.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

As we didn't spend much time in the hotel, it is somewhat difficult to comment, however we were more than satisfied with the room and service.

I'd always recommend Novotel hotels above any other chain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challex, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just back after a long weekend down in Montpellier.

The hotel appearence is a little old, but this is not a main point. It's location is perfect for getting to Montpelliar as it is one turn off the motorway. The hotel is outside the city, but a new tramway is up and running and the stop is five minute walk from the hotel. The trams go every 15minutes and keep coming back until approx 1am. Also within 2 minute drive is a huge Geant supermarket. As the hotel is right next to the highway, it is a mere 15minutes drive then to the beaches.

Check in was quick, very friendly and efficient. I found reception to always be friendly and more than helpful, both in English and French.
The room is just about 4 star. TV was in a strange position, so i moved it, a little small and scratched, the shower I was excited about, had both a hand held nozzle and a rainfall attachment. Unfortunately the rainfall one did not work, no matter what tugginga nd pulling I did of the different buttons. I know I'm not dumb with this, as we have one at home. I did tell reception twice but they just thought I was a shower idiot, maybe they will believe the next guest. Bed was perfect hardness for me and slept sound. Only one english channel on TV, but hey was not there to watch TV.
Breakfast was very good. We were greated by an amazingly bubbly hostess and her happiness and helpfulness radiated across the dining room. Breakfast was a typical french affair, with plenty pastries, cold/hot simple buffets and I aprticularly liked the make your own tea with various types of teas in large canisters and special pots with filters.
Dinner we had one night, unfortunately very very average, bit of a dissapointment to be honest. Much better value and food to be had even across the street at the grill house. A small glass of runny chocolate goo labeled as chocolate mouse for 7euro......
Unfortunately work remained in place on the pool so it is still empty, I did notice a free interent terminal, and an xbox station also free of charge so impressed by that.

All in all, some areas need work, but the feeling from the staff is covering that for now.

Room Tip: Face the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montpellier

Address: 125 bis Av de Palavas, 34070 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montpellier 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montpellier is a 3 star hotel located 2 km from the centre of Montpellier and close to beaches. The hotel offers 163 airconditioned rooms, a restaurant, a bar and 13 conference rooms for your meetings and seminars for up to 200 people. This 3star hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Montpellier with your partner or family. The hotel also features a free private car park and an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Montpellier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montpellier Hotel Montpellier
Montpellier Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Montpellier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.